We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place, fantastic staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mueller

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mueller
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing place, fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wow, where do I start.....?

For a hotel right bang in the centre of town, with the most fantastic views, great service, beautiful rooms, there is none better than Hotel Muller.

Even before we arrived the staff were helpful. They had even Pre purchased our tickets for the castle so we did not have to wait in (the very long) line. The horse drawn carriage departs from right outside, so very easy.

The hotel was is very good condition and obviously well maintained.

Ok, now for the best bit. The rooms.....ours was huge....bedroom, sitting room, dressing room, bathroom, separate WC, I've been to smaller houses! This really is a great place to stay. The breakfast was also very good, and the service extremely friendly and attentive.

Not a lot else to add, apart from....stay here, you won't find anything better in the area (I think).

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bellcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    174
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
169
299
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Location: Perfect location for Castles around Hohenschwangau. The Neuschwanstein Castle must be reached by either foot, bus or horse drawn cart (the latter two require tickets and 40 minutes). Both leave from directly outside the hotel. Further to this, the ticket system for Neuschwanstein requires that you collect tickets no less than an hour before the allotted time. The hotel negates this collection time however by collecting tickets on your behalf.
Two pieces of advice regarding this however. Check out is at 11am. If the castle visit is around this time, be sure to leave at least an hour and a half before the castle time because bus and horse drawn cart lines can be long. Secondly, the allotted castle time is strict. Once the 15 minute window you have been allocated elapses, the electronic gate will reject your ticket.
We were sloth like in our bag packing and as a result the hotel kindly extended our check out time in an effort to ensure we made out allotted time.

Rooms: The rooms are large with high ceilings. They are quite old (the old style key with heavy fob attached alludes to this prior to even getting to the room. We stayed in a Superior Room with a shared balcony that allowed us views of the castle at night.

Staff: Germanic, to the point and efficient but very helpful. Upon accidently taking the key to the room to Munich (and later posting it asap), they were quick to thank me rather than charge for the honest accident.

Would I stay again: Certainly. I’d highly recommend the hotel if heading to Neuschwanstein.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksolt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed two nights. We booked the castle/fairy tale package, which included breakfast, fancy dinner, tickets to both castles, bottle of wine and other. Room was clean and huge, with a great view of one of the castles. The dinner was amazing and served in a room looking at neuschwanstein. Breakfast was great with lots of options. This hotel was fantastic, in a surreal location in a beautiful town. Would stay here again, would recommend this to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy an idealic setting between two fantastic castles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRSK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed two nights and found the hotel and the town charming. You will not be disappointed. The breakfast was very good. And the staff was so warm! They will arrange your tours tickets. Not standing in line was a huge plus. I would recommend taking the bus up and if you want to take a carriage take it on the travel down. Be prepared to do a lot of walking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmithathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, PA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Schloß Neuschwanstein was at the top of our list for our trip to Germany. After researching hotels I picked the #1 rated Hotel Müller (fun fact: when you take away the umlaut ¨ it is indeed spelled Mueller)

I was so, so happy with our choice. There were 3 of us so we reserved a suite with a request for a view of the castle. It simply could not have been more perfect for us. My 16-year old son stated that the bed in the living area was so comfy. The double-mattress bed in the main bedroom was also super comfy. A late-night glass of wine or snack on the balcony with a view of the castle was just breathtaking. We each had our own bathroom with shower (only one had tub but no big deal) and the small details spoke to the level of service they provide. Very clean and comfortable with beautiful touches like flowers in the windowboxes, wine & chocolates in the room and upscale toiletries in the bathroom.

The reception desk is really top notch. Roswitha was super friendly and efficient, smiling every time we saw her, and truly seemed genuinely concerned about our happiness. I love that they secured our castle tickets, and also provided umbrellas for us to borrow when our castle day was drizzly. The horse-drawn carriages pick you up right in front of the hotel which is super convenient (and your calves will thank you later)

Note: the main road in front of the hotel gets BUSY during the day - there were busloads of tourists. This affected us only because we took a mid-afternoon nap after our long drive and it was noisy; however in the evening it was nice and quiet.

The outdoor cafe is awesome, and a great place to sit and enjoy a coffee & ice cream. The area around the hotel - in particular the short walk to Alpsee - is absolutely breathtaking. It was the nicest place I have ever jogged in my life!

We had dinner in the restaurant, which is beautiful - wood everywhere and superb service & hospitality. The waiter understood I was eating gluten free with other food sensitivities and had the chef prepare a tasty turkey steak with potatoes & veggies. It was delicious. The breakfast was so much more than I expected, with extensive choices in breads, little packets of nutella, and the typical cheeses & meats you get in a European breakfast. I love that they had both hard-and soft boiled eggs to choose from.

My only regret was that we did not get to eat in the lovely glass portion of the dining room - there are just a few tables and they were all reserved the evening we dined. Reserve in advance if you go.

A trip to see the castles will be made complete with a stay at this lovely hotel. The town of Fussen is also worth exploring, with lovely shops & places to get some German wursts or pretzels - just 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view. It's one of the few moments in life that it's possible and it's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouseturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mueller. Service was great as were the rooms and lovely outdoor restaurant. You will get an early start and beat the crowds to the castles. There is a beautiful alpine lake within walking distance. We had a spacious room and staff was very helpful. Parking is available on site.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler77459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

First off, this is spelled wrong. Its Hotel Muller. You can see that from the sign out front. This is the perfect hotel for the castles. It is walking distance to the small one and its right by the starting point for the big one. There is even a swarovski store nearby! You can walk to the center of town from here as well. The rooms are small but you wont be in them much. And they are typical size for the area. The service is great. They were very helpful with whatever questions we had. the restaurant was awesome too and the servers there were great. Parking can be a bit tough, we were lucky to get a spot right out in front. From right out the front door there is a perfect picture of the big castle. Im sure you will see it. This is just the perfect place to stay when you are in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will have a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
#4 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mueller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mueller

Property: Hotel Mueller
Address: Alpseestr. 16, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mueller 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Muller lies at the end of the “Romantic Road” through Germany, right beneath Hohenschwangau Castle, the childhood and youth residence of King Ludwig II, his “poetic retreat”. It makes the ideal base for day trips to the surrounding area. One possible excursion is the “Castle Tour”: Linderhof – Herrenchiemsee – Nymphenburg. Or you could get to know the Pfaffenwinkel, which literally means “priests’ corner”, with its ancient testimonies to church architecture, such as St. Coloman, the Pilgrimage Church of Wies, Ettal Abbey, the pilgrimage churches of Andechs, Rottenbuch, and Altenstadt, and many more. Or visit the idyllic nearby villages: Fussen, with its historical old town; Oberammergau, famous for its passion play, or the world-famous winter sports villages of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Oberstdorf, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mueller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akzent Hotel Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing