We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a 3 star standard hotel”
Review of Vi Vadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vi Vadi Hotel
Ranked #128 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“NOT a 3 star standard hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was very disappointed with my stay at the Vi Vadi due to inacurate room description and VERY unhelpful reception staff. The hotel is in an excellent location - less than a two minute walk from Hauptbahnhof train station - but is certainly not the equivalent of a 3 star hotel. Our family room did not match the brochure description, being very 70's style and shabby with old pine furniture and fittings. The pillows were inadequate, and when i dared ask for extra pillows I received a lengthly tirade from a very irate receptionist who made me feel very embarassed - even commenting that I had booked through an online booking service! We paid almost 400 euros for 3 nights, which didn't even include breakfast, so i certainly do not feel as though I got a good deal. The lift was more of a service lift than one suitable to carry hotel guests, and all corridors were very shabby and old fashioned. I do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that is advertised by the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    379
    183
    58
    35
See reviews for
159
287
86
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here with a friend in September 2012, just before Oktoberfest! The hotel was easy to find and even though we were too early to check in we dropped our bags off and went exploring using a map the man on reception gave us! Our room was on the third floor and walked rather than used the lift, but this worked ok! Can't fault the hotel, there were little shampoos etc in the bathroom and the free safe was a good thing. I would stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinksuzie591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at the Vi Vadi for 4 nights and I can see why it is highly rated on TripAdvisor. From the outside, the Vi Vadi Hotel doesn't seem like much. The lobby is somewhat utilitarian and has the feel of a budget hotel. However, it has several things going for it.

The location is great! It is two streets away from the main train station which means it is a short 5 minute walk. This is great if you have luggage and it also means that you don't have to trek a long distance after arriving in Munich. There is a grocery center close by with 4 major grocery chains around the corner. One of the store is an Aldi which is has some of the lowest prices. There is also a famous beer garden, Augustiner Keller, within 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

The room I had was nice and large with a small kitchenette. There is no AC so you do have to open the window to cool the room if it is warm. I have to agree with some of the other reviewers that it feels more like an apartment than a hotel room. The beds were clean but they definitely need firmer pillows. I also feel that the house cleaning crew does a very good job every day with cleaning the room. It always feel spotless. Finally, I should mention that there are laundry facilities. You just have to purchase tokens from the front desk for 3 euros. That will cover both the washer and the dryer.

The front desk was always staffed by very helpful and friendly people. They were able to provide directions to everything and seems to know the opening times of most of the tourist attraction.

I would highly recommend the Vi Vadi for anyone looking for a good clean place to stay in Munich without paying outrageous prices. I think that if they spruce up the outside and add AC, this hotel would easily be one of the best.

Room Tip: It can be noisy if you are facing the main street. If it is the summer, I suggest getting a room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANsna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed there for two nights. The location is excellent. Just 5 minutes walk to the HBf and metro station. Next to the HBf, there is a Lufthansa shuttlebus terminal so it is very convenient to go there by taking the comfortable airport shuttle by paying same fees as taking the metro. 10 minutes walk to the Karlstor, 15 minutes walk to Marienplatz. The room is basic and clean, though the facilities are not very new, it is acceptable. The greatest surprise is that there is a kitchnette and microwave. So it is more like an aparthotel. Not sure whether washing machine is available, if so, it is very ideal for longer stay. Another surprise is that though it is like an aparthotel but there is still cleaning service as a hotel. I was just given a room on the first floor, it a bit noisy but as it is almost winter, so I just shut the window at night. The reception is helpful. I will definitely consider to stay there again if I had the chance to go back to Munich. The price is a bit on the high side but I was told that there is a festival in Munich so the price is higher than normal,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Vi Vadi, it's very close to the station and within walking distance to most the attractions. The bathroom was very small and a little dated but it served it's purpose and was spotlessly clean. Only thing I didn't like was that the pillows were too soft.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CDup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was threatened by two men in the elevator of this hotel while staying there last Saturday night. It was a very scary experience that I'm sure could have happened anywhere, however the following characteristics of this hotel made it even worse for me. (Some of these things you don't really think about until something bad happens to you - now I will always make sure to ask about all of the following when booking hotels for travel in the future.)

1) The hotel does not have a 24 hour reception/service desk area, nor is there anyone from the hotel on call in case of emergency. Basically, after dinner until breakfast, you are on your own. Unsafe!!
2) The lobby area is small and does not have any seating/socializing space - discouraging patrons from gathering downstairs.
3) The phones in the room do not have instructions on how to call the police/fire/etc., or even how to dial out of the hotel line. Unsafe!!
4) No deadbolts on doors.
5) Doors are not easy to unlock/lock - takes a few minutes just to figure out how it works and on my third try - now in a hurry - I still was not very quick at it. Unsafe!!
6) Doors do not automatically lock when they close behind you - you have to remember to lock them from the inside using the key. Unsafe!!
7) Locks on the doors have the potential to be turned incorrectly so that the lock sticks out, basically serving to prop the door ajar, preventing it from closing all the way. If this happens, you might not even necessarily notice --- you can't tell from just looking at the door, because like many doors in Germany, there is a wood "lip" sticking across the space between the door and the door-frame. Unsafe!!

I had a terrible experience at this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone. The people at the desk were all very nice and helpful when they were there, but guests are left completely on their own in the evenings. For 180+ euros a night, I expect more consideration for safety. Don't stay here if you are traveling alone - splurge the extra euros to get a safe hotel so you can feel safe and have decent sleep!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel with a 24 hour service desk, even if that means spending more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Manager at Vi Vadi Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear JK,

thank you very much for your feedback. This is the first time that a guest of our house did not feel safe but I really do apologize for the discribed situation you have been confronted with.
Unfortunately during Oktoberfest many people get drunk and behave respectless.
As you mentioned this might have happen anywhere else. even in a 5 star hotel.

1.All public areas and entrances to the hotel on groundfloor are equipped with a video control. Reception hours are mon. to fri. 24h. Sat. and Sun. the reception closes at 10.pm but there is always one nightaudit who is in charge for Check-Ins after 10.00 p.m and reachable via cellphone in case of emergency. The cellphone number is placed on reception door and the main entrance and on the information form inside your room. Also the reception bell is turned on 24h a day.

2. Contrary to your statement our small lobby is equipped with two couches 4 armchairs and Flat TV and daily newspaper. It is situated right behind the reception area facing the court.

3. All phones in our guest rooms offer directdial to front office and roomservice. A detailled information form is placed right on your table with all needed information for phone use and all other offered services.

4. Fire security law does not allow deadbolts inside hotel rooms. In case of emergency the fire departement would not be able to open the door from outside.

5. Sometimes people are confused with our european lock system. The keys have to be turned the other way around. (Left to unlock/ right to lock) Maybe this was the problem you have been confronted with?

6. As you might know open doors can not be locked. If you close the door correctly you will not have any problems locking it from inside or from outside.

All in all I can not understand your complaints in total. Nearly every problem could have been solved if you had asked for assistance or contacted us directly. Even when checking out you did not tell anybody of reception team about your experience.

Kind regards

M.Meister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Upon arriving at the receptions, the receptionist was helpful and very attentive. Many places were recommended by her and she even filled our request for a second key. In addition, the central station was a 2-5 minute walk and shops and eateries were around the corner. The rooms were modern, with a large wooden desk and wooden panneling. There was even a stove.

Room Tip: Family rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartholemew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
#76 of 382 in Munich
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#93 of 382 in Munich
1,871 reviews
0.0 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#55 of 382 in Munich
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.0 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#61 of 382 in Munich
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vi Vadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vi Vadi Hotel

Property: Vi Vadi Hotel
Address: Marsstr. 6-10, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vi Vadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms in this hotel are equipped with high quality box-spring beds and fine linen. They are tastefully furnished and particularly spacious. Wifi is fast and free of charge. The hotel offers a wide range of services you wouldn't expect in this category. For example 12-hour roomservice, express laundry service, cost free business concierge services around the clock, just to name a few. There is a popular italian restaurant on site and another, affiliated restaurant close-by. The hotel has been renovated in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vi Vadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing