We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! ”
Review of Hotel Villa Ludwig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We checked in early, very helpful and friendly. Sauna and steam room were excellent after a long day visiting castles, although there is no hot tub. The room was lovely, big beds. Expensive but worth it for a special occasion. Breakfast was delicious, vast range available.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 475 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed for only 2nites here in early April. On arrival we were cheerfully greeted by Sabina. Checking in was a breeze, she explained in detail everything we need to know about the hotel & its services which includes of course, the booking for the tour of the two castles, which did go on to book for us. She helped us with our luggages to our room, easily accessible via connected walkway from the reception to the building next door which led us straight to a lift landing. We booked the Romantic Suite and got the Lohengrin room 205..the room was really dreamy.. Spacious, clean, with separate bathroom and toilet, counter with minibar & tea/coffee making facilities, huge wardrobe, a tub by the bed, a seating area & a balcony..the very best part of it all..the room has a direct view of the castle. At breakfast we were greeted by another staff Sindy, she hand us our tour tickets telling us all the details about it even before we asked. She also helped me with my train tickets having them printed out, patiently helping me with the translation as it was in German. Sabina, Sindy and the rest of the handful of staffs that I have met during my stay all of them have been amazing and really is the best part about staying here(well..besides the rooms..of course)..on the day that we leave..our taxi driver divert our attention to Sindy who was standing by the driveway..smiling and waving us goodbye..in all my years of traveling..I have never had the pleasure of having a reception staff actually came out of the way just to see us off..it was a short stay..and fairy tales have to end..but it left us with a feeling that we will never forget..

Room Tip: Spend a little more get the Romantic Suite..its worth it!! room 205!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RULIZAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have been in the Hotel Business for many years. Villa Ludwig knows what they are doing. The staff is all about its guests and making sure their needs are met. The Hotel is in a Great location and is very charming. We stayed in the TANNHAUSER Comfort Suite for 2 nights. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. Villa Ludwig Suite Hotel is a must for all travelers in this part of Germany.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I found Villa Ludwig on trip advisor with excellent recommendations so we took a chance and booked. We were so glad we did! As soon as we entered, we were welcomed by Sindy, a wonderful receptionist who had our room ready early and was full of all the information we needed before we needed to ask her the questions! She was able to book tickets to the castle tours right at the reception desk which saved us a lot of time in the very long lines. Tickets were delivered to our table at breakfast the next morning. What a great service!

The hotel is small and does not have a huge lobby but we didn't miss it. The rooms made up for it is size and comfort. We had a balcony which looked out on Castle Neuschwanstein. In the evening, Sabine, the night porter, recommended and booked reservations for us at restaurants in the area which was also a terrific help to us. I should note that the hotel has a spa which were did not get a chance to use because we had so many other things to do.

We were a 5 minutes walk away from both castles and the museum of the Bavarian Kings. We were delighted with the location, the room and the hospitality. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to any of my friends or family!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodyEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I booked the villa ludwig hotel during a 3 day stay in Southern Bavaria, Germany in August 2013. I was taking my girlfriend on a weekend away to propose. The hotel itself was immaculate and the staff very friendly and helpful. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay there was wonderful. It's within a stones throw from Neuschawanstein and Hohenschwangau castles and served as an ideal location for travelling around the local area. I fully recommend this hotel and hope to return again in a few years.

Room Tip: We stopped in the Tristan & Isolde room which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent a wonderful 3 nights at Villa Ludwig in December 2013. What a treat! From the moment we arrived on a dark cold night, we were warmly welcomed by the wonderful receptionist. She offered to make restaurant reservations, and purchase castle tour tickets for us. She was always full of good advice on things to do etc. The hotel is fairly new, and upmarket. We were shown to our lovely spacious room, which was divided so that we had a separate sleeping space to our 2 children, who were delighted with there own flat screen TV. The room was beautifully furnished, and the bathroom was very luxurious. Breakfasts were a treat - a large selection of fresh fruits, cereals, pastries, juices etc and then eggs to order. All served in a cosy dining area. There was even an afternoon teatime, although unfortunately we were always too late for the snacks.... It was a delightful stay, and well worth spending a few relaxing days in the little town, rather than rushing in and out on a bus tour. The sister hotel, Hotel Mueller, had a very nice traditional restaurant, were we ate on two of the nights. Thank you Villa Ludwig for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TracyJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We arrived at the hotel in the early evening and were greeted with a very helpful member of staff who spoke great English (luckily!). She couldn't have been more helpful - she booked us tickets for the castle, advised us of what restaurants were open and when and even offered to make reservations for us. Probably the most helpful receptionist I've encountered!!
The room was beautiful with a view of the castle. Great features such as a coffee machine, corner bath, and chocolate on the pillows! We had booked the cheapest suite but it was very spacious with a separate lounge. Extremely clean - felt like brand new.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and eggs cooked to order (including a runny boiled egg!).
The hotel is fairly pricey and we were sad we didn't have more time to spend in the hotel to enjoy the spa and afternoon tea etc.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sallysteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
624 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#4 of 40 in Fussen
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ludwig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ludwig

Address: Colomanstr. 12, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range: $184 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ludwig 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Culture & romance near the Neuschwanstein Castle The new romantic hotel Villa Ludwig is located in the quiet, fairy-tale setting of Hohenschwangau right at the foot of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau Castles, just 3 km from Füssen. This fine Bavarian boutique hotel is located directly across the border from Tyrol and will enchant you with its sophisticated architecture and romantic ambiance. You will truly feel like a royal as you spend romantic and carefree days so close to Neuschwanstein Castle. The local Allgäu region is a recreational paradise with its clear, tranquil lakes, rolling hills and spectacular mountains. A combination of world-famous cultural, recreational and natural experiences makes it an unforgettable experience. Since summer 2017 you can also rent our exclusive chalet for 4-8 people, ideal for your special family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Ludwig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing