We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poseidon

Poseidon
Ranked #174 of 3,588 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Amazing authentic cuisine and friendly and very warm place. Sort of a Greek holiday break in the middle of snowy January in Munich. And it works till 1am if that matters for you, though of cause you going to stay late there, it worth it :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    56
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
185 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was a great choice for a "different" dinner during our visit to Munich. The staff were ultra-friendly, greeted us on arrival, offered us a free shot of Ouzo when we sat down, and made us feel quite welcome.

The food is reasonably-priced Greek seafood, something we just don't usually eat at home. It was prepared quickly, tasted great, and the portions were quite large. Note that they do have an English menu but they appreciate it when you try to order in German (even if you use the English menu to figure out what you want). Truthfully, Greek food and seafood seem to translate well so you can read most of the German menu if you try.

So, this was a great meal but what happened on our way out, really surprised us. As we were walking out, one of the staff asked us to wait a minute and he brought us a small bottle of wine as a parting gift. A very nice touch, indeed!

Final tip: If you visit, walk back in the general direction of the Nyphenburg; we found it to be a very enjoyable walk and there are some shops and cafes a few blocks away.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank benfbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch for very reasonable price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I was getting really hungry when my husband decided he will stop at the first restaurant we see before I get unfriendly lol. And he did it right it was the best place to be great atmosphere and very delicious food the stuff are very friendly and they try hard to please you even though they speak no English. I will always remember those Huge grilled calamari rings.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Salma_lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very friendly, good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Really relaxed restaurant. Friendly and good selection of food at a good price. Vegetarian is limited but there are a couple of choices (to be expected in a Greek restaurant).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chillipepperlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Greek in Nymphenburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This restaurant was not far from our hotel. We noticed in on a very uninspired bus tour of the city. It's near Nymphenburg Palace in a lovely residential area. I'm glad we decided to try it. Good Greek food and very reasonable prices with a very friendly staff and owner. It looked like it had a heavy local following. We drove, which made it super convenient. There's a lovely looking outdoor dining area - too late for this year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ksw430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing