We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WUNDERBAR!!”
Review of Eibsee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eibsee Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WUNDERBAR!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband booked this on my birthday when we were visiting Germany and Austria and I couldn't have been more impressed! Absolutely gorgeous place and the meals were PHENOMENAL! It's located close to the Zugspitze too which was awesome! The spa was great, and we got to jump in the lake (even though it was December and people looked at us like we were crazy). Eventually others started doing it too--kinda like a polar bear plunge

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarieLeigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    97
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
57
125
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, Missouri, United States
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The rooms were big and clean. The restaurant had great food. The walk around the lake was beautiful. This would be a place to go and spend a week or so. There was free parking and you could walk to the tram that went up the mountain. Free internet also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked half board rooms at Eibsee, so we got a four course diner and breakfast included in our rate. Both meals we exceptional! The venison was fantastic and the wait staff were pleasant and efficient. We enjoyed a few drinks from the bar, which had a nice vibe. I went for a dip in the lake, mostly for the sake of doing it, the water was chilly but tolerable, and very very clear! Enjoyed the pool afterwards, and it was quite peaceful.

The room was clean and rustic. The bathroom was very modern and looked recently renovated. We had a forest view room, which was perfectly fine, perhaps not comparable to the lake view, but this hotel is worth every penny. Absolutely wonderful, all around.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassbrydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just spent 5 days staying at this hotel situated in a fantastic location on the Eibsee with the Zugspitze, the highest mountain in Germany, as a back drop. A very peaceful location. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was fantastic.. We found the staff to be very friendly and very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We booked in advance via the hotel website and received a discount on our lakeside room. We purchased cable car trips with the hotel reception and these too were discounted. As a visitor we were issued with a Grainau card by the hotel and this entitled us to free use of the Zugspitze train and bus between the Eibsee and Garmisch. This transport gave us direct access to many of the cable cars. Try taking the cable car up to the Alpspitze and walking down half way and then descending by the Kreuzeck Cable car. Taking the smaller Eckbaurer cable car from the side of the ski jumps to the top and then walk down visiting Partnachklamm on route. The snow, yes snow, in September had started to melt and the melting water produced many waterfalls as it thundered through the gorge.

A superb holiday which I highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 321 located in the centre of the second floor and this gave superb views of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AceClassOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent arrival, quick and adequate check-in, rooms are a bit dated, but so is the whole place and it's not too disturbing. Location is fantastic, the Eibsee is so stunningly beautiful and having breakfast, or an afternoon drink, on the terrace with mountain and lake view .. not to be forgotten. Half board is well organized, with enough choices; the only minus here is the restaurant staff; it all seems a bit chaotic and unorganized (although there are happy exceptions). Stayed three nights and then you kinda had it with the restaurant. When not on half board, there's not many other options around, one needs a car to go to Grainau or Garmisch. Would go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCC020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Reichenhall, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Big beautiful hotel, located ON th Eib see (a big lake), with a forest and a beach.
In the winter the lake is frozen and you have 5 min. away your ski site (zugspitze), and in the summer you have a great big balcony on the lake.
You can have a Romantic or family or friends vacation here.

Room Tip: A view to the lake!!!! Do not give up!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vg1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

we drove down to lake eibsee from munich - about 1.5hrs on great roads.

first impression is stunning setting right on the lake.

check in was very efficient - we had a fantastic view over the lake.
free wifi was good!
we booked direct with the hotel and opted for the breakfast and evening meal too.

the menu was excellent each night and the waiters were very friendly - food was very good - better than we expected.
we ate out on the terrace on the third night as weather was excellent.

breakfast too was very good with all you would expect - omelettes etc made to order.

as mentioned the location of this hotel is stunning, right below zugspitz, Germanys highest mountain.

we were there for 3 nights and used it as a base to visit neuwswanstein castle, partnich gorge, and a trip up zugspitz on the cable car too (these are 3 things I would highly recommend doing!!!)

we also walked around the l;ake which took around 2 hrs - I would suggest making up a couple of rolls at breakfast and talking these for a bite to eat and take your time going round lake as views are stunning.

the town of garmish has a lovely precinct and lots of places to stop and have a beer ar cake - great atmosphere.

when we visited neuswanstein we did not do the tour and were happy we didn't.
we drove and parked in the first car park, caught the silver bus which took us up to the bridge above the castle and walked back down from there.
after seeing the hills and people walking up the way we knew we made the right choice.

we then had lunch at a lovely restaurant down by the lake in wengen.

when doing the partnich gorge we again did it the easy way by getting chairlift up to the hotel and walked down the way - although on hindsight getting the chairlift just to the left of the skijump and walking down may have been better as we had plenty of time and it was over all too quick. so if you have all day then this would be the way to do it - the way we did it only took maybe 3 hrs total with an hour at the restaurant at top of chairlift.

for me zugspitz was well worth the money - the view was amazing - and I didn't even go down and visit the other areas up there as it was a last minute decision to go up. we did not go up sooner due to clouds but after going up on the last morning I found that I was way above the louds anyway and think that if the weather is ok at botom then go for it.

all in all this was a good base to stay and although some parts of the hotel could do with refurb it is still a 4 star hotel for me.

good swimming in the lake - especially for kids as there are free canoes etc for guests and trampolines, table tennis etc.

nice and peaceful at night which was good although if you are after nightlife then you need to go into garmish.

overall this whole area is stunning and if anyone out there is in two minds then go! you will not be disappointed.
this was our first trip to barvaria, indeed Germany, and we will def go back.
the cleanliness was also very noticeable - everywhere was spotless and immaculate.

Room Tip: go up zugspitz - get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arky25Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
5.3 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
258 reviews
6.2 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
275 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
194 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
412 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eibsee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eibsee Hotel

Property: Eibsee Hotel
Address: Am Eibsee 1-3, 82491 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eibsee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique at the foot of the Zugspitze WELCOME TO THE EIBSEE The Eibsee lake is located around 13 km (8 mi.) southwest of the center of Garmisch-Partenkirchen beneath the Zugspitze mountain in the Wetterstein range in Bavaria. It is part of Zugspitze Village Grainau and is privately owned by the family that runs the Eibsee Hotel. With its clear, emerald green water, it is truly one of the most beautiful lakes in the Bavarian Alps. The excellent location of the EIBSEE-HOTEL offers you many opportunities to spend your holidays, like hiking in the wonderful mountains, enjoying the EIBSEE, visiting the Zugspitze, Germany’s highest mountain, or just going on a shopping tour in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Eibsee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing