We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and Cozy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
1 review
“Small and Cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

My husband, a friend of his, me, and our infant son all stayed in one room. I feel bad because my husband's friend basically got the floor. I let my husband make the plans and he thought double bed meant two beds. *facepalm* Even still, the rooms are very small, but it is a B&B style. It took us a while to find the place. A very nice German told us that we had to drive up a pedestrian only path to get there. The food is good. If you get the chance, get some of their bavarian snowballs in the front kiosk. The best part is it's 2 skips and a hop away from the castle.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smurf_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    88
    39
    11
    10
See reviews for
64
109
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SPB
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

We have stayed at the Schlossrestaurant late April.
The room was cozy, comfortable and clean.
The restaurant close at 6:00 pm. Because we could arrive later, we have received instructions on how to be in this case. The lady was waiting for us and gave the key for our room. Check in we did next morning. The lady offered us dinner and we had fruits in our room as a compliment.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
The included breakfast was good and was served at 8 am.
The Schlossrestaurant hotel is located at the foot of the castle Neuschwanstein, If you stay here you can drive up and down the road anytime (you will get a sign for your car) and park just below the castle. If you are asked before you get up there, you should say you have booking at the Schlossrestaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpbTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

First I didn't like how it smells.
Then we got the room with shared bathroom and for me it was terrible.
We arrived in 9 p.m. and all was closed even their restaurant.
My towel was dirty in yellow- brown something...
But nice location ;)
Breakfast was usual. Eggs, bread, meat, cheese and flakes.
If I will be there once more I will take a room with private bath :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneTarasova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagold,
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

We traveled with our children and grandchild and stayed at the Schlossrestaurant just below the castle. The staff was friendly, eager to please and informative.
The hotel lies just above where the horse carriages leave off the visitors who opt to take the ride instead of walk the restricted road up to the castle. If you stay here you get to drive up the restricted road and park just below the castle. They will give you a sign for your car so you can drive up without the police stopping you. If police stop you before you get up there just say you are booked in as guests at the Schlossrestaurant.
I was a bit concerned when I saw a set of floodlights to light the castle at night, were situated directly by our bedroom window. It was not a problem though. They had room darkening shades and we found that if we drew the shades and pulled the curtains in front of the shades that it was dark enough to sleep without a problem.

The price is right for this hotel as it was half the price of the others in the area and situated right below castle Neuschwanstein. They do have a website but our particular rooms were not on the site. I have blogged extensively on it with pictures and our room numbers if you'd like to go out to www.culinaryadventureswith.me



.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi_and_mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

A very good location. Almost at the foot of the castle. When you realise the climb to visit the castle, you are very pleased with your choice of hotel. They have their own parking. We had room 11, on the second floor. Very clean, very quiet. Breakfast was included and was ok. True, the restaurant close at 6:00. Knowing that in advance, we had a good lunch and were satisfied with sandwiches and a bottle of wine bought along the way.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acajou04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

We found the setting superb, and very laid back. This is not the place for those who expect to be waited on 24/7 nor for those who expect to have every amenity. We had the place basically to ourselves after hours, and had a great time wandering around the area sans crowds. The hotel is cozy and the rooms were comfortable and very clean. You can drive up and down the road anytime, though be aware that the road is full of walkers and horse carts during tour hours, and one must allow time for a slow, careful drive. Staff was helpful and the included breakfast was good. We would love to go back again.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasCountryNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2007

Upon arrival we had a hard time finding the place with all the people walking about, finally we realized we have to drive up the mountain around all the people trying to get to the castle. The drive up was terrible. Once at the top you have to find a waitress to help you check in, we finally found a waitress that spoke very little english but enough to get our room. The is really not a hotel but a restraunt with rooms above it. Very close to the Castle- only thing nice about this place. Restraunt closes at 1800, they get rude around 1730, so order early. The rooms were nice, we had 2 rooms, kids room had TV with cable- it worked. Our room TV did not work, but noboby around to help or to call!! And to top all this off is our windows to our room faced the 3 giant haligen lights that lit up the castle at night. We cut our visit short, not worth staying. I recommend stay in Fussen or Schwangau.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
#5 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein

Property: Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Address: Neuschwansteinstr. 17, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein Hotel Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing