We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner experience in München”
Review of Izakaya Munich

Izakaya Munich
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 9/26
8:00 PM
Ranked #151 of 3,793 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $39 - $116
Description: IZAKAYA Asian Kitchen & Bar is a well-known restaurant from Amsterdam, the Netherlands. The venue in Munich opened in 2017. The unique shared-dining menu offers modern Japanese cuisine with South American influences to the Bavarian capital. Opening hours: Wednesday - Saturday 17:00-01:00, Sunday 14:00-21:00, Monday & Tuesday - closed.
Restaurant details
Description: IZAKAYA Asian Kitchen & Bar is a well-known restaurant from Amsterdam, the Netherlands. The venue in Munich opened in 2017. The unique shared-dining menu offers modern Japanese cuisine with South American influences to the Bavarian capital. Opening hours: Wednesday - Saturday 17:00-01:00, Sunday 14:00-21:00, Monday & Tuesday - closed.
Reviewed September 17, 2019 via mobile

Highly recommend this one of a kind restaurant in Munich. Great atmosphere, food, and cocktails. The service was simply outstanding - thanks to Alex who knows how to put together dishes that will blow your mind.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank FlyAwayJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 382 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Being honest we come with quite high expectations into the restaurant which is actually normal amongst that restaurant class and left very disappointed. Neither service nor food were worth what we paid. In my opinion worse experience ever within this price category, maybe 2 dishes out of 10 were really tasty but particularly the sushi tasted similar to take away food. Anyway, for the same bill one can eat amazing in another place.

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank sebastianbY3422VY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 26, 2019

This is definitely a place to to visit often. Its a little pricey but its all worth it. Expect to pay around €60 to €80's per person if you are dining a la carte. And thats including a cocktail and a glass of wine. You need to definitely book!

The location of this hotel bar restaurant is somewhat of putting.. Main street, trams/ cars and nothing really to look at and that is why the open kitchens backing is not he street and not the restaurants view. Dark tones and well lite reception area and super friendly staff is the way to start a perfect night out.

So i strongly recommend to ask to be sat in the booths. The booths provide an over all atmosphere view point. The 4 meter fish hanging from the ceiling is quite cool to gaze at. Regarding the menu... well there is SO much to choose from and the kitchen get it out to you asap. There are probably 5 chefs int he kitchen all flipping pans, food plates etc etc which brings a really authentic Asian Market feeling to the place. If you are really unsure what to choose from he extensive menu I would go for the Degustation. At €90's a person its something I would like to try next time I'm there. The Service is spot on. All the recommendations were fantastic.

Why the 4 points i hear you ask....? Well the duck was unfortunately not cooked all the way through. It was supposedly suppose to be served rare but it was extremely tough. There was a desert gift from the kitchen in apology. Thats half a point there and the other is the location of the bathrooms. Other side of the restaurant, down 2 flights of stairs I felt like I was in a maze.

Apart from that - I will definitely be returning because I want to try the other things on the menu.

Good job guys! ;)

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank kangatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 12, 2019

It was a great evening. But we were disappointed that we were told to order all the dishes in one take, "because the kitchen will close in short time because it's not busy tonight". We were not late and felt 'too much' for the personal. But, I must say, they were friendly. Food is expensive.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patrick1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

Excellent food: had scallop with truffle, toro tartar, various sashimi - everything was very good. Food does take a while to come, be prepared for this and just enjoy a couple cocktails while waiting.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank vladimirv221
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya Munich also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Izakaya Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.