We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

A beautiful chalet style building with excellent food and not overly expensive. Pleasant staff in traditional Bavarian dress and views to die for.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MG180man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    95
    61
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“smelly food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

food was not good, pizza smelt bad, two of our friends from the group had diarhea afterwards
in fact the location was very near to the schloss, but they have to be more careful with their kitchen.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank hguvenir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Restaurant with some guest rooms - hints and tips included”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at the restaurant/hotel for one night in October 2013, and had the pleasure to wake up the following day after it snowed!.
First, the restaurant review. Food is good, typical German fair with Frankfurters, Spaetzel, potato soup. Also plenty of pizzas. Price is good, service very good and attentive. They can get overwhelmed during lunch time, especially if it rains and visitors to the castle decide to eat there, but overall, good service.

Be aware that the restaurant closes at 6PM.

The hotel - highly recommended if you want to stay near the castle. Parking is free, plus the restaurant gives you a piece of paper which allows you to drive up and down as often as you like, passing walkers & horse drawn carriages when ever.
There is NO check-in desk, so ask for one of the servers to help you.
The rooms are basic but comfortable. Bathroom is ok. Our room was #5 which was next to the office. When we checked in they were kind enough to turn their music down and close the office door. I could smell cigarette smoke from the office which was slightly noticeable in our room, but nothing major.
Outside our window were also a set of bright flood lights aimed at the castle. We were afraid that this would lit up our room but when I woke up in the middle of the night, it was pitch dark so they do switch these lights off.
The walls in the room were nicely decorated with old images, but there was some damage to the decorations, presumable caused by previous guests. The bed is a bit of weird contraption plus the sheets were some kind of rough material, which can make for a rough sleeping night, but overall it was ok.
The restaurant closes at 6PM which means there is no room service or anyone else after 6. You are given a key to let yourself in and out of the hotel. Overall, the rooms are great, excellent location (few minutes from the castle) and worth the money.

HINTS AND TIPS - the hotel gives you a discount voucher to the castle. Don't go down to the village to redeem, but go up to the castle and go to the Information desk to buy your tickets.
Breakfast is included and very nice, but go early (8-9am) if you can. There are only 11 rooms so only a limited amount of food will be put out, and not replenished.
LOCK YOUR DOOR when you are in your room. I keep repeating that this is a restaurant with a few rooms, so old style. Our room was next to the office and we had someone walk in without knocking (small child).
Book a room with bathroom, unless you are on a strict budget. This gives you privacy and flexibility.
If you decide to eat at the restaurant, start at around 4.30PM as they close at 6PM, but down in the village and nearby towns are plenty of eating establishments open till late.
There is a vending machine on the floor, but I did not check to see what they sold. (beer?) but if you crave any late night snacks, you have to go to the village below.

Worth a night just to be close to the castle. We got up at 7am to walk in the snow to the castle and beat any crowds. The only thing missing is maybe a tea/coffee maker in the room, but overall a great place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ukaus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rawalpindi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What review please ? We were hungry !!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The atmosphere is romantic. Food is reasonably priced. The fish dishes are especially good. Eat while waiting for your group's turn to the castle

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Rooms”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel (and restaurant) is located only about 300 yards from the castle itself. You get to drive up (a challenge, as you must weave between walkers and the horse-drawn carriages) which saves 90% of a 40 minute walk.

The rooms are nice but basic, though there is a canopy over the bed, for what that is worth. The bed was very comfy, the shower worked well. The size of your room can vary with the luck of the draw. Ours was very small; the others traveling with us had larger rooms, with couches. I believe you can book smaller rooms with a shared bathroom in the hallway.

Breakfast is included and it is generous and tasty. Also, you get a minor discount on tickets for the castle, and you can pick them up at the castle instead of down in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein also viewed

Hohenschwangau, Swabia
Hohenschwangau, Swabia
 
Hohenschwangau, Swabia
 

Been to Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing