We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best duck breast ever”
Review of koch"s

koch"s
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best duck breast ever”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We ate here our last night and loved it. It was by far the best food we ate in Garmisch. We did make reservations but probably didn't need them on a Monday. We both ordered the tasting menu which was excellent. The sauerkraut soup was unexpectedly good - I was very skeptical. It was smooth and creamy. The Spaghetti putanesca was delicious. Best of all, however, was the marinated, slow roasted duck breast. It was tender and smoky. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and felt that it was well worth the price. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust99Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    22
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food and excellent service.”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed in Garmisch in September 2011 for 1 week and we visited this restaurant twice. We saw it one day while passing by and decided to try it out the following evening as we thought it looked lovely inside. As we arrived we were shown to a lovely table by a very pleasant waitress and we asked for an english menu. After a couple of mins a lovely lady came to us with a German menu in her hand and explained every single item on the menu to us. She helped us choose our food and wine and explained that the menu changes every few days so therfore they don't always have an english menu. My partner had a carrot and coconut soup with scampi for his starter and he said it was the best soup he has ever had. The rest of the food did not dissappoint either. We had lovely wine and the service was brilliant. We enjoyed our evening so much that we made a reservation before leaving for the Friday night which was to be our last night in Garmisch. Our 2nd visit was equally if not even more enjoyable and we had some lovely homemade wine as well. The same lady was there to help us with our choices and our food was once again really nice. If I was to return to Garmisch I would definitely return to this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb food with a very friendly staff”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Kochs served us this summers best dinner and desert, and with a very friendly, good english-speaking staff I cant do anything but really recommend this place to anyone :-)
A reason to go to Garmisch!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amcnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent choice - best in Garmisch”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Food is simply excellent; seems all they have are signature dishes, all home made and bursting of authentic flavour. Garmisch has many bavarian style restaurants, and definitely good ones too, but when looking for something else this is an excellent choice!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D_Jobse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed koch"s also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to koch"s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing