We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmospheric Bavarian Hostelrie”
Review of Werdenfelser Hof

Werdenfelser Hof
Price range: $10 - $58
Cuisines: German, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good atmospheric Bavarian Hostelrie”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Staying at the nearby Mercure Hotel we wandered up Ludwigstrasse to see what Partenkirchen had to offer. There are several eating/drinking places here, however this one stood out as possibly being the most popular and we decided to give it a try.
The front is open - from tables outside you continue into the restaurant which is quite spacious though slightly dark giving a feeling of being in a Bierkeller. The menu has a good range on offer and quite reasonably priced - we both tried a local Bavarian dish of pork which was delicious with a generous portion of meat and we both cleared the plates. There was also some entertainment provided by two young local lads dressed in the Lederhosen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kilmahew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    65
    21
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Bavarian food, good service”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family of four (two adults, two children ages 6 and 3) dined at Werdenfelser Hof during our visit to Garmisch in August 2012, and were very pleased with our experience. We arrived early on a Saturday (1730), and were seated immediately. The music and dancing didn't start until 1900, so we enjoyed a quiet meal with great service and terrific food. I ordered the Werdenfelser plate with four types of pork, sauerkraut, and a bread dumplng - fantastic! My children enjoyed the frankfurers and spatzle off the kids menu, and both were delicious as well. A word to the wise - if the waiter asks you if you want a large beer, he doesn't mean .5L (as opposed to .3L, which is what I'm accustomed to) - he means the full liter! But when in Bavaria...!

If you're looking for Bavarian comfort food, I definitely recommend Werdenfelser Hof. Be sure to time your visit based upon whether you want a quiet meal (before 1900) or one with music and dancing (1900 on).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lcmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Typical Bayernische”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had the Schweinehaxen and beers accompanied by a one-man orchestra. I'm in love with the waitress as she had my favouirite liqueur - Berentz Apfelkorn

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great people”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We absolutely love this restaurant. We make sure to stop by every time we're in Garmisch. When we're finished every plate is clean! We always want to try something new but the schnitzel is so good we order it every time! The people that work here are some of the nicest people you'll meet. Our kids love the Bavarian dancers. They were so impressed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent "Solid Food" Authentic Bavarian ambiance”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have enjoyed dinning here several times over the years. The food is always abundantly served
with a myriad of entrees to choose to include excellent fresh fish as well as Traditional fare. Plus great Augustiner Beer. Also features good music nightly.
My Daughters photograph even hangs on their wall of fame.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColJEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Werdenfelser Hof also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Werdenfelser Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing