We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great late night snack and beer”

Gaststatte Nurnberger Bratwurst Glockl am Dom
Ranked #52 of 3,767 Restaurants in Munich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
falmouth, maine
Level 6 Contributor
725 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“great late night snack and beer”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

we ended up here after 3 or 4 other beer cellars and enjoyed it. The Nurnberger sausages are thin, numerous, served wtih kraut or potatoes, and were very very good. beer quite good. Service was fine, efficient, not gushing, no "hi, I'm Tiffany, and I'll be your server.". But he managed to figure out what 5 very intoxicate guys wanted. I'd go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    292
    77
    41
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food good, service not so”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Another famous traditional restaurant in the centre of town down the side of The Church of Our Lady (Frauenkirche). We were late by German standards (9 PM) and you may not be aware, but the Germans do not eat late, so unlike Spain or Italy, getting served in a restaurant later on can be challenging. They found us a table, but it was obvious they were already starting to wind service down. The table was messy with not enough forks left (had to ask for one), and an empty bread / pretzel basket that was not replenished or removed all the time we were there. The food itself was good, although a little expensive we felt. We had the Glockl platter for two which was very good, it was a lot of food and in hindsight we should not have had a starter. I think on a nice day it would be a good place to sit outside, and perhaps earlier in the evening service would have been better, but our enjoyment of what was absolutely good food was soured a bit by the poor service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StumpyOlegMcNoLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vintage Bavarian Cusine”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I went here as part of a team dinner event for business travel. This is a classic sausage house, and the named Nurnburger sausage is super. Beer as expected, large and varied menu. Sauerkraut also was noteworthy! And don't miss the desert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very popular, very busy!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a very popular restaurant in a popular, touristy area of Munich - therefore it gets very busy!! It is best to arrive as early as you can if you want to get a seat, in the evenings we saw it was packed and had to wait until lunchtime on our last day in Munich to try it.
We ordered the six sausages with sauerkraut, and tea and coffee to drink. We sat outside and it was already very busy when we arrived. The service was quick and efficient, and pleasant. We could smell the sausages cooking over the fire and this added to the atmosphere.
The portion was reasonably sized, and reasonably priced. It was the first time I'd eaten sauerkraut, and it is definitely a good accompaniment to those sausages.
As this place gets very busy, you don't feel like lingering over your drinks, but the staff didn't rush us.
I would happily eat here again if I were in Munich.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelgiumFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“recent trip”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

On a recent trip to Munich our group of nine including 5 adults, one teenager and 3 children had dinner and a few drinks at the Gaststatte Nurnberger... We split the platter with the Nurnberger sausages, bratwurst, kraut and German style potato salad. The beer was excellent, the food was excellent, the atmosphere was excellent and the service was very good. Even the kids including a picky 7 year old loved the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaststatte Nurnberger Bratwurst Glockl am Dom also viewed

 
 

Been to Gaststatte Nurnberger Bratwurst Glockl am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing