We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for visiting Schloss Neuschwanstein”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very good for visiting Schloss Neuschwanstein”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The position of this hotel is excellent for visiting Neuschwanstein castle. Although it is only 300 metres away from the ascent to the castle, it is just off the main road where the hoardes of tourists come and go.
Also, if you don't arrive by car, as we did, it is a leisurely walk in the countryside away from a very pretty lake. Also, you can get here by bus from the nearest railway station, and the bus stop is not more than 100 metres away, so excellent connection if you depend on public transport
Breakfast is good but nothing special, just cheese and ham but no eggs or any other warm dishes.
Room was very clean but no Wifi in the whole hotel; it did not bother us as we had no PC with us, but bear it in mind if this is an important issue for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sascha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    117
    57
    11
    8
See reviews for
46
125
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

When you can say "we had a view of the castle that inspired Disney from our balcony", do you really need more information than that?

Everything was a short walk away. Yeah, some is a bit over-touristy but it's not that bad at all. There are only a few restaurants open late so you'll want to keep an eye on the clock.

Still, it was inexpensive, clean, comfortable, perfectly located with a good breakfast and easy parking. The ONLY negative was that there was no WiFi or internet access of any sort. But we were only staying one day so it wasn't that bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djplong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is located ideally about 300 meters from the Hohenschwangau bus stop, so it is really close to the Neuschwanstein castle ticket center. It is more like a guest house, nothing super fancy, but the rooms are really clean, the views are amazing, and the price is the lowest you can find in that area. There is no internet connection or TV, but since we were only spending a day there, that did not matter. It was convenient to get up early and go buy the tickets to the castle, later in the day the queue was really long, so staying here helped us avoid that and gave more flexibility. One of the staff members who greeted us was really helpful and friendly. The breakfast is nothing elaborate, but fresh and good. Would definitely stay there if we go there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a no-frills budget hotel that's in a prime location in Hohenschwangau. It's not on the "main drag" but is less than a five-minute walk to the bustling main street. The walk to the ticket office is probably about 7 minutes, and the walk to the bus pickup for Neuschwanstein is about 10 minutes.

This hotel is good for travelers who are looking for clean, inexpensive accommodations. There are no televisions in the rooms, and there is no wifi. The only toiletries provided are a packet or two of a dual body/hair wash. A hair dryer is not provided. But our room and en suite bathroom were clean, the towels and linens were clean, and the beds were decently comfortable. You can park at the hotel, and the hostess/owner let us park there the day we checked out, too. (You must check out after breakfast and vacate your room by 10:30 a.m., and since we planned to stick around for a few more hours, the owner allowed us to park in the hotel's lot even after we'd checked out.)

Breakfast was adequate. Not spectacular, but it sufficed. On offer was coffee, juice, one type of cereal (muesli), white rolls, two types of cold meats, two types of cold cheeses, prepackaged crackers, three types of jellies, butter and honey.

All in all, we had a fine stay here. All we wanted was a clean place to sleep that was in a good location and was relatively inexpensive, and this hotel fit the bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelReviewer050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
292 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

it was very quiet here in June on a Friday night. The whole place shut down at about 9.30pm including restaurants so if looking for more to do you could walk along a dark bicycle path to Fussen or get a taxi.(it's only a few km away) Fine for us as we were looking for our castle view which we got and it was magnificent!!!The room had a huge window so although we couldn't see the view without going onto the terrace we did have a lovely view of trees. all very calming........Service was very efficient and reception was kind. Breakfast is adequate though not particularly varied-cheese, ham, one type of bread rolls, crispbreads, butter and jam. But it was German. The toiletries was just a packet of shampoo/gel but the bathroom was OK. What a great place!!!

Room Tip: castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newgallowaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a traditional little hotel at the foot of the castles in Hohenschwangau.
The rooms were warm and comfortable and breakfast was very tasty.
No WiFi here but for our one night stay that wasn't a problem.
Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of Neuschwanstein!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulNBeckTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Basic but totally clean room in great area. We got the room with the castle view and balcony in the annex, and it was totally quiet room. No tv, basic breakfast, but the prices are good. If you need luxury then go for more stars.

It is close to ticket office so you will beat the crowds in the morning, then head in front of hotel next door for the bus to castle. We first went to Marien Brucke as we had bit more time before visiting time for Castle stated on the ticket.

Visited last summer so the castle was in scafoldings, but still it was breathtaking

Helpful?
Thank sarayka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
#4 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#5 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Schlossblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Schlossblick

Property: Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Address: Schwangauer Str. 7, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garni Schlossblick 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garni Schlossblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Schlossblick Hotel
Garni Schlossblick Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing