We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surreal and perfect.”
Review of Hotel Alpenstuben

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alpenstuben
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2009

This hotel turned out to be ideal. The staff was friendly and quite helpful, the room was quaint, clean, and nice, and the location was unbeatable. Our room had a balcony from which we had an amazing view of the castle. I seriously could not have imagined a more perfect view. This hotel exceeded my expectations in every way, especially since it was so reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecoolkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 416 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2009

The location is great if you want to see the castles, the ticket office is literally next door. The room was very small, and it was difficult to open the bathroom door if the other person was not sitting on the bed. We found the heated towel rack handy for doing sink laundry but otherwise the bathroom was less than elegant. We did not upgrade the room, we were in the "standard" room. The breakfast was very unimpressive. Cold cereals, breads, and a few cold cuts. The place literally looked like "Denny's". Overall great location, free parking, unimpressive breakfast, and not really a great deal.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auujay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We arrived at a very busy time of the day and had a little difficulty trying to get registered; other than that, everything was very pleasant. The room was very comfortable, spacious and very clean, food was quite good. The staff was very attentive. The hotel is very close to the Castles and within walking distance of all shops.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I enjoyed my stay at the Alpenstuben due to the great location and friendly staff. The room was a fair size and was clean. No complaints, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Beautiful rooms and service. Food, both breakfast and dinner, very good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The view out our balcony was wonderful. The Neuschwanstein Castle was gorgeous. You cannot beat the location. The staff was very friendly. The restaurant had great food. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to see the castles and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDR_ORION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed here with our two kids and mother-in-law. The family apartment was great for us - two rooms (one with two twins) and a second room with a queen and a twin. It was a hike up to the top floor (no elevator) but it had a great view of the castle and was very close to the ticket office. The food in the hotel was good and reasonably priced for the location. Don't miss the summer Luge ride nearby - lots of fun (even the mother-in-law tried it!)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_traveler_cd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
475 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
#4 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
#5 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenstuben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenstuben

Address: Alpseestr. 8, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range: $115 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenstuben 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our traditional family Hotel located right below the world famous castle of Neuschwanstein. The Hotel Alpenstuben with its cosy guestrooms and restaurant offers you a friendly atmosphere and raised standard. Both castles, Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein are within short walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alpenstuben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenstuben Hotel Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing