We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay for a castle visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our trip to Germany, and overall we enjoyed our experience. I should note that we were backpacking during our trip with no car and it's a steep walk up for nearly a mile with a heavy bag, for anyone in a similar situation. However, it is SUPER close to the castle! We showed up at a busy time, but were helped and shown to our room quickly. I think we were in room 3 (whichever one is the Linderhof room), and really the only noise we heard were people going to/from the shared bathrooms across the hallway. We had private facilities, which were sufficient although the shower was tiny. We had standard German fare for lunch, and tried the quattro formaggi pizza for dinner which wasn't what I was used to in the states - they put the cheeses in their own sections, vs. mixing them altogether.

We followed the advice of another reviewer and didn't get our castle tickets at the bottom; we got the discount voucher from the inn and went to the info desk at the castle which was super easy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 257 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was taught that unless I had nothing nice to say, not to say it at all, but in this case, I will make an exception. I never stayed at this hotel. We arrived at 18:15, exactly 15 minutes after the check-in time of 18:00. No one answered the 'night bell', and no one answered the phone, despite our numerous attempts to reach someone. We had been in a (thankfully minor) car accident, gotten lost, and frankly it was a miracle we were only 15 minutes late. We were charged the 48euro no-show/cancellation fee despite the fact that we were 15 minutes late. Not a soul to be found to help us. What an incredible disappointment and poor showing in hospitality management. Major disappointment. Don't stay here if you think you may be even a minute past 18:00 in arriving, or you'll be out of luck.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Fourturtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed one night to visit the castle. Couldn't have asked for a better location, as you can drive up the hill to the restaurant (if you're staying there), and then it's a 5-7 minute walk up to the castle. We were even able to walk up there at night. The hotel room was small, with the shower and sink in the bedroom, and the toilet in a small closet type room, but it was clean and we slept comfortably. Breakfast was okay, nothing great. Also, the restaurant closes at six, so you need to check in before then as the waiters check you in. Once there, you get a key to come and go as you please.

Room Tip: Only three of the rooms have on suite facilities. The rest are shared.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastwestUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at the restaurant/hotel for one night in October 2013, and had the pleasure to wake up the following day after it snowed!.
First, the restaurant review. Food is good, typical German fair with Frankfurters, Spatzel, potato soup. Also plenty of pizzas. Price is good, service very good and attentive. They can get overwhelmed during lunch time, especially if it rains and visitors to the castle decide to eat there, but overall, good service.

Be aware that the restaurant closes at 6PM.

The hotel - highly recommended if you want to stay near the castle. Parking is free, plus the restaurant gives you a piece of paper which allows you to drive up and down as often as you like, passing walkers & horse drawn carriages when ever.
There is NO check-in desk, so ask for one of the servers to help you.
The rooms are basic but comfortable. Bathroom is ok. Our room was #5 which was next to the office. When we checked in they were kind enough to turn their music down and close the office door. I could smell cigarette smoke from the office which was slightly noticeable in our room, but nothing major.
Outside our window were also a set of bright flood lights aimed at the castle. We were afraid that this would lit up our room at night but when I woke up in the middle of the night, it was pitch dark so they do switch these lights off.
The walls in the room were nicely decorated with old images, but there was some damage to the decorations, presumable caused by previous guests. The bed is a bit of weird contraption plus the sheets were some kind of rough material, which can make for a rough sleeping night, but overall it was ok.
The restaurant closes at 6PM which means there is no room service or anyone else after 6. You are given a key to let yourself in and out of the hotel. Overall, the rooms are great, excellent location (few minutes from the castle) and worth the money.

HINTS AND TIPS - the hotel gives you a discount voucher to the castle. Don't go down to the village to redeem, but go up to the castle and go to the Information desk to buy your tickets.
Breakfast is included and very nice, but go early (8-9am) if you can. There are only 11 rooms so only a limited amount of food will be put out, and not replenished.
LOCK YOUR DOOR when you are in your room. I keep repeating that this is a restaurant with a few rooms, so old style. Our room was next to the office and we had someone walk in without knocking (small child).
Book a room with bathroom, unless you are on a strict budget. This gives you privacy and flexibility.
If you decide to eat at the restaurant, start at around 4.30PM as they close at 6PM, but down in the village and nearby towns are plenty of eating establishments open till late.
There is a vending machine on the floor, but I did not check to see what they sold. (beer?) but if you crave any late night snacks, you have to go to the village below.

Worth a night just to be close to the castle. We got up at 7am to walk in the snow to the castle and beat any crowds. The only thing missing is maybe a tea/coffee maker in the room, but overall a great place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ukaus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We needed lunch following the Neuschwanstein Castle tour and this place is only about 10 minute walking on the way down the mountain. The staff was nice, but very busy. The menus were English and Japanese to assist my travel partners. It was all great and the food was furnished very quickly. I mean really quickly. Maybe 10 minutes after all 5 of us placed completely different orders. I will stop here each time I tour the castle.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We loved the little hotel located 5 minute walk from Neushswanstein castle. it is a 250 year old former home. the 10 bedrooms are all decorated differently and are charming. we had a room without bathroom. it wasn't an issue at all. the facilities were next door. Breakfast was a little lacking. we did not eat in the restaurant, but it is popular with people coming and going from the castle. they have hotspot for internet service, but we couldn't log on.it's a mile up from the street level, so driving past all those people walking was priceless!they give you a special key to the side door so you can come and go as you please after 6pm

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank paulandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived quite late in the evening, to find the hotel completely shut up. Luckily we had read our booking instructions & called the owner to say we would be arriving late. He was very helpful, and explained our key would be in a key safe, which he gave us the code to when we arrived. In complete honesty, our first impressions of the place were not great. Firstly we couldn't find it! The hotel is not signposted anywhere in the village & even when you find it it doesn't say the name anywhere on the building! That said, the location is fabulous for access to the castle! We were also disappointed to discover that they stop serving food at 6pm, as do ALL of the other hotels in the village!! There is only one restaurant open in the evenings until 10pm, which overlooks a beautiful lake at the bottom of the village. Our room in the hotel was fine, it had a private toilet & a shower cubicle in the bedroom, a little strange, but hey! The hotel itself is a little dated, but has great Bavarian charm. We actually warmed to this place a lot during our short stay. The hotel offers free parking, and allowed us to leave our car there even after we had checked out. We actually ate lunch here before leaving Neuschwanstein, and it was lovely! All in all, it's a basic friendly Bavarian hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrietNoelHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
#5 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein

Address: Neuschwansteinstr. 17, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range: $98 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein Hotel Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing