We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wirtshaus Kurgarten

Wirtshaus Kurgarten
Ranked #239 of 3,473 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, German, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a hidden gem, a lovely neighborhood restaurant near the much larger and better known Hirschgarten around the corner. We went here on the recommendation of the desk person at our hotel nearby, the Kriemhild (also a great place) and were not steered wrong! The seating on the patio and garden area is set among large, leafy trees, and feels secluded. Service is quick and friendly, and the food plentiful and good. Weisswurst is with sweet mustard is a Munich speciality, quite different from Bratwurst (for one thing, it is boiled). I had two for dinner, and they were delicious. However, the hotel desk clerk was horrified because apparently real Münchner eat them for breakfast and in any case, only before noon! The Hirschgarten was also ok, but huge (it seats over 500 people) and hectic. We enjoyed the ambiance at the Kurgarten more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hester52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    38
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Royal treatment!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We happened upon this restaurant by chance, went in and were told there was no seating except for a high table for four near the bar. Why not? We all chose the fresh white asparagus and the weiner schnitzel for our main course and what a choice! As good as any of us had ever had. The beer went down easy and the dessert, Kaiser something or other, was to die for. The waiter and waitresses made the whole experience even more memorable by treating us like four of their local friends. The place was packed and we believe we were the only outsiders. Lovely evening!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John and Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We decided to eat here on a recommendation by Sebastian at Hotel Laimer Hof, where we were staying, and loved the place. It is frequented mostly by locals in the neighborhood and the food was outstanding. We both had Wiener Schnitzel, which was beautifully cooked with very generous portions. We decided we had to have a dessert before leaving Munich and chose the Apple Strudel, which was served warm and really good -- true comfort food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprisingly excellent -- and the locals know a good thing when they see it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Wirtshaus Kurgarten is a truly excellent restaurant and pub, just outside the Hirschgarten.
My wife and I were pleasantly surprised, as we did not notice this listed in tourist books, but the locals all eat there and know a good thing when they see it.

Really excellent and hearty meat dishes, and excellent helpings.
Friendly and efficient staff, and a great atmosphere.

Heartily recommended, and even better than the restaurant inside the Hirschgarten, which is in itself very good.
We ate there in May 2011, and would certainly go there again if we revisit Munich.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeeMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went to Wirtshaus our last evening in Munich and I can't imagine a better place to end a vacation. It is a quintessential neighborhood brauhaus. The food was very good, tradition, hearty and filling. It was wonderful watching the people from the neighborhood meet up for a dinner out. If you are in the area, it's worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CentCoastPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirtshaus Kurgarten also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wirtshaus Kurgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing