We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise Balcony Proposal!”
Review of Hotel Villa Ludwig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Surprise Balcony Proposal!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I made a surprise proposal to my wife on the balcony of a top-floor romantic suite with a view of Neuschwanstein Castle. The staff showed us the room and helped us capture our private moment on camera. Like most hotels in the area, they arrange the tickets for our next morning visit to Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles. The car park garage is clean and easily accessible.

Due to the low-density design, the hotel is really quiet and ensures privacy. I would really like to thank the staff and I'm glad I proposed here!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neomarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    55
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
145
253
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel was really excellent, rooms were spacious and clean, bathrooms as well. We were four and shared a suite and it had enough room for everybody. It also comes with an excellent view of Neuschwanstein, which made it seem like breakfast really came with a view. The lady running the hotel was really nice and helpful. The hotel booked our tickets and saved us a lot of time from lining up and all that. Although I wouldn't go back to any of the castles, another night at this lovely b&b would be great!

Free wi-fi is an added bonus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piaroj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We chose Villa Ludwig by good reviews in booking.com site and didn't mistake. Everything was excellent. The room, bathroom were comfortable and clean. The staff is very friendly and attentive. We arrived in the evening and we were proposed to reserve the tickets for visiting castles for suitable for us time next day. We got the tickets at the breakfast. It is very pleasant service! We got a free car parking as well. Excellent location, near to both castles and the Alpsee. We had a good rest, thanks Villa Ludwig. We highly recommend this hotel.
Russia, Moscow, 1-4 November. Mr. and Mrs. Levshin

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Loved my stay here! Our deck looked right out to Neuschwanstein castle, and the hotel is somewhat on the edge of the "busy section" so it's quieter than the other selections :) The hotel staff gave us all of the "instructions" we needed to catch a horse drawn carriage ride out to the castle, and the hotel stay came with a discount at a local restaurant! There's also a private parking garage underneath the beautiful homey hotel with easy access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wonderful spot to stay, although not a full hotel as their is no dinner service. We didn't mind as there were a couple of options nearby. The parking is secure and underground, the rooms are clean and spacious, great bath...(rare in europe) and incredibly helpful staff. Breakfast was perfect!
Sabina is so helpful.. we recommend this spot to stay for sure..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. It started when my friend and I arrive late to the hotel. We were put in the "Romantic" suite, but then changed to another normal room. The room was huge, beds were a little firm for my American preference but we're ok. The bathrooms were spacious and clean with nice appointments. Underground parking was nice also & led straight up to the room with an elevator.
Hotel receptionists were so helpful it was like having our own concierge. They made reservations at the restaurants & booked our castle tours & had the tickets picked up and hand delivered which was a HUGE plus after seeing the loooong lines at the ticket building.
The breakfast was amazing! They had bacon & eggs which is hard to find in a European hotel buffet. A wide array of breakfast items and fresh juices.
In the evening they serve wine and beer along with light drink snacks. You can sit in the elegant dining area or on their very nice patio with a view of castle.
Location couldn't be any better! We were at the base of the Neuschwanstein castle & just outside of the main restaurant/hotel zone in Hohenschwangau which was nice considering this area gets mobbed during the afternoons but becomes a ghost town during the evenings.
They have a sister-hotel/restaurant nearby (see Alpenstuben review) for dinner.
The rates are a little higher than most hotels in the area but all things considered, it's the best value for the area if you take into account location, service and room quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redtraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

What an amazing place. We stayed here for two nights and loved every minute. From the moment we arrived, Cindy at reception made our stay one of the best experiences we could have wished for. She provided advice on restaurants, arranged Castle tickets, and gave us tips on exploring some "local knowledge" places. The room (104) was roomy and finished to a very high standard, with quality bed linen and manchester. Parking was directly under the hotel and access was available via a lift. The village and all its attractions were only 3-5 minutes walk away, and the best restaurant (beside the lake) was less than a 10 minute stroll. We dined there both nights. Breakfast was superb quality and included in the price. Our room even had a view of Neuschwanstein Castle - we couldn't fault this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainMarkyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
660 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
590 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
400 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
684 reviews
1.1 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ludwig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ludwig

Property: Hotel Villa Ludwig
Address: Colomanstr. 12, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ludwig 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Culture & romance near the Neuschwanstein Castle The new romantic hotel Villa Ludwig is located in the quiet, fairy-tale setting of Hohenschwangau right at the foot of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau Castles, just 3 km from Füssen. This fine Bavarian boutique hotel is located directly across the border from Tyrol and will enchant you with its sophisticated architecture and romantic ambiance. You will truly feel like a royal as you spend romantic and carefree days so close to Neuschwanstein Castle. The local Allgäu region is a recreational paradise with its clear, tranquil lakes, rolling hills and spectacular mountains. A combination of world-famous cultural, recreational and natural experiences makes it an unforgettable experience. Since summer 2017 you can also rent our exclusive chalet for 4-8 people, ideal for your special family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Ludwig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing