We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Indian Cuisine”
Review of Palast der Winde

Palast der Winde
Ranked #406 of 3,724 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

When you have had enough schnitzel and bockwurst, this is an excellent place to head. The cooking is not overly adventurous, but offers all the staples of a good Indian restaurant.

The place was filled with a cross-section of customers of German and Indian descent as well as a few tourists which suggests they are doing something right. Service was prompt and polite. We weren't crazy about the vegatable pakoras to start, but my lamb rogan josh tasted properly of fresh lamb and a nice blend of spices.

Among other things, going to this restaurant gets you into a neighborhood of Munich that is very pleasant, but not necessarily on the tourist trail. A different experience -- and why we travel.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dvandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    63
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New management, huge improvements”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I've been to this restaurant several times over the past years and, although it wasn't terrible before, there was a lot of room for improvement. I believe that new management came in about a year ago, and after a return trip more recently, everything was great. The food was perfect, the service was amazing, they squeezed 6 of us in on a Friday with a packed house and no reservation and we ended up having a great night. If you've been in the past and weren't thrilled with the experience, give it another try.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank nolegirl217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Without a doubt, worth a trip”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husand and I were looking up places to eat in Munich and came across this one. We decided to go because of its good reviews and it was definitely worth it. The atmosphere is great, service was wonderful and fast and the food was some of the best we've ever had (vegetable samosas for an appetizer, chicken vindaloo, chicken tikka masala). We will definitely go there again in the future.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SalzburgStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stupendous”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Paramjeet the owner is a gem of a person - his honesty, integrity and jovial personality made the whole visit well worthwhile. The atmosphere, food and service was the best I have have experienced in the whole of Germany.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bettiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Indian Food as it best!”
Reviewed February 22, 2011

If it comes to Indian restaurants we don´t talk about tasteful or "desing-driven-interiors" - but who cares when the food is that delicious? Been there at least 15 times and still go there again and again.. My favourites are palak paneer and vegetable korma - but all options (chicken, lamb etc.) were delicious as well. The staff is very charming, helpful and friendly. This is definately my favourite Indian restaurant in Munich! Better do a reservation - this place is getting more and more popular!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelpussy_minga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palast der Winde also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Palast der Winde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing