We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Value and Comfort 3 stops from the city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Ranked #95 of 396 Hotels in Munich
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Value and Comfort 3 stops from the city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed two nights at this hotel at the end of April 2013. Had a very pleasant stay, comfortable room, nice bathroom, everything was very clean. Staff was courteous and helpful. Could see the U Bahn stop from my room, and it was a quick ten minute ride to the city center. One annoying thing - all maps of the city that I found do not seem to include this side of the river, making it difficult to find it when we first arrived. Did not try the breakfast... no fridge or mini bar in the room ( but free bottled water and chocolates on arrival ). Some foreign language tv stations including English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiebugstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    451
    190
    54
    47
See reviews for
216
293
41
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel is very conveniently located off 4 stops on a U bahn from Munich Hauptbahnhof. You are in central station in 15 minutes . Hotel is a 5 minutes walk from the Siberhornstrasse U-bahn metro station. Good buffer breakfast and helpful staff. I had booked a room with kitchen but got a one without it. Staff was prompt and helpful in giving me a changed room later on same day. Room had 2 hot plates, mini fridge and a microwave .Helpful for a week long stay.

The room can sure do with better sound proofing for those who care, one can hear lot of noise from the corridors. I experienced multiple Italian student groups during my stay - hence may be it was noiser than usual.

Room size was OK for 2 adults and 1 child based on EU standard room sizes. Reception staff was always cheerful and eager to help. Staff at breakfast was a bit serious and straight faced (instead of cheerful as you find in US hotels - atlthough at times it is cosmetic) , they were overloaded due to the busy time with too many visitors.

They provided a daily (24 hrs) coupon for WiFi- internet access code. Once I could use it with my laptop, we could not use the same for iPad internet access. I did not pursue this with the Hotel as it was not a must. However the internet signal on Wi-Fi was incredibly strong , fast and reliable once connected. They have a luggage room in basement in case you want to checkout and move around Munich.

Overall was a good and memorable stay.

Room Tip: There are 2 Room views - one in front of a office building and other in front of a residential build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogesh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I used the hotel for a week during a conference. I came alone and I booked a double room for single use. Great hotel, good balance between quality and price.
The hotel is 50 mt far from underground station, that in Munich brings you everywhere.
Very clean and cosy. Very good breakfast and very good room service.
There isn't wifi but if you have your laptop you can use the free LAN connection for 1 hour a day.
It's good choice for tourism and business too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValentinaMa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

1) Good ambience.
2) Good breakfast.
3) Bad service:

We got the rooms about 25 minutes late, even though we arrived a bit after 3 PM. The receptionist was not apologetic about this at all. Also, the attendant at breakfast was extremely rude and cut away from our conversation to talk to someone else who had just come up to her. She was very unhelpful, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan0015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoram B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Than you for your feedback!
I understand you disappointment because of the staff. I want to make sure, that all employees were sencibleiced again to understand how to react with all our very important guests.

I would be happy if you contacted me directly, so i could make a individual good offer for your next reservation with us.

Happy to hear from you!

Have a great weekend!

Helena Bachmann
Guest Relation Manager
Leonardo Hotels Munich und Nürnberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good hotel on a quiet location with an excellent breakfast. Also very near to a tube station and tramlines. About 5 minutes by tube from the main station and citycenter. Our room had an kitchenette with fridge, cooker and sink.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomEnschede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been using this hotel for over 25 years and it always comes up trumps.. It is a hidden gem in the back streets of Munich. Staff are very helpfull and friendly and the hotel is always kept clean and tidy. There are numerous little bars and restaurants within minutes walk. The geisinger arms and the Croation eatery across the road to name but 2. Breakfast is good and plentifull. You are only a few stops from the center of Munich. The only thing to watch out for is the price at certain times of the year seems to increase....eg. Oktoberfest, but thats the same all over so should'nt be a problem.
A great hotel in a great location......worth a try.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back(hospital side), as the german rubbish trucks turn up quite early and are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren499613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very nice hotel, good and clean rooms with very comfortable beds, good quality and rich breakfast. Metro stop near the hotel, 2-3 stops away from city centre. Of course, hotel itself is not so central, in a rather quiet, residence area, with not many shops around. Found it at a good price, I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vayio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
2.1 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#22 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#162 of 396 in Munich
3.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#26 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich

Property: Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Address: Heimgartenstrasse 14, 81539, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only several stops on the underground into the city centre or the Fairground and convention centre. Leonardo Hotel & Residenz Munich has a central yet tranquil location, making it a home-away-from-home not only for Munich fans, but especially for long-term guests. Whether you are here for business or leasure, you will feel at home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel And Residence Munich
Leonardo Hotel Residence Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing