We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A&O Muenchen Hackerbruecke
Ranked #62 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Okay nothing special”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Bed were uncomfortable and the bathrooms weren't clean. The clerks were accommodating to our wishes of booking with other travellers. The free wifi in the lobby was unaccessible. Twenty or so guests were trying to access the wifi and all having trouble no matter the time of day. The hostel was a far walk from the train station, take the metro if possible. Beer Garden close by, book reservations for table and meal ahead. Other restaurants nearby were unimpressive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 787Paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Muenchen Hackerbruecke, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello ,

thank you very much for your feedback!

Your comments are highly appreciated, as we are constantly striving to improve our services and meet our guests’ expectations.

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Munich Hackerbrücke.

We herewith apologize for the unsatisfactory cleaning you experienced in your room and bathroom during your stay.
At A&O, we place a great emphasis on cleanliness, so the rooms are cleaned on a daily basis.
The irregular cleaning was reported to our external cleaning company and we will continue to monitor this issue, to ensure that it will not occur again.

We hope you appreciate our efforts and look forward to welcoming you again at A&O HOTELS and HOSTELS.

Kind regards,

Your A&O Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    53
    106
    95
    164
See reviews for
50
57
54
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gijon, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were 2 and we booked in a room for 6 people. When we went to the room the smell was disgusting. There was a guy inside i think drunk. The balcon was full of bottles and garbage. Although the balcony door was opened, the stinky smell was so strrong that we asked for another room. Fortunately the girl at the reception was cool and she moved to a new room that was completely another thing. I do not agree with the fee for the sheets that one should pay but anyway, it must be a little bit more the people who let them in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiandres1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Muenchen Hackerbruecke, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Cristian,

thank you very much for your feedback!

Your comments are highly appreciated, as we are constantly striving to improve our services and meet our guests’ expectations.

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Munich Hackerbrücke.

Unfortunately it is possible that there occur problems with other guests from the dormitory rooms-

In this case our receptionists are always happy to help you and get a new room if necessary.

We hope you were happy with the room change and had a pleasant stay in Munich despite your negative first impression.

Kind regards,

You A&O Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was probably the worst hostel we stayed in on our trip around Europe- it's not terrible but it's definitely not great. Check in was terrible however- we arrived around 10:30pm and had to queue for a good 45 mins to get checked in- there was only one woman working to check in a huge line of people while running the bar at the same time- it was ridiculous. When we finally got to check in the woman was rude and unhelpful. You have to pay for bed sheets which is a bit stingy- the rooms were alright but quite a bit run down. The location was very good though- 10 min walk from the station and only a bit longer to the centre. It's not awful but I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 03Kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Muenchen Hackerbruecke, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Kathryn,

thank you very much for your feedback!

Your comments are highly appreciated, as we are constantly striving to improve our services and meet our guests’ expectations.

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your check in at the A&O Munich Hackerbrücke. Especially when the hostel is very full it is not always possible to avoid short waiting times at the reception.

On such days there are normally 2 receptionists, maybe one of them had to help some guests somewhere in the house during your check in.

We regret that therefore you had to wait longer than normal to get your room.

We hope you appreciate our efforts and look forward to welcoming you again at A&O HOTELS and HOSTELS.

Kind regards,

You A&O Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you do not need the comforts of a two star hotel in the US. It was clean. No air conditioning so avoid August and bring your an shampoo. The students here, which was most of the hotel, were a trip back to your first trip to Europe. This sounds negative but it is not. We would and will stay here again. We had a family room for four on the top floor. No noise. Great view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelregent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The rooms have basic hostel bunk beds, the food was bad in an institutional atmosphere, it is inconveniently located, and our whole group got very little sleep. In the night there were drunks pounding up and down the halls and the balconies. I heard a woman screaming as if she was being murdered, then a siren getting closer and stopping below my window. In the morning other chaperones in my group complained first to the front desk, then asked that the police be called. When the police came, they had to break up a drunken brawl in the hallway by firing rubber bullets. I was chaperoning students and never let them out of my sight until they were safely locked in their rooms. We would have been better off to sleep on our tour bus.

Room Tip: My tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank possranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Muenchen Hackerbruecke, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Philip,

thank you very much for your feedback!

Your comments are highly appreciated, as we are constantly striving to improve our services and meet our guests’ expectations.

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Munich Hackerbrücke.

The experience you describe in your review really sounds bad. We deeply regret that you made it while staying in one of our hostels. It is true that in this night we had some bigger problems with disturbances by some guests.

Our security team did their best to avoid more troubles but in the morning we had to consult the police to stop it. We are sorry for this, please be assured that incidents like this one are very rare in our houses.

We hope you appreciate our efforts and look forward to welcoming you again at A&O HOTELS and HOSTELS.

Kind regards,

You A&O Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is undoubtedly the worst place i have ever stayed. If i could have clicked "no stars" at the top of this review, I would have done.

It is advertised as part hostel part budget hotel and suitable for families. It really really is not.

Me, my husband and two kids arrived late and had a two night booking. We had to queue for about half an hour in the sweaty lobby to get checked in as the poor, young staff had far too much to do. One girl was running the bar, checking people in and dealing with issues, complaints etc. Not a good start.

When we got checked in, we made the mistake of wandering into the hostel part of the truly grotty building. This looked like a young offenders institution. Lots of smashed glass in the fire doors, lots of smashed teens in the rooms, spilling out into the corridor. And to cap it off two burly blokes wandering round wearing t shirts marked "Security". This does not give you a good feeling when you are travelling with kids. We finally discovered we were in the other part of the building and duly found our room.

This was fairly big basic and looked clean enough. No bedding for the bunks however so had to endure the check in queue again for that. It was on the ground floor with big french doors onto a small terrace but at 1am we had no use for that. We all got into bed and tried to get used to the noise and banging.

But there was one noise I could not get used to and that was a loud scratching and munching noise that was coming from under the floorboards. This went on all night on and off and I got no sleep as I realised it must be a mouse or something bigger. Right enough, the next morning I checked the room and there were what looked like wee droppings all over the floor.

We packed up our stuff and I went and cancelled the second night telling, reception about our room mate. They were very good about refunding the money for night 2 but I was told to speak to the manager re the "visitor". I just wanted out of there so did not bother and put the whole night down to experience.

Next night was spent on a lastminute.com deal at the Citadines across the road which was absolutely fantastic.

Please do not go to this place if you have kids. it is really not for families at all and is not that cheap either (96 euros pn). There are many better places in Munich to stay.

Room Tip: go to the citadines across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kags2168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Muenchen Hackerbruecke, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback!

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Hackerbrücke.

We take your suggestions seriously and really want to check the room you and your kids were staying in.

Would you be so kind and send us your booking number (and room number, if possible) to feedback@aohostels.com?

You can also copy this dialogue so that our support team knows the whole story to it.

We hope you appreciate our efforts and look forward to welcoming you again at A&O HOTELS and HOSTELS.

Kind regards,

You A&O Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Room was reasonably clean, however no towels or floor matts provided which have been in every other A&O, no mattress protectors and as no one wants to pay extra for sheets everyone in my room slept directly on the mattress, which must have been 10 years old and you could feel the metal bars of the bunk through it. One of the guests on my room was arrested and removed, police wouldn't tell me why but they searched my gear as well, the guest was clearly a vagrant and drug user so was surprised to see he had been allowed into a dorm room with 18-20 students. 3 extra people were added to our room at 3:30am and proceeded to have showers and unpack gear. All up a crap place to stay but everything is rediculously expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Muenchen Hackerbruecke, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Lyndon,

thank you very much for your feedback!

Your comments are highly appreciated, as we are constantly striving to improve our services and meet our guests’ expectations.

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Munich Hackerbrücke.

It is true that we had older mattresses in some rooms, we have replaced them now.

As many guests bring their own sheets and do not want to pay for them the bed price is calculated without sheets so that every guest can choose.

It is not allowed to use the bedding without sheets but of course we cannot control all our guests.

We regret that there occurred problems with one of the guests in your room.

If there are difficulties between with guests in the dormitories it is always the best solution to contact the reception.

They will offer a new room or call the police if necessary.

We hope you had a good time in Munich and would be happy to welcome you again in one of our hostels.

Kind regards,

You A&O Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
11.3 mi away
Hotel Dependance Erb
Hotel Dependance Erb
#332 of 382 in Munich
17 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Munich City Olympiapark
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#247 of 382 in Munich
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#263 of 382 in Munich
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof
A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof
#359 of 382 in Munich
290 reviews
8.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Muenchen Hackerbruecke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Muenchen Hackerbruecke

Property: A&O Muenchen Hackerbruecke
Address: Arnulfstr. 102, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Muenchen Hackerbruecke 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O München Hackerbrücke opened in April 2006 and in May 2010 the lobby was expanded. The ho(s)tel has 200 rooms, all with their own balcony, shower or bathtub. On the rooftop of the house there is a bar with a comfy terrace, which invites guests to relax and take in the breath-taking view over the roofs of Munich.The A&O München Hackerbrücke is just one intra-city train station from the Central Station and is easy to reach by train. Due to its central location the Altstadt can be easily reached by going for a small walk from the A&O and it is thus also the ideal starting point for excursions into the city.Almost all of the rooms in the A&O Hackerbrücke have their own bathtub inviting you to have a relaxing bath and every room has a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Muenchen Hackerbruecke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a&o Munich Hackerbruecke Hotel Munich
a And o Munich Hackerbruecke
a o City Hackerbruecke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing