We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Upscale Bavarian Fare, beautifully served” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freisinger Hof

Freisinger Hof
Ranked #107 of 3,509 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Upscale Bavarian Fare, beautifully served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have eaten at plenty of Bavarian restaurants, and this one is a cut above the others. The decor is traditional Bavarian with paneling, white tablecloths and yellow wall color above the paneling. Service was well paced and the waiter was attentive. The atmosphere was lively but still quiet. It is not set up like a Biergarten.

We ate both lunch and dinner there on the same day. At lunch we were in a group of Americans and Germans. At dinner it was just me, my wife and adult daughter. The menu was the same for both lunch and dinner. I had pan fried chicken for lunch. This was very good. Coating was light and chicken moist. It was served with a German-style potato salad that was also well prepared. My daughter-in-law had the duck with all the fixings. It came as an intact half duck which was crispy on the outside, tasty and tender. My son had the Weiner Schnitzel which appeared typical, served with fried potatoes. My wife had the prawn salad for lunch which she describes as tasty.

My daughter had the salmon for lunch. It was served on a bed of mashed potatoes with a rich, creamy sauce. For dinner she ordered a goat cheese salad which she enjoyed. She especially liked the måche´, and the goat cheese wrapped in bacon was also a treat.

So, everyone enjoyed the food, decor, service, wine, beer and the entire experience. This is known to be a little higher end restaurant and is very popular. Try to have a reservation. Parking is on the side of the building or underground under the hotel next door.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emilio800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    70
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

although we arrived late in the afternoon, they still served us. We were very grateful for that;
We had steak, was not great quality but we enjoyed it. Dessert they forgot to serve, i had to ask for it but i didn't mind, we had time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ankie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iceland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nicely done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We came there in the middle of Christmas season and the menu was a very traditional Bavarian/Austrian style with a few excellent twists. The wine list also took notice of the menu and complemented quite nicely the selection.
The staff was very professional and attentive without being overbearing and had good recommendations for both food and wine.
Perhaps not the cheapest dinner experience but not the most expensive either and the quality of the food was excellent so well worth it in our opinion.
Will definitely go there again when given the chance.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoneWolfGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Haven eaten at this restaurant twice, we have had two very different experiences here. The first time, in August, we had no expectations (except the bib gourmand in the Michelin Guide), and were pleasantly surprised by the tafelspitz and the service. Our second visit was last week, but this time we weren't as impressed. The service was slow/non-existant, and allthough the main courses were well-prepared, the desserts were a disappointment: creme brule which was more like a runny custard with a caramelised cover, and served with a nougat ice cream which didn't complement the flavours at all.

Would recommend the savoury dishes, but try to avoid Sundays - these seem to be the busiest.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liv84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All that glitters...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We didn't reserve and still got a table on Sunday. The service is very fair. The food and drinks are in general tasty. To us occurred a peculiar thing: we ordered a duck and got a bird which looked no doubt like a duck but tasted (good) like a chicken :-)! Prices are not the lowest in the branch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sery1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freisinger Hof also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Freisinger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing