We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with basic service”
Review of Vi Vadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vi Vadi Hotel
Ranked #131 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location with basic service”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

+Very close to the central train station and city center. Its a good place to stay if you going to travel via train later or have only a day or two to visit munich l.
-light traffic noise if facing the street. Bearable but constant noise.
-+self laundry service available but not enough. 3 wash machine and two has been broken.
-+decent price-but save alot since its close to public transport
-customer service - not so friendly, didnt bother to greet, though they do answer your question.
-someone actually accidentally walk into our room! I think its the housekeeper, ask reception, they say its not their matter, its house keeping matter.
+clean room and bed

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    367
    176
    56
    35
See reviews for
149
283
85
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the main station in a nondescript street. Plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops within a quick stroll.

Check-in and check-out were excellent - efficient and friendly as well as adept at handling more awkward guests and requests. English no problem. Most of the guests seemed to be tourists from a wide range of countries.

Reception, lift and corridors may give a bad impression - tatty and odd smells in places - but the room itself was a good size, clean, with fridge, microwave and a kitchen sink. The bathroom was small but had a shower had plentiful hot water and good towels. The curtains were good and we heard no noise at night, so slept very well.

Breakfast (10 Euro extra) was served in the next door Italian restaurant of the same name. A buffet with fresh bread rolls, cold cuts, scrambled egg, sausages, yogurt, juices etc. It certainly filled us enough to skip lunch. Not fine cuisine but good for the price, compared to other hotels.

The hotel isn't a revelation, but is priced right and located well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K0lya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Central location with about 10 minute walk to the main shopping area, bars and restaurants. The area is ok but is near a main railway station and therefore not somewhere to walk around late at night unless you are used to big cities. Hotel is functional and clean and the staff are efficient and friendly. Would stay at the Vi Vadi again if I visit Munich in the future mainly based on the price and location.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy road so when booking ask for a room at the back of the hotel as it is much qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Below average 3 star hotel staying in late December. Outdated with some cosmetic overhauls. Great location overall as you'll read in other reviews especially from the train station. You're paying for the location not the hotel amenities.
Pros - hotel staff seems nice and welcoming. Rooms are clean. Location once again about 15 min walk from the action.
Cons - just not what you'd expect from a 3 star. When you read NO AC recognize that means no air circulation at all! Rooms are musty and smell a little like mold. Hallways and doors are from the late 80s it looks. A double room means they push two single beds together. Isn't very comfortable and they still use one blanket per single bed. Different than the states for sure. The owner commented the wifi is fixed - it is not: HORRIBLE internet connection. I might go to Starbucks tomorrow.
Paying 70E for the location and no breakfast. I would pick a different place the next time and spend another 15 for a nicer place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I don't think there's anything new to be said, but I'll just echo the good sentiments from other reviewers. My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in November 2013. Honestly picked it because it was the cheapest option while maintaining a great locaiton. 1 block from the trainstation (and Luftansa Airport Shuttle Bus) and a 10 min walk to Marienplatz and all the downtown fun.

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We were given a bunch of travel guides and some tips / hints of places to go upon arrival.

Hotel feels dated, but it was clean and not lacking amenities. The resteraunt next door is also nice (note you can buy a bottle of wine for 15 euros to bring back to your room for a night cap).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metalheadrr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is its location. It's only 5min away from the trainstation and ~10-12 away by foot from the city center. The staff is very friendly and there are 2 restaurants (Vi Vadi and ViVadi Rustico - I recommend the 2nd one) right next to the hotel if needed.

The breakfast is OK but the buffet is not very large and it gets pretty crowded. All rooms have a kitchinette which can be practical. The main room is nicely renovated but the walls are a bit dirty and the bathroom is not quite modern but you can see that from traveler pictures.

You will receive a room key which you have to carry with you at all times because it opens up the front entrace if you arrive to late in the evening.

It mostly looks like an apartment building and not a classic hotel. Wireless was very poor in my room.

Overall the hotel was fine and very good for its price.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room where the kitchinette is not right next to the bed... it has a certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miru381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is conveniently situated close to Munich Central Station. Rooms are big and also include a kitchenette (which is a great feature in any hotel room). Décor is maybe a bit outdated, but that did not bother us. There is free wifi, though the signal was weak and temperamental, as we had our room right at the end of the hotel. Reception was much better standing outside in the hall, next to the lifts. The hotel is situated at a rather busy street. This didn't bother us as we are used to city noises while we sleep, but could be a problem to some travellers. Rates were very competitive and the staff very friendly and helpful.

In summary, this is a fine hotel in a nice city. I would happily stay there again and will recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: I think that due to the noise issues from the street below, it's a good idea to ask for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
#68 of 383 in Munich
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#52 of 383 in Munich
1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#95 of 383 in Munich
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.0 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vi Vadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vi Vadi Hotel

Property: Vi Vadi Hotel
Address: Marsstr. 6-10, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vi Vadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms in this hotel are equipped with high quality box-spring beds and fine linen. They are tastefully furnished and particularly spacious. Wifi is fast and free of charge. The hotel offers a wide range of services you wouldn't expect in this category. For example 12-hour roomservice, express laundry service, cost free business concierge services around the clock, just to name a few. There is a popular italian restaurant on site and another, affiliated restaurant close-by. The hotel has been renovated in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vi Vadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing