We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very popular, very busy!”

Gaststatte Nurnberger Bratwurst Glockl am Dom
Ranked #52 of 3,747 Restaurants in Munich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Scarborough
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very popular, very busy!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a very popular restaurant in a popular, touristy area of Munich - therefore it gets very busy!! It is best to arrive as early as you can if you want to get a seat, in the evenings we saw it was packed and had to wait until lunchtime on our last day in Munich to try it.
We ordered the six sausages with sauerkraut, and tea and coffee to drink. We sat outside and it was already very busy when we arrived. The service was quick and efficient, and pleasant. We could smell the sausages cooking over the fire and this added to the atmosphere.
The portion was reasonably sized, and reasonably priced. It was the first time I'd eaten sauerkraut, and it is definitely a good accompaniment to those sausages.
As this place gets very busy, you don't feel like lingering over your drinks, but the staff didn't rush us.
I would happily eat here again if I were in Munich.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelgiumFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    285
    76
    41
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampden, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“recent trip”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

On a recent trip to Munich our group of nine including 5 adults, one teenager and 3 children had dinner and a few drinks at the Gaststatte Nurnberger... We split the platter with the Nurnberger sausages, bratwurst, kraut and German style potato salad. The beer was excellent, the food was excellent, the atmosphere was excellent and the service was very good. Even the kids including a picky 7 year old loved the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good beer, great food!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We came to this restaurant after walking around Marianplatz and looking up reviews of some local restaurants. This place had great reviews and truly didn't disappoint. We asked the waitress what to order and she suggested one of their specialty platters which included sausage, several types of pork, potato dumplings, bread dumplings, and kraut. We loved this Bavarian feast! Definitely try the different mustard they have on the table.

We sat inside, and it was nice to be able to hear each other talk.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogasawara-shoto, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Awesome, Simple, Sublime”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Awesome spot! When the local old guys are the main patrons, enjoying beers and hearty fare together in the evening, you know it's the real deal.
I had the mixed sausage platter with kraut. Simple and perfect. Each of the 3 sausage types were distinct and I found that, while one was better with the scharf (spicy-ish) mustard, another was best complemented by the typical-Munich sweeter variety. You'll have to figure out your combinations for yourself.
The ladies are busy, and seem gruff. But a good smile and a joke or two go a long way to wind up having a good laugh with the staff...and a free beer if yer a good boy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Takoyaki47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent local fare”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our German neighbors in FL highly recommended this restaurant in Munich . They claimed the small Nurnberger sausages were the very best and they were right! This restaurant is across from the Frauenkirchen. The church is currently under renovation which makes the restaurant a little harder to find but worth it. We used our phone map ap. sausages, cabbage, potato salad, pretzels and beer - Bavarian heaven!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaststatte Nurnberger Bratwurst Glockl am Dom also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Gaststatte Nurnberger Bratwurst Glockl am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing