We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy”
Review of Hotel Alpenstuben

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alpenstuben
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very warm and inviting! Stayed in the room over looking the main castle and loved it. Arrived in January 2012 around 1400 and it snowed the whole time making for the best pictures! Great location near both castles. Very quiet! Staff was very friendly and helpful! The restaurant served the best apfel strudel I have ever had in Germany!

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alpenstuben
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 411 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

We went to visit the Castle Neuschwanstein and decided to spend the nice around there, luckily we stayed on this lovely and cute hotel, very nice and confortable. Nice breakfast, no complains, clean and all we need to feel safe and confortable.
Lovely place and the stuff it is very nice and friendly. High recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kikimiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked a day in advance and were welcomed after a long cartrip by the owner who offered our eldest three children an apple juice. Just what we needed after the long ride. After visiting Hohenschwangau and the marvelous Neuschwanstein, we had a nice dinner and slept comfortably in our familyroom. The breakfast was perfect and above all: the people were very friendly. We very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ockje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My daughter and I stayed there for a couple of days early July. It was the beginning of our trip and our airline lost our luggage. The staff went out of their way to call the airline repeatedly to relay to us where the luggage was. They also gathered some toiletries and shirts that we could use until we could go shopping the following day. The room itself was small, but cozy and comfortable. The location is ideal as you can comfortably access the castles at your leisure. Very much enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I primarily spend our vacations out and about exploring and visiting local sites so our sole purpose for hotels is to find somewhere safe, clean, and comfortable where we can sleep and shower in our own private room and bathroom. We look for basic no frills places to stay that are centrally located and affordable.

Hotel Alpenstuben more than met our needs. The rooms were clean and an adequate size. They were no smaller than the typical European hotel room that we have become acustomed to. The staff was friendly and helpful. Wifi worked as expected. We did not have the noise problems others complained about, but we were in a room on the side of the hotel. We actually found that the town of Hohenschwangau becomes very quite at night when all of the tourists are gone. The noise only begins in the morning and continues during the day when the tourists come into town. However since we were not in the hotel during these times and instead out enjoying the castles and town, we never experienced noise problems.

We were able to park at the hotel, but the parking is basically used for their restaurant stand during the day. We were required to move the car to other parking in the morning. We had no problem with this though and understood the tight space limitations when the hotel is so central.

The hotel is very central and the castles and their ticket office are close by. Walking up to the castles though is a steep walk, so those who are not as physical fit may want to opt for the horse carriage ride up which is only a block away from the hotel.

We ate both breakfast and dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. Both, especially dinner, were very good. We also had lunch at the side fast food stand and it was also very good.

Overall a very nice stay. I would definetely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankr690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel was perfect for what we needed. We were only there for one night to see the castle. Had a great view of the castle from our balcony. The room was tight for 4 of us but would have been great for 2. There was a lot of street noise because our room was on the street side. We would stay again but would ask for a room in the back. The restaurant was good. Had a nice dinner there and the wait staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stay here in a family room in May 2012. Room was a good size and very clean. The restaurant is very good with a wide selection. Breakfast is a buffet with a good choice.
Only thing wrong was I had to change the room I booked as they said it was double booked, even though I booked 13 months before my stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiney777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
464 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
#4 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
#5 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenstuben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenstuben

Address: Alpseestr. 8, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range: $119 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenstuben 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our traditional family Hotel located right below the world famous castle of Neuschwanstein. The Hotel Alpenstuben with its cosy guestrooms and restaurant offers you a friendly atmosphere and raised standard. Both castles, Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein are within short walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alpenstuben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenstuben Hotel Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing