We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, if a bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Erlangen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Erlangen
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
219 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not bad, if a bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night this week, driving from Bratislava to Rotterdam. Looked for a hotel and found this one.
Underground car parking (19 euros) with a 2 metre height restriction ( I know because my truck had a hi-top of 2.15 metres) but it went in, thanks to the help of the receptionist who watched me in.

Rooms were good, bar / restaurant was OK, had a bar meal which was very good indeed, washed down with a few glasses of beer wathcing the football.

Not a bad hotel, but my bill room / food / parking came to 240 Euros, which is a bit strong.

Lots of bars and restaurants around, if you decide to go out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    144
    86
    22
    4
See reviews for
28
41
20
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Had planned to stay here for a week on business. Check-in was OK - mechanical and the receptionist rather cheapened by the receptionists being trained to upsell rooms (they offered everyone in line in front of me an upsell to an 'executive' room for 20 or 25 euros). So the first impression was of greediness and graspiness at work at the expense of wasting the time of customers standing in line.
The room I was given (610) smelt very mouldy and was very small. Bathroom was particularly tiny - with insufficient clearance around the toilet.
The room may have been chic in the 1970's - but was really old-fashioned for 2012. Old TV. Old carpet. Old drapes.
Everything about the room was cheap. The shower curtain, the towels, the carpet, the TV, the soap in the soap dispensers. Nowhere to put the roll-aboard except the floor.
Internet access (10 Euros for "personal" use (no VPN, very slow, 2 MB download - pathetic. Did not try the 20 Euro "business" version).
I may have had an unlucky room selection - but I don't think so - and if it was typical, this is a cheap dump. I moved out after one night.
The only good thing about the hotel was the evening receptionist who was very friendly to all.
.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudburyswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

The stay as an intermediate stop at our ski holiday in Austria is really liked in NH Erlangen. Friendly service, good breakfast, comfortable beds and clean and well maintained hotel. Parking the car in the garage is also very pleasant. We will definitely go back to NH Erlangen.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvandun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed here recently on a business trip. Allocated a smoking room despite requesting non-smoking. The room smelt dreadful, years of stale smoke engrained on everything....down to the shower curtain. Call to reception was met with a can of room spray...fighting fire with a thimble of water i'm afraid. On plus side, restaurant staff are a credit, and check out smooth. Rooms small, tired and stale, not a comfortable night stay and would advise that there are better in the area.

Room Tip: err, don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a conference and was disappointed to get a nonsmoking room that stank of smoke as it was located next to the staff room. Smoke from there permeated into the room as did the constant door banging as staff entered and left in the morning....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Four times in this hotel. Two times relocate in a other hotel because of overbooking. It' s not nice because you are tired, stressed and so on ..... if you go to Erlangen it's not for fun!!!
Later I had the occasion to stay an whole week there. Internet connection didn' t work and when it start working you have to pay (actually I don't remember how much, but I remember we migrated to Starbucks where is free wi-fi). We consider wi-fi the minum service for a "business" hotel!!!
Breakfast good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electra264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

For an expensive 4* star hotel, i expected following to be given or included, which unfortunately were not and never in the past, included in their prices/packages.

1. Internet is EURO 17.85 additional to the rate for a day. YES!!! No free wifi in room for you in this 4* hotel.
2. No complementary bottle of water or any thing like that. If you dare to ask the receptionist you will get following answer ''there is Shampoo''.
3. No coffee/tea kettle in the room. There are so many 3* hotels providing this in their rooms, but here you have to order & pay. And I dont want to quote the charges, ask for your self if you dare to come.
4. Old style philips television. Yes, no LCD/LED. (ok, its no big deal), but then again, it is some thing that is expected in a 4* hotel. (am I wrong here?)

I hope that I am not being unreasonable in highlighting above points and expect the management of nH hotel to listen to its guests and also see what is happening around the world.
I am just coming from another 4* hotel in Munich 'Leonardo Royal Hotel' and paid Euro 108 for a double bed room inclusive of breakfast and had all of following free of charge.
Air Conditioning, Iron, Ironing Facilities, Hairdryer, Bathroom Amenities, Laptop Safe Box, LCD /Plasma /Flat-screen TV, Tea/Coffee Maker.

Long story short.... Hotel says Bed & Breakfast and it strictly means, clean good bed and good breakfast. For other things, there ar rip-off surcharges waiting for you and No mercy!

Room Tip: Book only, if NO other choice. You will pay too much when you take ( internet, tea/cofee, water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erlangen hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Erlangen
Novotel Erlangen
#4 of 36 in Erlangen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kral
Hotel Kral
#2 of 36 in Erlangen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zeitwohnhaus Suite Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Creativhotel Luise
Creativhotel Luise
#5 of 36 in Erlangen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen
3.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Nurnberg Tennenlohe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Erlangen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Erlangen

Property: NH Erlangen
Address: Beethovenstr. 3, 91052 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Erlangen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Erlangen 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Erlangen, the NH Erlangen hotel is right by the city's lively pedestrian zone, within short walking distance of many attractions, including the Conference Center, university, theater, boutiques and a shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Erlangen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing