We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caprinhas”
Review of Ver O Peso

Ver O Peso
Ranked #2,587 of 3,747 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Brazilian, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Caprinhas”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a Brazilian place run by a very charismatic Brazilian man. The place is small, but has an inviting atmosphere. The locals like it. It's very close to the Hilton and Holiday Inn City Center hotels. Try a caprinha

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank richardej2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    11
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Terrible service Coeliacs beware!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went to this bar which was near to our hotel for a meal. It was very quiet as it was the night of Bayern Munich's triumph and we were just about the only ones in. The male maitre de come waiter brought us menus and my husband, who is a coeliac (allergic to gluten) gave to him a small leaflet in German which explains his restricted diet. The man read it briefly then laughed and threw it onto the table. He then walked away. When he came back we explained that my husband would be ill if the restrictions were not followed. He simply stood and smiled condescendingly at us. We then asked it he could have a plain steak and he selected one from the menu which said it came with sauce. He asked if the sauce could be omitted. He said yes but when the meal came it was covered in sauce. I mean covered, under the rice, all over the salad, everywhere. It also had what appeared to be cous cous on it. Luckily another in our party had (by chance) ordered something so obviously plain that they were able to swap. All of the meals were mediocre but the bill was not. Needless to say he didn't get a tip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Small but good”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Extremely kind owner and staff, excellent food, good cocktails and very reasonable prices. This is a small modest place but if you are a tourist looking to have a very good lunch/dinner and after continue with your city stroll I recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miske50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My boyfriend is Brazilian and so we were very excited to find an authentic Brazilian restaurant serving feijoada in Munich. Little did we know that it would take over two hours to receive our food, even though we had reserved our table well in advance! In addition, we were asked to share one plate of food because the waitress told us that two plates would not fit on the table (a completely ridiculous statement since the table was huge). We were still charged for 2 plates, however, and were given funny looks when we requested some additional rice. The caipirinhas were served only 2/3 full and were not authentic in any way. Truth be told, we will never return to this restaurant and are disgusted at fishing out 60 euros for what was meant to be a nice Brazilian meal. Anyone who considers this food to be "worth the long wait" and "authentically good" has clearly never been to Brazil.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Keekee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neu-Isenburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Small but great Brazilian restaurant”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my second time in Ver-O-Peso in a few years. Why I don't go there more often, I don't have a clue!

The establishment is divided into two parts, a bar at the front and a few tables at the back. Despite its small size it has an intimate and cozy feel and the blues and jazz music coming out of the speakers, mixed with portuguese and brazilian music in the same vein create a cool atmosphere.

The menu has limited options, but every dish is delicious and cooked by Brazilians. Prices are fair and the service is very good. The cocktail menu is extensive and in all honesty the cocktails are worth their money (prices are entirely normal for Munich at 8-9 Euro for a cocktail).

As the place is so small, calling to reserve a table is highly recommended, especially when looking to visit on a busy night of the week. And when it gets busy, service might take a tiny bit longer than usual, but it's not a matter of real concern.

Definitely recommended I'll make sure I won't take that long to visit again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wire_n_Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ver O Peso also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Ver O Peso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing