We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible bathroom design, cant recommend for double occupancy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Ranked #162 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Princeton, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“terrible bathroom design, cant recommend for double occupancy”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

warned by tripadvisor we requested a room to the back. I cannot recommend rooms facing the street since there are 3 large youth hostels directly across the street. Since smoking is not allowed inside I saw groups of young travelers gathering outside every evening, at times they were very loud. Front desk was nice, interieur nice, but...the bathroom is a joke. There is only an opaque glass door, you can still see the person sitting on the toilet from your bed! You can hear and smell them too, since the sliding door leaves a 1 inch gap,when shut!! right next to the toilet. And in our room this sliding door was right next to the bed, within reach. I have seen many hotels, large and small, but this design is absurd. Only once I saw an opaque glass wall (in Orlando FL), as ridiculous there as here. But at least the doors there shut tight, the bathroom was far away from the bed. Here you have zero privacy and zero "protection". Good for single traveler, avoid it if you travel with partner or child. Good location, next to station and city center (somewhat seedy in parts, but also interesting and only a short walk to many great Munich neighborhoods)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatePL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    207
    117
    42
    39
See reviews for
73
177
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Although the narrow street appeared to be sketchy, it was fine. One should not be put off by first appearances. The location is central. It was OK but we prefer the Jedermann Hotel – it’s not quite as close but is next to a streetcar stop and provides a free three-day pass on the public transit. No AC. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Some rooms were noisy, according to members of our group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The location is very good. The rooms were nice, cleanliness was good.
Some of the rooms had too small size, so better check for the rooms before moving in with luggage.
Breakfast was good, staff was cheerful and nice to deal with.

Room Tip: Do check the room size before taking the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achandaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I give this hotel a "very good" rating mainly for the location and the fact that the rooms have a/c. I stayed there last night, very hot and sultry evening but the a/c was just about able to cope - a tip here, the a/c will turn off when you remove the room key from the cradle......just ask Reception for another key which you can leave in the cradle when you are out of the room, this means the roon will be cool when you return....they have no problem in doing this.

The breakfast was, quite frankly, awful this morning - on previous visits it has been okay but this morning everything seemed tired and not 100% fresh, I did go down quite late by German standards ( around 9AM ) but it wasn't good - at least at EUR 12.00 it is much cheaper than most other hotels. Despite this will happily stay there again due to the location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel can suffer from street noise ( Heard somebody asking for a room chan...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy_uk_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I've stayed here before but really wasn't very impressed when I arrived and was told my prepaid room was not available.

This time everything worked normally, no "we're sorry but we'll put you in another hotel nearby". Just "welcome to Leonardo" and off to my room. My standard room was very tiny, but had everything I needed (although would have been quite tight if traveling with someone). The bathroom was quite nice if small.

Breakfast (not included, but just a small extra charge) was better than expected.

The hotel is located just across the street from the Hauptbahnhof (main train station). Across the street are 3 youth hostels which do attract some harmless (but loud) travelers.

Room Tip: Low number rooms (X01 - X05) are on the quiet wing of the hotel. Rooms X06 - X... face the street w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jondf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

we stayed in leonardo hotel in oct/2011 , the room was VERY SMALL and the bathroom has a glass door . the hotel reception is very small considering its 4 star hotel but its look like a 3 star hotel . the central train station is within a 2 mins walk

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaikha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Leonardo in May 2012, the hotel staff were happy enough to help and spoke brilliant English. Breakfast was very nice, however a little on the expensive side. Nevertheless, the rooms were always clean and tidy, bed was very comfy, and the facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GALLOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Maritim Hotel Munchen
#108 of 382 in Munich
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#106 of 382 in Munich
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#120 of 382 in Munich
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#213 of 382 in Munich
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#22 of 382 in Munich
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Address: Senefelderstr. 4, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Munich
Leonardo Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing