We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain, Simple and Clinical”
Review of NH Erlangen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Erlangen
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for a whole week for work and the hotel is rather plain and reminds me of a hospital. The room is alright size with all the bare essentials and it was quite clean however the look and feel is quite clinical. The breakfast buffet has everything you need to get you going in the morning, I especially like the wide selection of bread. There is WIFI but had problems in the room and had to connect in the lobby. Overall a bit expensive for a simple room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ageus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 393 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We only stayed for one night, but it is enough for Erlangen, not much to do there.
The hotel is def not a 4-star hotel even if it says so and quite expensive for what you get.
The rooms are ok and basic and bathroom is quite small.
Wifi is pretty expensive, and there have a garage but you have to pay per day 19 EUR extra.
The only thing which was really good was the breakfast, plenty of it and very good.
But in overall, overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Never had a disappointing experience there in many years. Rooms are modern and quiet. Not sure whether they have WIFI yet. Breakfast buffet is splendid but not cheap. Good location right by the main station, and next to the Altstadt.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for the Erlangen beer fesitval which was fantastic. The hotel is very clean and modern and the staff friendly and helpful. Erlangen is a great place to visit and this hotel is the perfect place to stay when you do. The rooms were nice and quiet and the beds comfortable. I love the quirky colourful monsters in reception too!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and our friends on the floor below, our room was bigger and had a walk in w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KGoepel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Hotel was pretty good for the money. The room had a bed with a seprate space for a sofa area and a bar area. The cable in the room has no american channels there, it might have been one or two not sure, but if so it was just the news. Other than that it serve it's purpose.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgettea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night this week, driving from Bratislava to Rotterdam. Looked for a hotel and found this one.
Underground car parking (19 euros) with a 2 metre height restriction ( I know because my truck had a hi-top of 2.15 metres) but it went in, thanks to the help of the receptionist who watched me in.

Rooms were good, bar / restaurant was OK, had a bar meal which was very good indeed, washed down with a few glasses of beer wathcing the football.

Not a bad hotel, but my bill room / food / parking came to 240 Euros, which is a bit strong.

Lots of bars and restaurants around, if you decide to go out.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Had planned to stay here for a week on business. Check-in was OK - mechanical and the receptionist rather cheapened by the receptionists being trained to upsell rooms (they offered everyone in line in front of me an upsell to an 'executive' room for 20 or 25 euros). So the first impression was of greediness and graspiness at work at the expense of wasting the time of customers standing in line.
The room I was given (610) smelt very mouldy and was very small. Bathroom was particularly tiny - with insufficient clearance around the toilet.
The room may have been chic in the 1970's - but was really old-fashioned for 2012. Old TV. Old carpet. Old drapes.
Everything about the room was cheap. The shower curtain, the towels, the carpet, the TV, the soap in the soap dispensers. Nowhere to put the roll-aboard except the floor.
Internet access (10 Euros for "personal" use (no VPN, very slow, 2 MB download - pathetic. Did not try the 20 Euro "business" version).
I may have had an unlucky room selection - but I don't think so - and if it was typical, this is a cheap dump. I moved out after one night.
The only good thing about the hotel was the evening receptionist who was very friendly to all.
.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudburyswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erlangen hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Erlangen
Novotel Erlangen
#4 of 36 in Erlangen
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zeitwohnhaus Suite Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kral
Hotel Kral
#2 of 36 in Erlangen
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf
Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf
#18 of 36 in Erlangen
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creativhotel Luise
Creativhotel Luise
#5 of 36 in Erlangen
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Erlangen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Erlangen

Address: Beethovenstr. 3, 91052 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Erlangen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Price Range: $64 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Erlangen 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Erlangen, the NH Erlangen hotel is right by the city's lively pedestrian zone, within short walking distance of many attractions, including the Conference Center, university, theater, boutiques and a shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Erlangen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing