We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel but not for tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AZIMUT Hotel Munich
Ranked #292 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The room was good, clean, big bed, solt pillows. On TV is just one english speaking channel CNN. Staff is helpful.The breakfast was nice, big choice. Yes, location puts hotel down. We use public transport (bus 190, 191 to metro stop Max Veber Platz and then metro to wherever you want). there is a taxi stop opposite hotel but I think it is mostly for bussiness people around not for budget tourists. All transport work on time, at the bus stop there is timetable and you can plan your journee. Take a comfy shoes, because exploring city involves much walking. If your time allows take a trip to Salzbourg (40euros), 2 hours by train each way. It is worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inpredictable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for AZIMUT Hotel Munich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 410 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at the hotel at the end of September, when the Oktoberfest was in full swing. I'd rate it medium in quality and appearance, but that was still a tad above the other hotels on the same street, one called Comfort and I forget the second one.

My impression is that the hotel is understaffed (or was that due to the Oktoberfest pressure?): long checkin time, long checkout time, queue to get access past the registration waitress at the breakfast room in the morning. I decided not to eat dinner in the hotel but instead to walk down the street 200 metres, where you find an Italian restaurant called La Romantica, also on Kronstadter strasse. The food there was good (as was the German Hefe Weisse beer!) and cheap at 18.20 Euro all inclusive. They did take a long time to bring the orders, as the place was brimming with customers, many of them locals and not people like me from the nearby hotels, which is a good sign in itself.

I don't know Muenchen that well so find it hard to judge the hotel's location. People arriving by plane are advised to take the S8 train direction Ostbahnhof, taking about 40 minutes to get there and cost me 10 Euro. I got out there and took a taxi, which was about 10 minutes and cost me another 25 Euro. Remember that the taxi from the airport to downtown can set you back a sizeable amount if there are road problems, which ofter occurs. Last time I paid 75 Euros as there had been a road accident ahead.

A final word about location. The area looked like an industrial zone (railroad marshalling yard in the area), plus services activities as exemplified by the 3 hotels on the street. But it was very quiet in my room overlooking a football training field, plus there is permanent taxi stop across the street where you can summon a taxi if need be from the system.
Finally, the suburb is called Bogenhausen. My business contacts claimed that used to be one of Muenchen's most posh areas (?? didn't really see signs during my ultrashort stay) and it was indeed reasonable to get downtown in the morning rush hour, as I needed about 20 minutes in the taxi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siegfried V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during Oktoberfest, so prices were sky high. I'm sure our impression would have been different if we didn't pay an arm and a leg for the room. Having said that, the room was clean and pretty nice. Hotel carpets could use a replacement, but otherwise hotel was clean as well. Location was definitely not great, but there are two bus lines very close by that get you to Center City very easily. Skip the breakfast, it's terrible and way overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MckP60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Terrible location for tourism (5 min walk, 10 min bus and 10 min metro to get to Karlsplatz, from which you have to walk to get to Marianplatz). Located in a business park, so it's clearly geared toward professional clients. But! The rooms are nice and big, the breakfast is great (15 euro, but worth it), they let us check in at 8 am during Oktoberfest. Very helpful staff.

They need to route the wifi to the rooms!!!!! It's currently only available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhoolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The room was very comfortable and clean,quiet,good sleep quality;no A/C ; they allowed us to check in earlier, when we arrived at 10 a.m.Breakfast average.The hotel is in the outskirts of Munich,far from the center;you must take a bus from 150m from the hotel, than the U-bahn (metro), aprox 40 min ride.It is said it is close to Messe Congress Center but it is a 20 minutes ride by bus until there and you must add the time you wait for the bus(15 min weekdays and 20 min in weekend).I think one could choose this hotel only if it is a business travel for a congress at Messe,otherwise better choose a better location.Don't accept a room at the ground floor in proximity of the restaurant ;it is noise and food smell.In my 5 days stay one of the elevators was out of order for 2 days.The hotel restaurant is only opened for breakfast;there is only one
restaurant in proximity but it is closed on sundays.

Room Tip: rooms at higher floor are better
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sovergab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It's Crazy thing. Every you came back to your room, the card key always doesn't work. And it's difficult to meet with the general manager. I made complain and wrote the letter, but they said, i am not profesional.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnoldusIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Although I stayed only one night, it was a great place to stay. The lobby was clean and furnished in a contemporary style. The rooms were similar, clean, well furnished and functional. Wifi was free but only worked in the lobby. Breakfast included a vareity of food and drink, served as a buffet. The bartender also makes a fabulous cocktail.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rexy_937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Tulip Inn Munchen Messe
Tulip Inn Munchen Messe
#224 of 385 in Munich
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
0.3 mi away
NH Munchen Messe
NH Munchen Messe
#82 of 385 in Munich
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
NH Munchen City Sud
NH Munchen City Sud
#187 of 385 in Munich
703 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
0.0 mi away
ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AZIMUT Hotel Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AZIMUT Hotel Munich

Address: Kronstadter Strasse 6-8 D, 81677 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $72 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AZIMUT Hotel Munich 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AZIMUT hotel in Bavaria’s capital is only 20 minutes away from the heart of the city, the Marienplatz Square giving you an opportunity of getting familiar with the most beautiful city in Germany. Enjoy its Baroque and Art Nouveau architecture, appreciate how a metropolis can become cozy and hospitable if it is located in Bavaria, visit the Oktoberfest beer festival or one of the famous art museums in the city. Your comfortable hotel in Munich will become a part of your favorite impressions from this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your AZIMUT Hotel Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing