We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Schlosshotel Lisl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schlosshotel Lisl
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Hohenfels, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent two nights here and enjoyed our time. There are were not many other places open on Friday when we arrived, but the shops and restaurants were mostly open on Saturday. The view in the winter with the snow was breathtaking! The hotel breakfast room offers a stunning view of Neuschwanstein. The hotel was very clean and the room as had was very comfortable. Breakfast is 12 euros extra per person, which was a little overpriced in my opinion. However, they do offer more than the typical German breakfast. The other restaurant in the hotel is also expensive, but everything we tried was very good. Only downside was the lack of wifi availability. You have to pay for 2 hours at a time and have to sit in the lobby to use it. That shouldn't be enough to deter anyone from staying at the hotel though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    58
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
68
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel. The rooms were very well appointed with beautiful and very spacious bathrooms. The bed was very comfortable. Everything was very clean and lovely. The breakfast is extra but only 12 Euros and very good value for money with a personal omelette chef. Great location in the middle of the village and we got a free voucher for entry into the Kings of Bavaria museum. We booked at the last moment to stay here and got a great rate - excellent value for money. Tip: Book your ticket for the castles on-line the day before and just collect them at the ticket office.

Room Tip: You can pay more for a view of the castles but all the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fussen is a beautiful place and specially hohenschwangau is extremely fascinating. The hotel is located in the middle of all the attractions there, lake, road up to the castle, a great view of the castle. Staff are nice, but not all speak english, nicely dressed in bavarian costume. I found the rooms fascinating from the inside. Food was not up to expectations. Worst thing about hohensschwangau is that everything closes up so early, so we couldnt get dinner at 9 anywhere, even at the hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are have good mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fahmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Thhis hotel is dated but that was part of the charm in this lovely little town.

The good stuff: our room had a beautiful view of Hohenschwangau Castle, it was clean and comfortable.

The not so good stuff: very small bathroom, wifi only worked in lobby, and for 2 hours at a time, no secure place to leave our bags while out exploring on the day of check out - we had to leave them in the open by reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
379 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

One of the most popular attractions in all of Germany (and Europe) is Schloss Neuschwanstein, which is the castle that Walt Disney used to model Sleeping Beauty's and Disneyland's castle after. The town this is located in is Hohenschwangau, which has only a very limited selection of hotels available directly in town within walking distance of its famous landmark, as well as the other castle it contains, Schloss Hohenschwangau.

We decided to go with Hotel Lisl for this trip for 2 nights, and we were very happy with this choice (for the most part). We reserved a corner room, which gives a view of both of the town's majestic castles. The room was very spacious and clean. The housekeeping staff did a good job in the morning of taking care of the room. Unfortunately, the only negative of the room is that there was no free Wi-Fi, which shouldn't be the case in the year 2012.

There is also a restaurant in the hotel, although we didn't get the chance to try it during our stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When checking in, they even give you vouchers to get discounts on castle tours and to get into the Museum of the Bavarian Kings for free.

The only negative we found was when we returned late one night. We didn't return until 2:30 AM and the front doors were locked. There was no way into the hotel even with our room key. There was a sign up saying that someone would be back shortly, but that wasn't the case. Eventually 2 other guests came down to the lobby and saw us and tried to let us in, but they couldn't figure out how to open the door either (so they were trapped inside the hotel). They eventually tracked down the one staff member on duty, who was busy vacuuming hallways and then we finally got inside. I'd say this is something inexcusable for a hotel. There should always be someone at the front desk to help out, especially if the front doors are going to be locked. A guest should never have no way back in to the hotel. And for the one staff member present to be vacuuming at that time of night instead of waiting at the front desk makes absolutely no sense. So, when visiting make sure you're back in your room at a decent hour or it may become an extra long night for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed one night to tour the castles the following day. We made a reservation for a basic room at the last minute (115 euro). We arrived at about 10 p.m. The front desk clerk was friendly and polite and because we probably looked road weary, threw in free breakfast, which was a pleasant surprise. The room was very modest and small, as was the bathroom. The style hadn't been updated in quite some time. The staff was polite, but unremarkable. But what made the place special was the view. Our room looked directly out to a castle view, which was lit up and beautiful under a full moon. It was mesmerizing and worth the stay alone.

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view room, Neuschwanstein is best if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night to see the castles and found this hotel the day we got in. The receptionist was very helpful and nice. Parking was free and internet costs 2 euro for 1.5 hours and you have to be in the lobby area. The breakfast was very good, omelettes, bread, eggs, cereal, juice, coffee, meats, cheese, yogurt and the view of the castle is great while your eating. The town of Hohenschwangau closes down early, so get something from the market if you want anything late, like beer/wine/snacks, other wise the vending machines are the only options. We would reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting the castles or the area looking for a comfortable and quiet place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side facing the castle have an amazing view from the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idaho2theWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
#4 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
#5 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Lisl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Lisl

Property: Schlosshotel Lisl
Address: Neuschwansteinstrasse 1-3, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Schlosshotel Lisl 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schlosshotel Lisl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Lisl Hohenschwangau
Schlosshotel Lisl Hotel Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing