We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great castle to visit when in the area”

Schloss Hohenschwangau
Book In Advance
More Info
$207.86*
and up
Private Tour: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau from Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The yellow Gothic castle in which King Ludwig II spend his childhood.
Caldwell, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great castle to visit when in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Not as spectacular as Neuschwnstein but a stunning castle in it's own right. The castle is furnished and decorated as it was when the Kings would vacation there, with the actual furnishings/paintings/decor. If you enjoy castles, this is a good one to check out. The walk up only took us about 10 minutes and the brochure said it takes 20-30.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Idaho2theWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,272
    912
    227
    33
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
431 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Interesting & Informative Castle Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Schloss Neuschwanstein is the famous castle, but the combo ticket is a great deal and we found Hohenschwangau Castle to be every bit as beautiful and interesting. We were fortunate that it was a warm, clear, fall September day. The short walk up to the castle was invigorating and the views from the grounds are breathtaking. So head up a little before your tour so that you can take the time to appreciate the exterior beauty. The tour system is very well organized and they are able to get a maximum amount of visitors through in a very organized manner. Our tour had approximately 25-30 people, but it still felt personal and intimate. We found our tour guide to be charming and she spoke English very well. She was well versed in the history of Hohenschwangau. If you like to hike there are forest trails that lead to Lake Alpsee near the exit of the castle. BEAUTIFUL!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MKTBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
379 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Great Castle Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The most famous castle in all of Germany may be Schloss Neuschwanstein, but in the same town is Schloss Hohenschwangau, which is quite magnificent in its own right. You can even purchase a combination ticket to visit both castles at a reduced price. Be aware, when purchasing a ticket, that you MUST show up to the castle entrance at your ticket's time or you will be denied entrance, with no exceptions.

From the main street of town, the castle looks quite impressive. You can either take a 15-20 minute hike up to the castle or a horse-drawn carriage. Because of the gorgeous view during the walk, that is what we suggest doing.

Once inside, you'll be shown around the castle by a tour guide. In our case, our guide was very informative and spoke crystal clear English. You'll get a great history of the castle and the family history of its former royal residents. This tour was a highlight in Germany and we'd recommend it to everyone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
342 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“You're already here, see both!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Most people tend to overlook Hohenschwangau. This is actually the castle that Ludwig spent many years growing up in. He only lived in Neuschwanstein for 172 days! This is the real life living quarters of the king, the other for the most part, just a dream. Since you came all this way to see the "Disneyland" castle, make it a two for one trip and visit both. You'll be glad you did.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otterburn Park
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hohenschwangau vs Neuschwanstein”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you’re already there to visit Neuschwanstein, you might as well visit Hohenschwangau also? Here’s a tip: when booking a guided tour, buy a Königsticket (King’s ticket) to visit both Schloß Neuschwanstein and Schloß Hohenschwangau on the same day. It will cost you 23 euros per person. My wife and I preferred Hohenschwangau, but you be the judge. We were lucky enough to be matched with a very interesting and professional guide who really made our visit special… and we even learned a thing or two about King Ludwig II and his family. Frankly, our trip to Bavaria wouldn’t have been complete without this visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank aliaschampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schloss Hohenschwangau also viewed

 
Hohenschwangau, Swabia
 

Been to Schloss Hohenschwangau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing