We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz
Ranked #356 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spent two nights at this so-called designer hotel. The hotel doesn't look at all as it is advertised online. It's located on the second floor ( 3. Etage) of an office building at a very busy and noisy intersection. We booked a double room and two rollaway beds for the kids. They put us into a room of approx. 20 sqm with four single beds @ 150 Euros/night. Needless to say you could hardly move around, and there was nowhere else to go but the bathroom.
There were no furniture but a couple of old dusty chests of drawers that were filthy on the inside, two pins sticking out of the wall to hang your jackets (not suitable for long coats!), a small table, two lawn chairs and a TV set.
The bathroom was top notch so that I decided not to take a bath. There was no hot water for shaving at the sink, so my husband had to use the shower/ bathtub, which was pretty old and nasty. The plumbing was exposed and thrown together. The water tank kept running.
The staff was incompetent but friendly. Breakfast was decent, and the mattresses were great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinaCraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 89 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Mons which describes itself as a boutique (read small) hotel on the website. On arrival, the hotel was not really as expected as it was above shops and looked to be either in an office block or apartments. Our room was the smallest ever with the double bed in a corner with one step to the side and one step from the foot of the bed to the bathroom door. Tiny bathroom though the shower was excellent. A lot of noise from the adjoining room, corridor and breakfast room which was exactly one pace from our room door with false walls everywhere. (even people serving themselves breakfast could be heard in the bedroom) No chance of a room change as it was the Champions League final and the hotel was full.
Breakfast was good the first morning and poor the second (limited food and no croissant.) The room cleaning was NOT adequate with towels placed on the floor for replacement, rehung to dry.
On the plus side, the hotel is very close to the U bahn, and given demand in Munich because of the football, the hotel was reasonable in price.
I didn't feel particularly secure with reception not open 24 hours, and the door to the block left open. There are no facilities though there was free wifi.

Room Tip: don't have 302 - right next to the breakfast room though a paper thin wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyPalmerE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

It was easy enough for a four night stay as it was close to the train station and we took day trips from Munich. It's also conveniently right next to the U-Bahn station which gets you to the city center very quickly. There's not much otherwise in the immediate area. However, the breakfast was not included as it advertises on their website, and when we went downstairs on our first morning to eat, the receptionist asked for payment right off the bat without asking our room number - which leads me to believe it's not included for anyone. The shared bathrooms seemed clean enough, although the showerhead was broken on one of them. Walls were paper thin as we didn't realize the people next door could hear us talking until they complained to us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleA1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

After my previous trip to Oktoberfest where I stayed in a noisy and not all that great hotel, I made sure i did a little more checking this time.

We had no problems with this hotel. We had a small suite which i stayed in with 2 others. Check in was quick and without any issues. The room itself was a nice size and although the kitchen was fairly small it had everything we needed.

We didnt really use any of the hotels facilities or even eat there so I cant comment on much else but it was nice and quiet and reasonably priced especially when sharing with friends and ha the benefit of being less than 10 mins to the oktoberfest.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Never forget, you always get what you pay for and overall I had no complaints about this hotel. It was clean and tidy, my room was a little small, but for one night who cares.

The location is perfect, right out side the U-Bahn station and 10 minutes walk to the Oktober fest and for this time of the year great value for money. This at a time when almost all hotels were costing up to 300 euro per night and this was less than 100, a bargain if ever I saw one!

The 3 lock scenario makes it interesting getting back to your room, one to open the front door, one on the 3rd floor and finally the room itself! not easy after a few beers :-)

Breakfast was OK, not cooked but enough to get you going.

Don't expect too much, great location, helpful staff and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee1pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Am Goetheplatz for 2 nights during Oktoberfest. The location of the hotel for those who are attending Oktoberfest was fantastic. The hotel is a short 10 minute walk to the Oktoberfest park and approx 15 minute walk to Munich city centre. Rooms were nice and clean and very quiet. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel due to it's location.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancindan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed here with 7 friends for 3 nights as were there to participate in the Munich Marathon. The hotel is perfectly located on top of the U-Bahn with a Taxi Stand also directly at the front door. There is a supermarket next door and various food and bar opportunities in the neighbourhood. The walk to Marienplatz is approx 15-20 mins and the Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest location) is only a 10 mins walk (also a perfect location for jogging). The hotel also offers free Wi-Fi and breakfast for EUR 9.

We enjoyed our stay very much and I would stay here again, however, the hotel is not really as modern or new as the photos on their website suggest. The twin and single rooms on the 4th floor are small and showing their age. The large rooms on the 6th floor are very spacious and have new furnishings and there is also a very nice apartment on the 3rd floor which I assume is where all the photos were taken as it is super modern and new. Unfortunately we had the misfortune of 2 fire alarms going off on the same day/night, but I assume this is not a regular occurence.

If your main concern is cleanliness and convenience then this is a good place to stay. If you want elegance and style look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#145 of 385 in Munich
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
0.4 mi away
Bold Hotel Munich Center
Bold Hotel Munich Center
#88 of 385 in Munich
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#283 of 385 in Munich
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten
0.4 mi away
Centro Hotel Mondial
Centro Hotel Mondial
#281 of 385 in Munich
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz

Address: Waltherstr. 33, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $71 - $1,581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing