We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location great, room not.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mueller

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mueller
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location great, room not.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

5 stars for excellent restaurant (best we had in Germany), excellent location, and polite english speaking staff. -3 stars for a VERY disappointing room for what we paid for and expected, mislead by written descriptions of the room booked which I expected to be amazing with view of castle. We travelled from Canada to see this and took our daughter and friend too so wanted something amazing to stay in - hence choosing this hotel based on location and rating. The room booked read as a bedroom, and separate small suite, with separate bath. Note we got no usable shower, and suite was 4 feet by 4 feet table with 2 chairs and TV between small bedroom and bath. You could theoretically shower if you sit in the tub and use hand shower. The bedroom was VERY small, with 4 tiny single cots for my wife and I and our 2 teenager children with us in one space about 12 feet long and 8 feet wide. I complained, they offered to upgrade us to a different room but we had to pay for the price difference. I did not accept as we here for only 2 nights and were already paying $290 euros a night. The view...Neuschwanstein castle is covered in scaffolding for restoration so not much of a view. Should have stayed in Fussen. Felt ripped off staying here, strongly advise choosing something else. Have travelled a lot in many countries and this hotel while being high quality and great location I think they took advantage of us.

Room Tip: Don't pay for view, clarify "shower you can stand up in", Fussen is only 10 euro taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnorkellingJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    174
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
169
299
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a Tauck tour. The room was TINY and basically in an attic. I could not believe Tauck had us staying here on a luxury tour.

Location is quite good and the staff fiendly, but the place is in need of major updates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SWMinmetroNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were specifically visiting Neuschwenstein castle and wanted to stay in the village of Hohenschwangau rather than in Fussen. We picked Hotel Mueller on the strength of the Trip Advisor rating and it we were not let down. The room was very generous for two adults and two teenage girls. Service was helpful at the front desk. Breakfast was limited but quality was great. Located right next to the ticket office and at the base of the path to the castle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel exceeded all expectations. The room was larger and very efficiently laid out. Every employee was helpful in every way. When we arrived for dinner in the hotel restaurant, we were seated immediately at a table with an excellent view of Neuschwanstein Castle. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have a nice shared balcony with a view of the castles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is in a great position with the Hohenschwangau Castle just at the back, a short walk up the hill and the Neuschwanstein Castle, a bus ride up then an easy walk back down the hill. We stayed 2 nights and did the castle tours which were fantastic and also walked down to the Alpsee Lake which is really pretty. It was great being so close to everything in town. The hotel is very comfortable, the staff helpful and the restaurant served a very nice breakfast. We also had dinner on one of the nights in the restaurant and it was delicious. Our tours to the castle were booked for us so we didn't have to line up at the ticket office and our car was parked free right next to the hotel (not that we needed it for our 2 night stay). The only negatives was a hand held shower and some issues with the free wifi in our room. Overall though an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My family and I have had the pleasure of staying at this lovely establishment twice. Once in May 2009 and again in September 2011. Both times we had a wonderful experience! The best part of this hotel is its proximity to Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein castles. You absolutely cannot ask for a better location. The horse carriages and the buses are right outside the front door. And the hotel staff is extremely helpful in getting you reservations for tours. We suggest taking the bus up and taking the horse carriage down. The rooms are all very comfortable and clean. Our second favorite part is the hotel's restaurant. The first time we stayed, we had the pleasure of being served by Ralph. He was a delight and we enjoyed ourselves so much that we went back the following evening. When returning in 2011, we were so pleased that the quality of the food and service had not changed. It was as great as ever. The pork and spatzel was amazing. The desserts were also delightful! Can't say enough good things about the experience. Happy to recommend Hotel Mueller anytime!

Room Tip: Select the 1 superior double with view (with bath)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wittmondhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Last year we made reservations for a lovely evening concert at Neuschwanstein Castle; it was truly a magical affair to hear a Wagner concert in King Ludwig II's concert hall. We wanted accommodations close at hand and booked three nights at the Hotel Muller, one of two hotels in the middle of Hohenschwangau.
Staying in this wonderfully historic hotel was truly a magical experience! The hotel was lovely, the staff warm and friendly and the meals in the restaurant excellent. Breakfast was also included in the price and was the best we had during our two week trip.
Our travels included visits to most of Ludwig II's castles; it was an excellent decision to stay at one hotel and enjoy the ambiance of the community. Although the town was bustling during the day, it was very quiet at night. We had a nice balcony that overlooked the mountains and doors and windows that opened for the refreshing evening air. Although we thought we should keep traveling along the Romantic Highway (we rented a car), we were thrilled to have a restful stop at this lovely hotel. Parking was also free and a commute back and forth from other towns would have been troublesome and costly.
We highly recommend this hotel as a destination for castle "viewing" and relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
#4 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mueller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mueller

Property: Hotel Mueller
Address: Alpseestr. 16, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mueller 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Muller lies at the end of the “Romantic Road” through Germany, right beneath Hohenschwangau Castle, the childhood and youth residence of King Ludwig II, his “poetic retreat”. It makes the ideal base for day trips to the surrounding area. One possible excursion is the “Castle Tour”: Linderhof – Herrenchiemsee – Nymphenburg. Or you could get to know the Pfaffenwinkel, which literally means “priests’ corner”, with its ancient testimonies to church architecture, such as St. Coloman, the Pilgrimage Church of Wies, Ettal Abbey, the pilgrimage churches of Andechs, Rottenbuch, and Altenstadt, and many more. Or visit the idyllic nearby villages: Fussen, with its historical old town; Oberammergau, famous for its passion play, or the world-famous winter sports villages of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Oberstdorf, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mueller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akzent Hotel Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing