We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Thai food I ever had”
Review of Kaimug

Kaimug
Ranked #619 of 3,770 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst Thai food I ever had”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'm Thai. I visited this place in the evening with my friend from Thailand who want to eat Thai food. We walk past this restaurant and decided to try it. The first thing the waiter said to me is the kitchen will be closed at 9pm. If you want to eat, go to counter and order now or just leave!!! What a rude!! I tried a lot of Thai food both inside and outside Thailand. I've been to 17 European countries. This is the worst ever. Don't go there. Price is on average but is considered overprice when you have to pay for this low quality food. Waiter is rude. Atmosphere is bad. Nothing good in this restaurant at all

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    62
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The worst Pad Thai I have ever eaten”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We ate here after passing by the place a few times and it was always crowded. We ordered a Pad Thai, and a Curry. The Curry was average, a little too watery for my preference, but the Pad Thai was really bad. I have been to other Thai eating places in countries outside of Thailand and I must say that this version of Pad Thai is the worst I have eaten. Bland, and Thai food is anything but bland. Not sure about the other dishes on the menu but don't waste your money on the Pad Thai.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank twendymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Flavor Enhancer”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The cuisine of Kaimug is everything but original Thai food. The meals are more or less a variety of different styles of chicken curry but it tastes artificial from flavor enhancer. You find only little meat but more cheap vegetable on your plate. The rice is ok. The portions are very limited, they do not satisy your hunger really. The price varies from 5,00 to 9,00 Euro.
und 8,60.
The atmosphere of the shop fits to the fast food concept and is no difference to other fast food chains.
But even when the shop is crowded some times, don't be fooled, this is not the real thing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great cheap Thai! Quick and Easy.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Excellently priced, authentic Thai. The curries in particular are delicious, we loved the green and yellow ones. The food was served quickly and was fresh.
We recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 16Waimea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cheap, authentic and good Thai food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

You'll be hard pressed to find a better, cheaper Thai food restaurant in München or anywhere else for that matter. Food came fast and was very good. Only downside is the "German disease"; they only accept EC-cards, not VISA, Master etc., which is an annoyance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vintherbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaimug also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Kaimug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing