We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nicely done” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freisinger Hof

Freisinger Hof
Ranked #118 of 3,510 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Iceland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nicely done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We came there in the middle of Christmas season and the menu was a very traditional Bavarian/Austrian style with a few excellent twists. The wine list also took notice of the menu and complemented quite nicely the selection.
The staff was very professional and attentive without being overbearing and had good recommendations for both food and wine.
Perhaps not the cheapest dinner experience but not the most expensive either and the quality of the food was excellent so well worth it in our opinion.
Will definitely go there again when given the chance.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoneWolfGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    71
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Haven eaten at this restaurant twice, we have had two very different experiences here. The first time, in August, we had no expectations (except the bib gourmand in the Michelin Guide), and were pleasantly surprised by the tafelspitz and the service. Our second visit was last week, but this time we weren't as impressed. The service was slow/non-existant, and allthough the main courses were well-prepared, the desserts were a disappointment: creme brule which was more like a runny custard with a caramelised cover, and served with a nougat ice cream which didn't complement the flavours at all.

Would recommend the savoury dishes, but try to avoid Sundays - these seem to be the busiest.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liv84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All that glitters...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We didn't reserve and still got a table on Sunday. The service is very fair. The food and drinks are in general tasty. To us occurred a peculiar thing: we ordered a duck and got a bird which looked no doubt like a duck but tasted (good) like a chicken :-)! Prices are not the lowest in the branch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sery1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etang la Ville
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We ate at this high quality restaurant twice during our short stay in Munich: it's deservedly very popular and booking is advised. Very good local cuisine. Friendly and helpful staff. Good local wines. You can easily spend quite a lot on a meal in Munich and feel that it was not merited: this restaurant proves that there is good value for money to be had.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardHadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a great restaurant in a great neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

freisinger hof is an Inn and restaurant. they serve austrian and bavarian food. very classy and a good value on top of it! a family owned business and you could tell. very busy place even during the week. we went on a Monday night and it ws jamed. would recomend a reservation. the food was probably one of the bettor meals we had in munich! we stayed at the Sheraton arabellapark and it was a 5 minute cab ride! wish we had more time to go back. service and food impecable!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tmulholland7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freisinger Hof also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Freisinger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing