We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mueller
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for an overnight stop in April. from the outset we were impressed by its location underneath the impressive Neuschwanstein Castle. Intial impressions were reinforced by the friendly and efficient way we were treated in reception and then taken to our room overlooking the main village street. Although the street was busy at that time, it quickly quietened down once daytrippers left and there was no noise overnight. The room was very clean and well appointed. Of particular note was the restaurant a beautiful setting. Dinner was excellent, Ralph the Restaurant Manager was superb, courteous and very helpful. Food was of very high quality throughout the meal. Breakfast, buffet-style, was similarly very good and provided a full range of hot & cold options. Would have no hesitation in using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AH15765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 700 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2009

I can't say enough good things about the hotel, but I'll list a few in no particular order:
1- Location, location, location - If you are visitng the castles, this is the place to stay. Have the hotel reseve tickets for you (no extra charge), and reserve a spot on the horse drawn carriage ride to Neuschwanstein. Be lazy and take the carriage ride - you'll have a lot of walking at the castle, and can enjoy the walk down the mountain.
2- Rooms: We stayed in room 24, it had two bedrooms (one with master bed, other with two twin beds), and a full sized living room. Absolutely perfect view of the main castle from all three rooms. Very clean, and well put together (high end moldings, expensive carpeting, etc)
3- Dining: Breakfast included (nothing special, but nice European buffet in formal dining room. Dinner was superb - ever so slightly pricey and they ahd a limited inexpensive kids menu that our 11 year old thought was fine (6-12 Euros on the kids menu)
4- Staff: Top notch - they make you feel at home - most have worked there for many years, and love their job, and the Muller family
I really can't find a bad thing to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aikoaikoallday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Muller for 2 nights in October 2008.

I had used their web-site to pre-purchase a package they called "Indian Summer" which included breakfasts and dinners, tickets to both the castle tours and a horse drawn carriage ride up to the Neuschwanstein castle.

The room we booked was classified as a Superior room and was well-lit and large, with an enormous balcony terrace overlooking the beergarden/cafe outside. It was not cheap but was pretty good value as dinners were included. Overall, the hotel served as a comfortable spot for a pause in our busy itinerary. The views were great - our terrace was literally just below the Hohenschwangau castle, which was pretty impressive when lit up at night.

The food for breakfast and dinner was very good and the service from the waiters was excellent. In fact we found everyone to be extremely helpful. Carparking was easy in the hotel carpark beside the hotel. The hotel had WiFi.

The only real downside to the hotel is that it seems to be the hub for the village and was extremely busy once the tour groups arrived. The horse carriages leave from outside and the restaurants in the hotel all seemed quite busy also. The front desk staff seemed at times to be a little harried by all the enquiries from day-trippers, but still had time to answer our own questions, so no complaints.

The choice you need to make is whether to stay here or in the nearby town of Fussen, but we'd strongly recommend staying at Hohenschwangau to avoid the bun-fight when the cars and tour buses arrive. In the mornings and evenings, however, the little village was peaceful and relaxing to walk around. We took advantage of the mild weather to spend a couple of hours walking around the nearby lake one afternoon. A highlight of the trip.

If you want nighlife, shops and real village life, then stay in Fussen or even Munich. Otherwise, I think most would be happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MI4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

On my recent 12 day trip through southern Germany and Switzerland we stayed at this hotel for a night. We arrived while there was snow on the ground and more fell during the night and there was light snow in morning. For me, it was a perfect setting for the castles.
The hotel personnel were exceptionally nice. They asked us our time preferences for tickets to tour the 2 castles. We were there during a slow time (Dec 17, 2008). The Hohenschwangau is an easy walk from the hotel. Neuschwanstein is a bit tougher walk due to the hill. The front desk also held our luggage and made taxi arrangements for us.
Back to the hotel, the room was nice furnished, clean and warm. Like many of the hotels we stayed in, there was no shower curtain and only 1 or 2 English channels on the tv (cnn world or some news channel). Also, if I remember correctly, the double bed was two twins pushed together as was the case in all of the hotels (8) I stayed in, except for one case.
The hotel was a fairly short cab ride from the train station. Personally I'd recommend staying at this hotel or one of the hotels near the castle, rather than staying in Fussen, if you don't have a car. It was nice to be able to go out at night, walk around and see the nightly lit castles and also walk around (partly) the lake Alpsee.
The restaurant was very nice, definately a bit on the higher end and we had a nice dinner and the breakfast was nice.
Just a couple of notes for visiting Neuschwanstein castle. In the summer you can either walk to it (30 minute uphill walk), take a horse carriage ride, or take a shuttle bus. In the winter there was no shuttle buses. While the horse carriage ride sounds nice and romantic, they do squeze a number of people onboard (12 or so). Also horses aren't always the cleanest of animals (I won't go into details) so I would recommend sitting in the back of the carriage. Personally if you can ride the shuttle that would be my selection. Many people take the carriage up and walk down. The only problem walking down is that you are walking down the same road/path that the horses are constantly taking so you need to be very careful where you are walking and definitely don't wear nice shoes.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again if I am ever fortunate to visit the area again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank richardinarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2008

This hotel was more than accommodating. First of all, due to air/train delays we arrived at the hotel around 10 pm and they were really kind and understanding. They even picked up our castle tickets so we wouldn't have to retrieve them early in the morning. Plus, we prepaid via the tourism website, but as we were staying at the hotel - we got a discount off the tickets. I esp. liked the ease of getting to and from the castle. Its seriously all walking distance. The bus to Fussen, the nearest town, was quick and there was plenty of shopping and food in that area. The rooms were comfy, but the blankets could have been thicker!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank la310la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

My husband and I booked the Castle package which included 2 nights, dinner for two,and admission to both castles. The location of the Hotel Muller is perfect to explore both castles, the town and lake, and return to the hotel for fine dining. We were treated to excellent service in the dining room by the Resaurant Manager, Ralph, who waited on us personally and gave us many local hints on what to do ( and not to do!) We had such a good meal and experience, we decided to return for our dinner the next night and were again treated to exceptional food and service.
Our room, although small was comfortable, and clean, and included a fresh fruit basket.
When we toured the castle with included tickets and horse carrige ride UP to Neuschwanstein, we were personally escorted to the front of the buggy line, no waiting. When we returned and wanted to book our tickets to Hohenschwangau Castle, no problem, the front desk rebooked them.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brainss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

Friendly staff, excellent rooms, parking on site, no tea/coffee in rooms but free wifi. Meals, particularly breakfast, excellent. Ideal position for visiting Neuschwanstein castle.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank rogerslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
485 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,661 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
420 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#4 of 40 in Fussen
716 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mueller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mueller

Address: Alpseestrasse 16, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range: $117 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mueller 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Muller lies at the end of the “Romantic Road” through Germany, right beneath Hohenschwangau Castle, the childhood and youth residence of King Ludwig II, his “poetic retreat”. It makes the ideal base for day trips to the surrounding area. One possible excursion is the “Castle Tour”: Linderhof – Herrenchiemsee – Nymphenburg. Or you could get to know the Pfaffenwinkel, which literally means “priests’ corner”, with its ancient testimonies to church architecture, such as St. Coloman, the Pilgrimage Church of Wies, Ettal Abbey, the pilgrimage churches of Andechs, Rottenbuch, and Altenstadt, and many more. Or visit the idyllic nearby villages: Fussen, with its historical old town; Oberammergau, famous for its passion play, or the world-famous winter sports villages of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Oberstdorf, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mueller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akzent Hotel Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing