We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant review”
Review of Schlosshotel Lisl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schlosshotel Lisl
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We didn't stay at the hotel but went to the restaurant for dinner after having visited the castles. The view of the two castles is breathtaking on the terrace which is the main reason we chose this restaurant. The food was also pretty good though nothing exceptional. The bad part was the service: slow, unfriendly for half the staff and rather unprofessional (we had to ask for menus after being ignored for 15 minutes while guests arriving after we did were taken care of before us, then for the wine list, then we were brought butter but the bread was forgotten, etc.). Pretty surprising for a place recommended by the Michelin guide. Prices were average.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Nitchy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Schlosshotel Lisl
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 137 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2011

Did not stay at the hotel but joined others for drinks and snacks after the castle tour. It was a nice, shady area to sit in the summer and enjoy beverages while watching the pedestrian and horse-drawn carriage traffic. Service was prompt and friendly. The food was delicious and the drinks well rendered. A great little patio to sit and sip while waiting on the tour shuttle next door or relaxing post-tour. Prices were about average for a heavily touristed area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShowMeVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were celebrating wedding aniversary and our bedroom was very romantic: two windows, two castles! Our bedroom was in the corner of the main building, on the highest floor. Unforgetable.
Just one negative point: the staff was very rude.

Room Tip: There is no lift on the main building.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CintiaNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This is more a review of the Main restaurant in the hotel which looked very nice but was spoilt with the rude and high handed behaviour of the waiter . We were the only Asian tourists in the hotel restaurant . Description of waiter is loud , condescending and requires training in treating patrons . It's shameful and I wouldn't recommend Asians to go there . Food is pricey and not worth the cost . Dont bother going to the restaurant

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lea_Ma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Wonderful location, right next to hiking path up to Neuschwanstein Castle. Across from Hohenschwangau Castle. Our room was a little outdated but fine. Food was fine. Wifi in lobby and staff will loan a laptop to check your emails. Nice place to stay check out the castles, then relax for the evening. Hike up to Neuschwanstein is a decent workout. As you are leaving the tour, explore down a hallway to an outdoor space with SPECTACULAR views and photo ops.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grayslkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This hotel was perfectly located. It was short walk from the lovely Alpsee Lake and directly across from hohenschwangau castle. The area is very very populated with tourists but once the castles close the place becomes a lot quieter and nice to walk around. The room was very pleasant and our window view was amazing. The bed was big and comfy. We went to the restaurant in the hotel but did not like the menu of pidgeon etc. Maybe we are too British! Overall it is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireyelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hotel is situated at the foot of the two hills which are each topped with the Neuschwanstein Castle and the Hohenschwangau Castle. Rooms were nice by European standards and the views were spectacular. Request a corner room and you can see both castles from your room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust_FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
#4 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
#5 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
245 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Lisl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Lisl

Address: Neuschwansteinstrasse 1-3, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range: $132 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schlosshotel Lisl 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schlosshotel Lisl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Lisl Hohenschwangau
Schlosshotel Lisl Hotel Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing