We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful. The police came in the night.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of A&O Munich Hackerbruecke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A&O Munich Hackerbruecke
Ranked #370 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Philip, South Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awful. The police came in the night.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The rooms have basic hostel bunk beds, the food was bad in an institutional atmosphere, it is inconveniently located, and our whole group got very little sleep. In the night there were drunks pounding up and down the halls and the balconies. I heard a woman screaming as if she was being murdered, then a siren getting closer and stopping below my window. In the morning other chaperones in my group complained first to the front desk, then asked that the police be called. When the police came, they had to break up a drunken brawl in the hallway by firing rubber bullets. I was chaperoning students and never let them out of my sight until they were safely locked in their rooms. We would have been better off to sleep on our tour bus.

Room Tip: My tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank possranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Munich Hackerbruecke, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Philip,

thank you very much for your feedback!

Your comments are highly appreciated, as we are constantly striving to improve our services and meet our guests’ expectations.

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Munich Hackerbrücke.

The experience you describe in your review really sounds bad. We deeply regret that you made it while staying in one of our hostels. It is true that in this night we had some bigger problems with disturbances by some guests.

Our security team did their best to avoid more troubles but in the morning we had to consult the police to stop it. We are sorry for this, please be assured that incidents like this one are very rare in our houses.

We hope you appreciate our efforts and look forward to welcoming you again at A&O HOTELS and HOSTELS.

Kind regards,

You A&O Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    52
    101
    90
    159
See reviews for
48
52
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is undoubtedly the worst place i have ever stayed. If i could have clicked "no stars" at the top of this review, I would have done.

It is advertised as part hostel part budget hotel and suitable for families. It really really is not.

Me, my husband and two kids arrived late and had a two night booking. We had to queue for about half an hour in the sweaty lobby to get checked in as the poor, young staff had far too much to do. One girl was running the bar, checking people in and dealing with issues, complaints etc. Not a good start.

When we got checked in, we made the mistake of wandering into the hostel part of the truly grotty building. This looked like a young offenders institution. Lots of smashed glass in the fire doors, lots of smashed teens in the rooms, spilling out into the corridor. And to cap it off two burly blokes wandering round wearing t shirts marked "Security". This does not give you a good feeling when you are travelling with kids. We finally discovered we were in the other part of the building and duly found our room.

This was fairly big basic and looked clean enough. No bedding for the bunks however so had to endure the check in queue again for that. It was on the ground floor with big french doors onto a small terrace but at 1am we had no use for that. We all got into bed and tried to get used to the noise and banging.

But there was one noise I could not get used to and that was a loud scratching and munching noise that was coming from under the floorboards. This went on all night on and off and I got no sleep as I realised it must be a mouse or something bigger. Right enough, the next morning I checked the room and there were what looked like wee droppings all over the floor.

We packed up our stuff and I went and cancelled the second night telling, reception about our room mate. They were very good about refunding the money for night 2 but I was told to speak to the manager re the "visitor". I just wanted out of there so did not bother and put the whole night down to experience.

Next night was spent on a lastminute.com deal at the Citadines across the road which was absolutely fantastic.

Please do not go to this place if you have kids. it is really not for families at all and is not that cheap either (96 euros pn). There are many better places in Munich to stay.

Room Tip: go to the citadines across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kags2168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Munich Hackerbruecke, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback!

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Hackerbrücke.

We take your suggestions seriously and really want to check the room you and your kids were staying in.

Would you be so kind and send us your booking number (and room number, if possible) to feedback@aohostels.com?

You can also copy this dialogue so that our support team knows the whole story to it.

We hope you appreciate our efforts and look forward to welcoming you again at A&O HOTELS and HOSTELS.

Kind regards,

You A&O Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Room was reasonably clean, however no towels or floor matts provided which have been in every other A&O, no mattress protectors and as no one wants to pay extra for sheets everyone in my room slept directly on the mattress, which must have been 10 years old and you could feel the metal bars of the bunk through it. One of the guests on my room was arrested and removed, police wouldn't tell me why but they searched my gear as well, the guest was clearly a vagrant and drug user so was surprised to see he had been allowed into a dorm room with 18-20 students. 3 extra people were added to our room at 3:30am and proceeded to have showers and unpack gear. All up a crap place to stay but everything is rediculously expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Munich Hackerbruecke, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Lyndon,

thank you very much for your feedback!

Your comments are highly appreciated, as we are constantly striving to improve our services and meet our guests’ expectations.

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Munich Hackerbrücke.

It is true that we had older mattresses in some rooms, we have replaced them now.

As many guests bring their own sheets and do not want to pay for them the bed price is calculated without sheets so that every guest can choose.

It is not allowed to use the bedding without sheets but of course we cannot control all our guests.

We regret that there occurred problems with one of the guests in your room.

If there are difficulties between with guests in the dormitories it is always the best solution to contact the reception.

They will offer a new room or call the police if necessary.

We hope you had a good time in Munich and would be happy to welcome you again in one of our hostels.

Kind regards,

You A&O Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you just want somewhere to sleep after going out and sampling a lot of Munich's finest beers then i suppose this is ideal. However it is very basic, the rooms are very hot and stuffy and the hotel seems to be very noisy throughout the night. It gave us some memorable moments and it served it's purpose but I've no plans to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDP1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from my stag do in Munich where we stayed at the A & O Hackerbruecke for 2 nights. I was apprehensive after reading some of the previous reviews and was worried what to expect. As mentioned in other reviews it is exceptionally noisy of an evening and you can hear everything which is going on in the corridors and the relatively small reception area does get very busy as most are trying to get the free wifi at most times of the day. The rooms were fine and done the job allowing us to get our heads down and the bathroom was clean and we had no issues with water etc., it's a 20 minute walk into the centre from here or 10 minutes to the nearest beer garden (which was very good!), we did struggle to find many places to eat although we found out as we were leaving that a supermarket was located behind the hotel. All in all it was fine for a stag trip or if you're on a very tight budget and I wouldn't have any issues staying here again for a similar trip but I wouldn't if I was to visit Munich with my future wife.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 which is the first one adjacent the reception area which didn't help the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garethvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at the A&O City Hackerbruecke in Munich for one night and I had wished it was so much longer!! This place was great!! It was really nice and large!!

ROOMS: I stayed in a room with 3 of my friends.. so there was 4 of us in total! When we walked into the room we all got soo excited!! You know that feeling you get when you go travelling for so long and get some really crappy accommodation?! .. well this was the opposite!! The rooms were lovely! Especially for a hotel! There was a Large stable Bunk bed and 2 single beds! The room had its own bathroom and even walk in closet kind of thing!! It was nice and bright and very clean!! We got our own towels and all!! They had a door that leaded to the baloney which connects everyone else's rooms! We wish we had longer in this place!

BREAKFAST: Breakfast was pretty good! mixed of things.. not a lot of hot food but was definitely a quality breakfast compared to other places

SITE & LOCATION: This hostel is HUGE!! its in a great location... I mean you could walk into town would maybe take like 20/30 minutes! which isnt bad because than you can see site see :D

FACILITIES: This hostel has Computers and also Internet/Wifi Connection, 24hr Reception, Daily room cleaning, Accepts credit card acceptance Visa, Amex and Mastercard, Premiere Sportsbar, Mountain View Bar with large roof terrace, Billiard table, table football and video games, Free luggage room, Free house safe, Free daily newspaper, Laundry room, Breakfast buffet, Bicycle rental, TV room

Good hostel for young, mature and older :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, easy to find from Hauptbahnhof (4stops with Tam 16 or 17 ). Hotel located close to the tram stop were you get off "Romanplatz". Our twin room was very spacious although the bathroom could use a serious redo. The toilets were stained and the shower was either too hot or too cold. Bed linen can also do with a replacement. Internet was not working and we stayed there over a weekend, so it could not be fixed until the Monday.

Room Tip: Bring your own sleeping bag
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lale-Burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#253 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.0 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#354 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Munich City Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
3.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#344 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.7 mi away
A&O Muenchen Hauptbahnhof
A&O Muenchen Hauptbahnhof
#362 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Munich Hackerbruecke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Munich Hackerbruecke

Property: A&O Munich Hackerbruecke
Address: Arnulfstr. 102, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Munich Hackerbruecke 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O München Hackerbrücke opened in April 2006 and in May 2010 the lobby was expanded. The ho(s)tel has 200 rooms, all with their own balcony, shower or bathtub. On the rooftop of the house there is a bar with a comfy terrace, which invites guests to relax and take in the breath-taking view over the roofs of Munich.The A&O München Hackerbrücke is just one intra-city train station from the Central Station and is easy to reach by train. Due to its central location the Altstadt can be easily reached by going for a small walk from the A&O and it is thus also the ideal starting point for excursions into the city.Almost all of the rooms in the A&O Hackerbrücke have their own bathtub inviting you to have a relaxing bath and every room has a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your A&O Munich Hackerbruecke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o Munich Hackerbruecke
a&o Munich Hackerbruecke Hotel Munich
a o City Hackerbruecke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing