We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, very good restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Reviewed July 13, 2012

A little old-fashioned , but cozy hotel with friendly service. Corresponds to what you would expect from a typical German hotel in this region.
The double room satisfied all of my requirements; a very good bed, good working area with the necessary connections and a fast and free internet. A good and functional bathroom and the room also had air-conditioning. An LCD TV of good size, and a fair selection of channels.
There was also a small balcony, but this was too small to be used for anything.

Good parking possibilities, with both indoor parking and a three-story underground parking.

Most hotels meet the basic needs for a sleep and a shower. But what distinguishes hotels, is the public areas and the restaurants.
Bayerische Hof has a small, but lovely bar with nice outdoor areas.
The breakfast is excellent, and with everything you expect from a good breakfast.

However, what distinguishes the hotel is their dinner restaurant.
It offers a really high standard of both food and service.
I chose the today’s menu recommendation of three dishes, and got food with excellent quality; beautifully presented (hope the pictures comes through).
And all for a ridiculously low price compared to quality.

The hotel is strongly recommended ; primarily due to the restaurant !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSHBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 167 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

I usually stay at the Novotel in Erlangen when I visit on business, but recently they were completely booked so I stayed at the Bayerischer Hof on the recommendation of a colleague. It's a little more old fashioned and cozy than the more modern Novotel.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, if small. Parking can be difficult. I was fortunate to get a parking spot in front of the hotel; the underground lot can be a challenge if you have a car which is larger than a compact. If you're going into downtown Erlangen you won't need a car - it's a short walk. It's a bit longer walk to get to most Siemens Healthcare locations, I'd recommend to drive or bike.

Breakfast was included and amazing! Don't skip it if you stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wildiris117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I had a room under the roof, which had only a small window with no view whatsoever, it was cold in there and took almost a day to heat it up. The room was also a bit worn out. The hotel is generally ok, but it has nothing that would make you come back.
I'd prefer Konning Otto or Novotel - both are nearby.

Room Tip: Not the rooms under the roof !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palino007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

A nice European style hotel, with character. I've stayed at most hotels in Erlangen, and most of the others are more of the boring antiseptic chains (Novotel, NH). Not that the Novotel and NH aren't nice, they are my next choices, but I like the service and atmosphere better here.
I generally stay for a month or more, so I like places where you feel like family! Of course they have german style beds (unusual pillows, covers, extra firm mattress) but I haven't found many hotels in the surrounding 30 km any different!

Room Tip: Ask for a double room, not much (if any) more, but much more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The rooms are clean, smart and cozy but maybe a bit small. The staff is very helpful in the front desk and also in the restaurants. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BraveCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Located in the town of Erlangen, this hotel is clean, smart and offers good food and service. Rooms are generally a reasonable size and fitted out to good standard.
Nice bar and friendly service.
However, this hotel has the worst pillows I have ever found in any hotel anywhere in the world. they are ultra light and so thin you might see through them if you held them up to the sun:
Would recomend youstay at this hotel, but take your own pillows!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whoistheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The rooms have no air condition so it gets extremely warm in the rooms, the hotel is also somewhat very humid, it has been impossible to sleep! The staff is really not helpful nor understanding and verging on being rude. For the high price you pay, prefer another one

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apanamanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayhofer, Manager at Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear traveller,
thank you very much for your comments.We are very sorry to hear about your troubles in our hotel.Unfortunately not all our rooms are equipped with air conditioning and during the time you spent here all the air conditioned rooms were sold out. We can understand your discomfort due to the high temperatures.Yet we can not accept your comments concerning our staff behaviour.We would like to point out that you reserved 4 rooms and only upon your late arrival ( after midnight) you informed us that you will need only 3 rooms.Consequently you were informed by our staff that according to your own company contract no shows after 6 pm will be charged. We know that after hearing this you acted very disappointed and we tried very friendly several times to explain the matter wich you were unwilling to accept.Therefore we are unable to understand your comments.

In anyway we would appreciate if you would give us the chance to welcome you again in our hotel so that we can make sure you are getting a beautiful room with air conditioning.
For further questions please do not hesitate to contact the management directly.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erlangen hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Erlangen
NH Erlangen
#1 of 36 in Erlangen
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Erlangen
Novotel Erlangen
#4 of 36 in Erlangen
492 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Hotel Erlangen
Quality Hotel Erlangen
#24 of 36 in Erlangen
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Creativhotel Luise
Creativhotel Luise
#5 of 36 in Erlangen
86 reviews
3.6 mi away
Select Hotel Erlangen
Select Hotel Erlangen
#28 of 36 in Erlangen
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zeitwohnhaus Suite Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen

Address: Schuhstr. 31, 91052 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Erlangen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Price Range: $118 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing