We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, but rooms just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good location, but rooms just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

The hotel is in a great location and in 5 minute walking distance from the castle ticket office. The lobby windows afford a lovely view of the Neuschwanstein Castle and mountains around.The room was just average. It could also have been because we got the last room left with them due to our last minute booking. We stayed there one night. The room heating system and breakfast were not very great. There was no TV in the room, nor wi-fi. Therefore personally for me, staying there more than one night may become boring. As we stayed at their hotel, they gave us a discount coupon which helped us get a discount on ticket's price for the castles.

Room Tip: Book early and room in front side give a lovely view of the Neuschwanstein Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer_mumbai1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    117
    54
    9
    8
See reviews for
46
123
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

I booked two rooms at this hotel for one night. We were traveling with our adult children & two grandchildren. The people at this hotel are so wonderful. They will do anything to make your stay comfortable. When we checked in the lady reduced the price they had quoted on the room. The room reminded me of a farm house that had been converted into the hotel. We did have separate "single" beds but the character of the hotel was awesome. It was more like staying at someone home. The picture attached is from our private balcony and was a total surprise. Our daughter room was along the back but that room had enough beds to sleep five or six people. Breakfast was included and when we came down in the morning our name was on our table. They had many choices and everyone was happy. We walked to dinner and shops. I wish we would have had more time here.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel is very reasonably priced and in a good location within easy walking distance of both castles. We stayed in the guesthouse behind the main building. The room was quite small but very clean. We had a balcony with a super view of Neuschwanstein Castle. The breakfast was a bit lacking. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timberbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLYMPIA, WA USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We booked this hotel through an on-line agency and were pleased with what we found once we arrived. The setting is bucolic. Our room had a view of the mountains and Neuschwanstein Castle, and our misty morning walk in the surrounding area brought us face to face with grazing cows wearing the iconic cowbells one thinks of for Bavaria. The only challenge we faced when arriving at the hotel was that the office was closed during mid-day. We had tickets to vist the castle for the last entrance of the day, 3:30, and the hotel office didn't open until 3:00. But not to worry, once open we were able to just drop our bags off and return after our castle tour to check in. The customer service was great - helpful with good suggestions for dinner; our room was clean and comfortable; and the buffet breakfast was adequate. We would definitely recommend this hotel for those wanting a good room for a good price in a very touristy (thanks to the castles) town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

If you want a clean basic room this is it! No tv, no refrigerator in room but backyard grass patio with the view of the castle was great. It was great to just leisurely walk around the town and try several different restaurants. Bonus: if you stay at a local hotel the castle tickets are greatly discounted, saved 25 euro on 4 tickets to the castles.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TirelessTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was the least expensive hotel w parking we could find in the village. The room w balcony was fine. Comfortable bed. The breakfast was good. Plenty of free parking. 3 minute walk to the ticket office, so you beat the crowds. The room was very quiet at night. No internet.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoeLikesBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

The room is simple, but quiet and comfy. The price was right. We walked to the castles. One member of the staff recommended a walk around a nearby lake (not the one by the castles, I forget the name...just ask). It was awesome. A few miles' walk around the lake, great views, restaurants, water fun. I highly recommend if you have the time. The restaurants near the castle were ...eh. The hostess/desk mgr is most helpful and answers all your questions. Get a discount at castles for mentioning that you are staying nearby. breakfast was simple but ample and fresh enough. I would give it a C+ when comparing to other nice places we've been to. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky-McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
#4 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Schlossblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Schlossblick

Property: Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Address: Schwangauer Str. 7, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garni Schlossblick 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garni Schlossblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Schlossblick Hotel
Garni Schlossblick Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing