We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Friendly”
Review of Gastehaus Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gastehaus Maria
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming & Friendly”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed over Christmas--they made us feel welcome and comfortable. They gave us great suggestions for restaurants and went out of their way at every turn. It is within walking distance of the town which makes life much easier. The only thing to note is that the walls are thin but if you want a b&b type atmosphere, there is nowhere better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolo_Chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
31
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just one word: Excellent. However, tripadvisor won't let me submit with just that description so excellent customer service, excellent breakfast with lots of variety and great coffee, nice location (near a nice walking trail to the Plateauweg that leads to the Alm Hutte Restaurant), less than thirty minutes walk to/from the train station, excellent experience there to the degree my wife and I will stay there next trip to Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wvtreehanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denair, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wonderful comfortable place in a very nice town. The owners were very gracious and warm. The room we were in was the family (4 person) room though there were just 2 of us and it was very large and comfortable with couch table desk king bed. Breakfast in the morning was very nice and the wifi (2.5 E a day) worked fast. I heartily recommend this place if you are in Garmisch

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We loved this guest house. We were returning to Germany to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and found this recommendation here on trip advisor and it was an excellent place to stay! We liked the proximity to downtown and restaurants and we walked almost everywhere. We went in May 2012 and the weather was wonderful, although we know we were taking a chance on rain. We lived in Germany twice during our time in the military and had not been to Garmisch since 2005. The changes that the city made to create a new walking zone downtown was a great idea. The host and hostess of this guest house have gone way above the norm for creating an authentic feel to the experience of staying in the Alps. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BAENOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

A beautiful, clean guesthouse with spacious rooms in a breathtaking setting. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful and happily accommodated motorbikes in the yard and boots clumping up the stairs!
We stayed for eight nights and it felt like a real home from home. The beds were very comfortable and we slept like logs.
Breakfast is fresh and plentiful and served in a conservatory with spectacular views of the mountains.
it's an easy, 10 minute walk into the heart of Garmish town centre where you'll find lovely cafes, bars and restaurants.
There isn't a kettle in the room, but guests have open access to the kitchen area to get tea or coffee and can pick up chilled drinks any time.
I really can't praise Gasthaus Maria and the family Thier highly enough and we'll be back ...

Room Tip: The Gasthaus is on a quiet road and there's a view of the mountains whichever way you look!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Excellent, well priced Guest Haus perfectly located in beautiful Garmisch. This is a fmaily run guesthouse, with a nie breakfast, beverages in the kitchen and a large backyard (where my kids played while my wife and i enjoyed breakfast). It is very clean, very authentic and very well run. i would come back adn highly recommend it for thoise looking for authentic, German-Bavarian countryside experience. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This was a nice guesthouse in Garmisch. The location is a little bit of a walk from the pedestrian platz but still had easy access. There is a great walking/hiking path very close by that the owner told us about.

The breakfast was average. The location was great in a nice sunroom with excellent views of the mountains. There were great fresh Kaiser rolls and whole wheat rolls, but no cut-up fruit or bircher muesli. There were eggs and bacon.

The corner room we were in was huge with a balcony, a sitting area and a small table. The Wifi was decent.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust99Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#12 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
318 reviews
4.5 mi away
Zum Schweizerbartl
Zum Schweizerbartl
#2 of 46 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Maria

Property: Gastehaus Maria
Address: Zoeppritzstr. 20, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gastehaus Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Gastehaus Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing