We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place with great atmosphere”

Koniglicher Hirschgarten
Ranked #245 of 3,703 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were staying nearby in Kriemhildstrasse, and landed here following good nearby places in my TripAdvisor app.
The place is beautiful, and located next to a big park towards which the biergarten expands.
Being it October and cool, people were concentrated inside, instead of out in the garden. I can imagine it being a place not to be missed during summer.
The place is very welcoming, and was filled with lots of locals having dinner.
Service was extremely good, the waiters being very helpful and kind.
We shared a pork knuckle that was very good (not the best we had, but still very good). The blaukraut and potato dumplings were delicious... and the beer... they had a good selection of beer, which were also great. I tried a couple of Augustiners that were unbelievably good.
After dinner, we went out for a walk through the garden, which was just perfect to close out the evening.
If around, or visiting Nymphenburg, this is a very good option.
Would gladly come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fcgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    207
    61
    28
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Bavarian Schmankerl”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My friends took me here for lunch straight from the airport. I liked the Bavarian sort of atmosphere and sitting outside, enjoying the alpine fresh-air. Huge Beergarden to people watch and enjoy the Bavarian cuisine.I thoroughly enjoyed the Bratenpfandel, with three kinds of grilled meat. the local dish off Kaesespaetz, was also yummy. A marillen-schnapps afterward was just right after such heavy food. Not impressed with the waiter who tried to be italian, did not speak any Italian though when asked. Addressed my friend as Dottore and the Ladies as Senora. How can a Bavarian in Lederhose play an Italian? He was rude, when we asked him why is he trying to be Italian, as he's Bavarian. When we asked for the bill, he snapped at us, to wait while he chatted to his colleague. So much to a Bavarian in Lederhose wanting to be Italian in a German Beergarten.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelDocKleen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quite a beer garden”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had quite a walk thru the park to get to this beer garden, but it was worth it. The venison, spaetzle, and cranberry was very tasty. The beer was of course very good, I prefer the Dunkel. Our waiter was very attentive and pleasant. The prices were standard for tourist areas. Beer garden is quite massive and would be great fun during the sumer months when full of patrons.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdcrab73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great introduction to a beer garden!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The beer garden was within walking distance of our hotel and in fact, we visited it three times during our five night stay. We were welcomed immediately and found great beer along with hearty food. There were also plenty of people to visit with and others to watch. It was fun, filling, and festive on each visit - a perfect neighborhood haunt!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NutAndHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service, simple but tasty food”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I both had the schnitzel with fries. It came as 2 pieces on the plate with some lemon and a bowl of fries. This was plenty of food and the schnitzel was extremely tasty. However it was nothing extraordinary for over 9 euros each. We got enough food for our money, it was simple pub food.

It was a fantastic location, suitable for all types of gatherings. It is a large complex and would go again. Great to sit and eat watching deer in their paddock.

The service was excellent. The waiter was prompt and efficient. the drinks and food were quick to arrive and we didn't have to wait longer than a couple of minutes for our plates to be cleared. Although I did see the waiter eat some scraps off another customers plates as he cleared them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarriedNZbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koniglicher Hirschgarten also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Koniglicher Hirschgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing