We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cheap, authentic and good Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaimug

Kaimug
Ranked #564 of 3,469 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Denmark
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cheap, authentic and good Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

You'll be hard pressed to find a better, cheaper Thai food restaurant in München or anywhere else for that matter. Food came fast and was very good. Only downside is the "German disease"; they only accept EC-cards, not VISA, Master etc., which is an annoyance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vintherbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    48
    13
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose it following a recommendation online about their gluten-free awareness - and bingo! terrific menu, counter service, delicious Thai food, lots of choice. It can be busy and is certainly not large - but we went there aith no problem. It's almost next door to the fabulous Asamkirche.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff shouted at me twice for being too slow to pick up my food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Seriously. Staff is ridiculously rude. They shout at you, make condescending remarks about you being slow to pick up your food from the counter, and generally make you feel unwelcome. Food was good but the staff needs to get their act together.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Efficient, Good & Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We love this place, for a quick lunch stop. The place is really efficient: one guy handles the money, 2 ladies do the cooking, one lady expedites, and 2 ladies clean. Puts a spin on "fast food". And it's good for you! I love the gluten free options. The service is also really friendly, which I respect these days! The food is very good (not great, and certainly not like it is in Thailand but for a European city its VERY good!). I have only one very small gripe. While I love the open kitchen concept, I have been there so often that I have come to notice the ladies who cook always dip their hands in everything possible without changing gloves in between. I should emphasize, they wear gloves. But when you pick up a handfull of raw chicken and then with the same glove, dig into the tub of mushrooms... that is a bit gross and certainly not truly hygenic. I have never gotten sick eating there, so I keep going back. But if someone on a management level ever reads this, PLEASE: use spoons! OR make your employees change their gloves more often!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mad2live482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High reviews for a take out style lunch place of quick lite dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you are getting tired of the heavy classics in Munich I turned to this light gluten-free alternative. Menus are in English but what is fun is to try your German here. The chicken is very good. The place is clean like most of Munich! Don't expect gourmet Thai but it is very tasty, packed very well for take away if desired, and a good way to mix it up while in Germany. Be advised that salads are large!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NPB_TallGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaimug also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Kaimug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing