We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Top It - Outstanding!”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Can't Top It - Outstanding!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotel Edelweiss is a rare gem combining a fabulous location, cozy ambiance, and outstanding service. Traveling with my husband and mother, who is a native of Garmisch, we all agreed there is absolutely nothing we would change, except the weather which was, unfortunately cool and rainy. The attention to detail and warm attentiveness of the hotel’s husband/wife proprietors is unparalleled. Facilities are spotless and rooms are spacious and well appointed in the traditional Bavarian style. First floor rooms open to a lovely garden where one may enjoy an afternoon coffee or gaze at the majestic mountain views. There is a cozy wine “stube” where guest may gather for a cocktail or light evening meal; we enjoyed watching the Europe soccer championship game during our stay. Breakfasts consist of an extensive buffet that will carry you through your touring day. The staff is most gracious and helpful, speaking wonderful English and always available to meet ones every need. All in all, our stay at Hotel Edelweiss was positive in every way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GringaGirl118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    83
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
112
208
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went back to Garmisch Partenkirchen again. Great time, great service and great food. The "Team Edelweiss" did everything to make the stay unforgettable. We met friends there and they also had a perfect stay there. Special requests - no problem. We had bad weather but Team Edelweiss had ideas for all guests what to do and where to go to.

Room Tip: "My room" is so good, it's my secret
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volker K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
312 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here for a week last december. We have been coming to Garmisch Partenkirchen every two years for a long time. As a result of a distinct lack of hospitality from our usual hotel on our previous stay we decided to give this hotel a try due to the favourable reports on trip advisor. The husband and wife who are the hosts fulfill their role with honesty, kindness and true Bavarian hospitality. The hotel is absolutely clean, the staff are polite and the rooms are large, luxurious and cosy. Breakfast is good with lovely fresh food on offer. The location is actually good despite the fact that it seems a little further away but in reality it is only a very short walk to the centre of town shopping area. When you stay here for a while you feel more like you are in your own home than in a hotel. Enough superlatives! Just do it. Stay there and you will be just like me and writing a lovely review about it on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the benefit of a large balcony while downstairs rooms are also lovely and quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InquisitorX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Me and my wife enjoyed a beautiful 2 nights stay at the Edelweiss. The husband and wife team make you feel as if you are the most important guests at their own home and the hospitality is amazing.
This was our second visit to GAP and we had stayed at another hotel before. However our stay at the Edelweiss was much comfortable and the experience was great and we are looking forward to staying with them again during our next visit to the region.
Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are thinking that this hotel is too good to be true well I can assure you that's all true in the reviews. Just landed here for a short visit and staying in the garden room overlooking the mountains.

It's beautifully decorated and very homely with lovely antiques. The lady owner- Brigitte- was very hospitable when we arrived and let us choose which room we wanted.

I'm greatly looking forward to my stay here and hopefully updating the rest of the website with my reviews in GP.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickinbracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Edelweiss from April 14th through 16th, 2003.
It was a terrfic experience.
The town was walking distance.
The hotel owners (a couple) were most hospitable.
The breakfast was delicious.
The rooms were beautiful.
The bathroom was real clean.
The location was lovely.
Perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amity22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I travel often and widely, and (especially in the US) there is a tendency to equate the fake smile with good service. At Hotel Edelweiss there was only genuine service, of the highest quality, from the moment I arrived until the moment - with free bar of chocolate - I left.

I stayed in a ground floor room for one night. It was simply perfect. Utterly clean, internet, secure parking (with small supplement), various Garmisch amenities catered for (card entitling me to use local bus etc), wonderful breakfast (classic Bavarian buffet but also fresh eggs, salmon).

I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 14; ground floor, small terrace; perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
2.5 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eibsee Hotel
Eibsee Hotel
#7 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Martinswinkelstr. 15-17, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing