We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in town centre close but be sure to get all info at check-in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for a complete week while visiting/working at the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. Was recommended by to stay in the city center as it was close to shops, restaurants and along a bus route direct to the university (approx. 20mins by bus).
Was happy with the stay and had no major problems to speak of. The room was in the converted(?) building across the courtyard and was clean and spacious. Continental breakfast in the morning was also very nice and there was a large choice.
Some of the minor issues I had were that I wasn't told that the reception and front door was completely closed at 10pm, so arriving back after 10pm on my first night I was a bit panicked to find it shut and there was no answer from the emergency contact phone for about 1hr. I was finally informed that I could gain access to the hotel using a code or keycard (which I hadn't been provided with at check-in) or using my room key to unlock the main door to the second building from the street behind the hotel (again I was never told at check-in). Also, I was staying at the hotel during very warm weather and unfortunately there was no air-conditioning and the refrigerator in the room didn't work.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 44 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed there during Nuremberg toy fair this February. It's obviously not the best hotel ever but not a bad one at all. The rooms (at least some of them) are rather spacious and the ones we stayed in had a kitchenette. The furniture is a bit outdated but rather than that rooms are OK and pretty clean.
Breakfast is great. Good choice of anything you might want and everything is very fresh.
The restaurant in there is also good, nice menu, nice food.
The hotel itself is very conveniently located, everything in Erlangen is within your reach and you can easily get to any other town nearby by a short ride from train station.
Probably the only inconvenience I can think of is a small church nearby. Every morning and especially on Sundays their bells ring very loud. Seems like over your head almost. So in case you like to sleep a bit longer that might be a problem for you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lailonniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The other reviews on this site (in German) scared me a bit, but the hotel really isn't so bad.

The Pros:
The location is excellent; virtually everything in Erlangen is within walking distance.
The rooms are clean and reasonably spacious.
Breakfast is above average, with various cold choices, including the standard rolls and cheese, but also smoked fish, various yoghurts, and fresh fruit. It doesn't change from day to day, however, so after a while it gets a bit boring.
Wireless internet is free and works without any problems whatsoever.
The staff is cordial and helpful.

The Cons:
The beds are laughably uncomfortable. Even though I was a solo traveler, I was put in a room with two single beds that could hardly have been three feet across.
The walls are very thin. You can hear everything on the street and in the inner courtyard, and at times the noise woke me up in the middle of the night. One time, some kind of alarm went off at 4:30 in the morning, and didn't stop until after 6. People stay out late in Erlangen, so be prepared to hear some drunken carousers.
The hotel, including the front desk, closes at 10 P.M. You can still get in with your key, but I'm not even sure of what you're supposed to do if there's an emergency.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrGoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank roy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeuw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Konstanze H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erlangen hotels
0.8 mi away
NH Erlangen
NH Erlangen
#1 of 36 in Erlangen
392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Erlangen
Novotel Erlangen
#4 of 36 in Erlangen
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zeitwohnhaus Suite Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rokokohaus Hotel
Rokokohaus Hotel
#11 of 36 in Erlangen
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Villa Soy
Boutique Hotel Villa Soy
#35 of 36 in Erlangen
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf

Address: Hauptstrasse 80, 91054 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Erlangen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Price Range: $91 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Grauer Wolf has best location of Erlangen's historical city center. The hotel offers 43 comfortable single to triple rooms. We can place many of the rooms extra beds or cots. There are 10 own paid car parking in the courtyard. Public parking, such as "Fuchsenwiese" or theatre square are within walking distance. An extensive breakfast buffet is daily. We also prepare breakfast for food intolerances, please let us know before arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing