We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Washington Island, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The place to stay!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place is so under-rated! The view of the castle at night is stunning when walking op to this hotel. The rooms are clean and the food during the day is wonderful! The hotel staff is courteous and professional

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    117
    57
    11
    8
See reviews for
46
125
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

There are only two things to recommend this hotel: the rates (cheap) and the location (right beside Neuschwanstein Castle). Parking and breakfast were also included, though breakfast wasn't very good... There weren't many choices and what was there wasn't fresh: no fruit, stale rolls, etc. The room was clean, but smelled of cigarette smoke when we first arrived, even though the hotel is apparently non-smoking... To be fair, after we aired it out for a few hours it was fine. The room itself was clean but very basic: a bed, desk, chair, and that's it. No TV. However, it had a nice walk-out patio with a video of the mountains and castle. The staff were also very surly and their attitudes indicated that serving you was a chore. Overall, it was fine for a cheap, one-night stay close to the castle, but I wouldn't have wanted to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho, USA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is a good value, especially when traveling with a family and needing more space. We got two rooms for the 4 of us and we were on the 3rd floor with a balcony. From the balcony we could see Neuschwanstain Castle (although it was covered in scaffoldings for maintenance).

It is a very basic hotel with no TV, internet, phone, or hair dryer in the room. The bathroom is tiny (I would compare it to a camper bathroom), but the sink is in the room, so that helps. The floor and beds creak and squeak with every motion.

The breakfast was a good simple breakfast with one kind of cereal, one type of roll, meat, cheese and juice.

It was frustrating that when they refreshed the room our 2nd day, they took the soap and shampoo from the shower and didn't give us new soap or shampoo...argh.

All in all, good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravelers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Spent a night here on June 20. The room was basic but very clean comfortable and spacious. The bed was very comfortable for a good night's sleep.

We were fortunate enough to have one of the 1st floor rooms in the back block that has a view to Neuschwanstein Castle from the balcony - As mentioned previously the castle is undergoing renovation and that side of the castle is shrouded in scaffolding, but it's still a great view.

Breakfast is typical German fare - plenty of delicious German breads, wurst and cheeses, as well as muesli, yoghurts and the like.

I can't remember the Hostesses name, and I think owner of the hotel, but she was very helpful and friendly

Hohenschwangau is a beautiful village, very picturesque and a photographers dream location. Everything is within walking distance from the hotel - it's a short walk to the ticket office and the 2 Castles, plan your day well and get an early start to do both castles and some of the surrounding area.

For Dinner: there's great German food and beer to be had at the Pub just down the road from the ticket office - They make a mean Pork Knuckle with sauerkraut.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We booked two double bed rooms for one night. Very functional and spacious rooms with no frills (no TV, no AC, only soap and towels in the bathroom). We stayed in the annex building, ground floor. The walkout to yard from our room gave us a great view of the Neuschwanstein Castle (unfortunately scaffoldings covered majority of the castle's view from the hotel - that was a bummer).

Since we notified them we will be arriving late they left a note at the doorway for us to pick up our keys from a nearby hotel.

Hostess Sabina was very friendly in the morning, speaks English well. The breakfast buffet was minimal but does the job. My wife is on Gluten Free diet and Sabina got her immediately GF bread from a nearby hotel. We were very thankful of her service. If you notify in advance of your dietary needs they will try to plan and accommodate you.

If you are driving you can park on-site even after you check-out after the breakfast, it allows you to tour the castles and then drive to your next destination.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHappyDWorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location and friendly staff, but the bed was a bit creaky.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MarkPDowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AF, UT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Garni Schlossblick May 29 and we were pleased with all aspects. The hotel is right down the street from the ticket center for both castles. It was on a quiet street with a view of the Neuschwanstein castle from most of the rooms. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was moderate in size for Europe. It was very clean but modest in decoration and furnishings which is reflected in its very reasonable cost. The free breakfast buffet was typical of Europe with some cheeses, rolls, jams, yogurt, museli, etc. It was typical of the area in that the floors are wooden and do creak a little bit. Free parking. The lady who manned the desk was very nice and helpful. We liked the large lobby area with lots of tables and chairs and couches in which to relax and even play some cards, etc. All in all a good comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dltaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
#4 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Schlossblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Schlossblick

Property: Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Address: Schwangauer Str. 7, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garni Schlossblick 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Garni Schlossblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Schlossblick Hotel
Garni Schlossblick Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing