We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tops!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenrose am See

Alpenrose am See
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, International, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tops!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I have just spent the Christmas period in Hohenschwangau staying at the Muller Hotel – a wonderful experience, great room and friendly staff. However, this review is not about the Muller Hotel it is about the Alpenrose am See restaurant. My reason for connecting the two is because of their relative positions on the Tripadvisor scale of restaurants to visit in Hohenschwangau.

I agree that the food at the Muller Hotel is very good and the staff helpful and friendly, however, the food experience between this restaurant and the Alpenrose am See is not to be compared; it is in an entirely different category.

We stumbled on this restaurant (in other words, didn’t check out Tripadvisor first) and were so impressed that we went back again on the following night. On both occasions we had a truly fine dining experience. The staff were excellent and well informed about the respectable range of wines available (including Billie Carte champagne!) and which to drink with the various dishes; after ordering our preferred dishes we were surprised to be served with some additional offerings from the kitchen which were not an additional charge; and when the main course arrived the presentation and taste were something that I have only experienced in top restaurants in a capital city.

If you are looking for a food experience in the vein of the Dorchester Hotel, London this is it.

Excellent!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    73
    21
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lucky find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We took a tour bus from Munich to Hohenschwangau for the castle tour. We stumbled upon this restaurant when we decided not to go with the guide's recommendation. We felt quite lucky to find Alpenrose am See. The service was very good and the food was amazing. I had the meat platter which included two small pieces of steak and some wonderful potatoes. My husband had a lovely potato soup. We would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angusfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Level Contributor
202 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very Interesting restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great Food presented beautifully. The hotel recommended this for an upscale dinner. The food and the wine were both a delight and should be tried if you are staying here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank booksVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
324 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Spectacular View, Elegant Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Picked this spot for a light lunch while waiting for our tour time for the Neuschwanstein Castle. We noshed outside and wow, what a spectacular view! They have inside dining as well, but on a nice day, your best bet is outside under the shade of an umbrella enjoying a relaxing view of the lake and mountains.

I ordered the buffalo mozzarella and tomatoes and my husband got a sausage and spread tray. We ordered off the appetizer menu because we were looking for something light, but they had an extensive menu of entrees and some delicious sounding specials. Someone at the table next to us ordered an iced coffee and it came it a huge glass piled with whipped cream and garnished with a small cluster of vibrant red currants. It was so pretty, they started taking pictures of it.

The presentation of our food was beautiful and each of our items were plated with a small mound of assorted mixed greens. Mine had a few edible flower petals in it. A bread basket also came with our food filled with warm, soft, fresh baked bread. Yumm. The prices were a little high and the service was relaxed...okay, it was a little slow, but all you had to do was signal a server and they arrived at your table promptly. I thought the quality of the food was exceptional and the view amazing, so the price seemed reasonable to me for what you were getting.

This restaurant is a nice splurge if you are in the area and want high quality food with a scenic view.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michie1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great view - good food - slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

we enjoyed a nice dinner by the lake. The view was spectacular and the terasse had heaters which was great as the night got much chillier than I expected.

The food was great - the service a bit slow.
The prices are quite high, but I though it was worth it still.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenrose am See also viewed

 
Hohenschwangau, Swabia
Hohenschwangau, Swabia
 

Been to Alpenrose am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing