We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gute Preise”
Review of Alpenstuben

Alpenstuben
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brasov, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gute Preise”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good food for a good price. Staff was fast and nice. Clean and a good place to take a break before the castle :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ildi_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    165
    82
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfectly ok in a small place with not many choices”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We ate here because we were staying at Villa Ludwig, the sister hotel which does not have an evening restaurant. We visited in the last week of August, which is clearly much quieter than July / early August. We were quite late by German standards (8.45pm) and so there was a bit of a rush to get the order in before the kitchen closed. The food was "hearty Bavarian" with also some typical hotel fare (kids nuggets and pizzas). All was "fine" - nothing outstandingly good and nothing terrible. There are not a huge number of choices in Hohenschwangau in the evenings, especially if you don't want something hugely formal and this was perfectly good. Very friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value Bavarian restaurant”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Outside patio, good value for a lunch stop in between castle visits. Less expensive than most other nearby restaurants.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful small dining room all pine and perfectly decorated for the town and the hotel. Service was fast and pleasant. Food was delicious and good value.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank castravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was terrible”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We did not stay in the hotel but ate dinner here. I was not in the mood for heavy German food and really just wanted a pizza, which they offered, so I ordered the margherita. I know, why order a pizza when there are so many other (and probably better) options? But that's what I felt like that evening, and while I didn't expect it to be the best pizza I'd ever had, I expected it to be better than what I got.

What I got was a clearly frozen pizza that was cold in the middle and tasted like cardboard.

My partner ordered a traditional German dish, which was not very good, either. Our meals were very pricey, and the server seemed annoyed from the time we sat down to the time we left. Maybe she was just having a bad day. I did expect more from this restaurant and left disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelReviewer050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenstuben also viewed

 
Hohenschwangau, Swabia
 

Been to Alpenstuben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing