We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was ok until I went to the bar!”
Review of Hotel Grille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grille
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Ok so this is not the best hotel in the world, but it's clean and cheap, foods ok, but nothing special, and it's walk able to Siemens PG, however...............;
I was absolutely shocked that in this day and age, and when I thought it was illegal, people are openly smoking in the bar.
Completely spoilt my stay and will never stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whoistheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grille
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 41 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2008

I stayed in the hotel grille for a week in November. My room was small but functional and clean with a modern bathroom and decent shower.
The breakfast is not included in the price of the room but was good with a wide selection of food.
The hotel is within walking distance (20 minutes) of Paul Grossen Str and the associated Siemens and AREVA offices.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is good value for money and a good base or a business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonSarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

No internet, sixties style decoration, quite poor quality for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bfxu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Denmark
11
Reviewed February 5, 2006

If you consider this hotel for a personal retreat I suggest you think again. Even for a business trip, I would be hesitant to recommend Grille Erlangen.

The hotel in it self appears run down and any information regarding a "renovation in 1999" must refer to a cleaning only.

The room had a funky, wet-like smell and needed to be vented seriously to be tolerable... and at -10 degrees C in February that's not too much fun. TV was almost non-functional white stripes across all channels on the 15+ year old in-room TV. The bed was not the worst.

Do not expect to pay what you book it for. My rate went from EUR 108 to 135 which was excused by a request in change of bed configuration. Further, breakfast is extra at a fresh EUR 12,- per person which is charged wheather you eat or not.

The bar in this hotel was unmanned on a Saturday evening in what appeared to be a pretty full hotel. To get a beer, a walk to the kitchen to see if someone was hiding there was necessary. On the plus side, I did get a beer.

Service in the reception varied from helpful to arrogant, depending on time of day. The reception was unmanned for large portions of my stay, only with a phone where one could ring for service. In a request to get my room key, the reply was "pick it up yourself from behind the desk". Great security - do not leave any belongings in your room that you care for.

There was free Internet access but only wired in the lobby where you can hook up your laptop or use a highly restricted PC which is there for guest use. There were no parking issues either.

When the price of EUR 147,- per night incl the mandatory breakfast is considered I would recommend to look else where, even to spend a little more as quality doesn't get much lower in Western Europe than this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Washington
1
Reviewed May 15, 2005

Positive - Good breakfast buffet with many selections, sausages, eggs, crepes (and Sekt). Breakfast and Bar staff is very nice and attentive. Free high speed internet access from the lobby.
Negatives - Bookings were not correct in the hotel computer. Our party was charged for extra people who did not stay there. The staff tried to charge us for "missing" items in the rooms. There were phone calls on our bill that we did not make. Out of 15 people in our group, almost half were charged for things that they had not taken. The younger staff were friendly and tried to resolve it, but the owner was very confrontational and began screaming at one of our party. On top of this, the hotel rooms appear to be old and not very clean. The accomodations are not like the brochure.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled on business
Thank ERozE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erlangen hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Smart-Inn
Hotel Smart-Inn
#7 of 36 in Erlangen
47 reviews
2.2 mi away
Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf
Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf
#17 of 36 in Erlangen
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel am Birkenweg
#32 of 36 in Erlangen
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Select Hotel Erlangen
Select Hotel Erlangen
#24 of 36 in Erlangen
78 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Erlangen
Novotel Erlangen
#4 of 36 in Erlangen
468 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Erlangen
NH Erlangen
#1 of 36 in Erlangen
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grille

Address: Bunsenstr. 35, 91058 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Erlangen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Price Range: $95 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grille 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing