We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy place to stay, though…” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kral
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cozy place to stay, though…”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

As recommended by my colleagues, this is my first stay at this hotel.

I have been to Erlangen 7th or 8th times over the last 2 years.
During my prior visits, I stayed at Bayerischer hof.

The staff here are as friendly as at Bayerischer hof.
Rooms are comparable but Kral at a better rate.
In comparison, both hotels provide a good variety of selections for breakfast.

There is only one thing, do remember to plan and let the hotel know if you needed to break in between your stay here.

I had actually booked to stay here for 2 weeks, from 1 Apr to 12 Apr, but upon realizing I needed to detour to another site over the weekend, i approached the hotel to check if I could check out on Friday and re-check in on Sunday evening but was denied by the hotel despite having requested for it 3days in advanced.

Anyway, overall this is a cozy hotel to stay in.

Room #53

Room Tip: choose a room with attached kitchen if you intend to do some cooking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hequah7022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Kral, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind and above all detailed evaluation.
Mario Kral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    22
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
11
7
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kosice
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My thoughts:
- as many other hotels in Erlangen, Kral sits on a busy street, ask for a room facing into the courtyard
- very good selection for breakfast
- free wifi
- single rooms are very small but clean
- bathroom bigger than usual

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Palino007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Kral, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind and above all detailed evaluation.
Mario Kral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sg
Level Contributor
208 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Ask for the penthouse room, on the newer building. The breakfast was good and hearty, with great coffee to perk u up for the day. Well located for work if you work for siemens.
City centre is still a tad far by foot.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sharonsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Kral, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind and above all detailed evaluation.
Mario Kral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I've stayed in a number of hotels on business in Erlganen, but this was my first time at Hotel Kral...how I wished I'd known about it sooner!
Arrived just before midnight on a Sunday (had emailed in advance to let them know of my late arrival after reading the review below) and was warmly greeted with no problems encountered.
My room was in the newer annex at the back of the hotel - rooms were a good size, plasma TV screens, well-appointed shower room which always had plenty of hot water. Rooms were super quiet with electric blinds to block out street lights. My room also had a kitchenette (not sure whether they are all like this?) which is a nice facility if you are away for a while and don't fancy going out to eat all the time. Big supermarket is under 10 mins walk away.
Location is great - at the top of town so nearly everything is within walking distance or a very short taxi ride. Nuremberg airport is about 20-25 mins away by taxi (usually around 30 euros or so).
Breakfast was super - quality and choice was top notch.
Hotel Kral will now always be my first port of call when next in Erlangen.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SpeedDemonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Kral, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind and above all detailed evaluation.
Mario Kral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Arrived late on a Sunday evening to be greeted by the receptionist leaving for the night!!!

Not good......but got worse when I was informed that I wasn't expected as no further arrivals were due.

After some checking and a couple of calls the receptionist admitted that an error on their part had meant my booking had not been made in their records (thankfully I had my copy of the booking info with me!)

I had booked an apartment but was instead given a single room. for only one night as the hotel was fully booked and I was advised ( to be on the safe side) to investigate the possibilty of alternative accomodation.

Spoke with the manager the following morning who was apologetic and reassured me that I would not have to move. And that I would receive a discounted rate for my stay, although as my room type had been downgraded this was expected!

Aside from this the hotel was excellent, lovely breakfast and very clean. English tv in all rooms and an excellent location.

There is no lunch or evening food available but the central location is ideal for either end of Erlangen's town and restaurants.

Despite the sticky start, I would recommend the Kral and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MR_Man2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Kral, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind and above all detailed evaluation.
Mario Kral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tournai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Second time at the Kral and it's always perfect.
Nice and delicious breakfeast. Rooms very cleans and spacious.
Possibility to have rooms with kitchenette.
This hotel have 2 buildings. I was this time across the street and it's was very calm and quiet!!
I recommend this hotel!!!
People at the desk are very friendly and helpfull if you have a problem

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank zazaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Kral, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind and above all detailed evaluation.
Mario Kral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

What can simply said about the hotel rooms and apartments is that they are clean, spacious and well-furnished. The coloring of the walls and the furniture is properly selected to reflect cheerful and cozy feeling. The rates were bit expensive however this was better than others when quality is of a concerned. The staff was friendly and welcoming. Internet is available with free and high-speed wireless connection. The hotel's location is near to Siemens health care office buildings. The hotel is away from the down town in about 20 minutes of walking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PCS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Kral, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind and above all detailed evaluation.
Mario Kral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erlangen hotels
0.8 mi away
NH Erlangen
NH Erlangen
#2 of 36 in Erlangen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Erlangen
Novotel Erlangen
#4 of 36 in Erlangen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zeitwohnhaus Suite Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen
0.6 mi away
Creativhotel Luise
Creativhotel Luise
#5 of 36 in Erlangen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Altmann's Stube Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kral

Property: Hotel Kral
Address: Luitpoldstr. 77, 91052 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Erlangen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kral 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at our Apartment-Hotel KRAL on your Business trip or including your Family. The Hotel is located in close proximity to the numerous clinics, the Franconian International School, the Siemens Headquarters and the Siemens Training Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Kral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing