We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Trifthof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dorint SportHotel(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
$173
$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
$185
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rheinischer Hof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel & Gasthof Fraundorfer(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)(Great Value!)
$106
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zugspitze(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atlas Grand Hotel(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
$119
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Edelweiss(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
$155
$142
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Staudacherhof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
$207
$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveler rating
396
217
83
40
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
217
83
40
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket stationhot tubmilitary familiesgift shopzuggy's base campalpine adventuresrocking chairsbar foodbrewery tourmarket placeamerican fooddeluxe cabinomelet stationr rmilitary personnelneuschwanstein castlestationed in germany
Filter
Updating list...
417 - 422 of 751 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My family and I have stayed at Edelweiss 4 times in the past 2 years. WE LOVE IT! No matter what time of year we stay, it's amazing. The staff is always helpful and friendly....rooms are the perfect size. We always get a room on the first floor so our son can walk right out and play in the grassy area outside of our patio. Garmisch is a beautiful little town. I'm in awe every time we go. We like to rent bikes and roam around the area....If it's snowing, we go skiing. This place is just amazing and we'll keep coming back for as long as we can!! If you stay during a holiday (any holiday), they always have events planned for the kids. Fireworks during the summer...I could go on and on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFFamilyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Please do "go on and on" about why you continue to stay at the Edelweiss! Thanks for your repeat visits we hope to see you this winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have stayed at this resort four times now. Most recently we visited early November and this was our first trip there that wasn't during the Christmas season. Because of this we were slightly disappointed. There were notable differences- not all restaurants are open daily, the resort is very quiet (could be a good thing), and the ambiance wasn't as magical.

Our favorite time to visit has always been the Christmas season because of the decorations, markets, events, snow, winter activities, etc. It's wonderful sitting in the outdoor hot tub at night surrounded by mountains covered in snow.

We have never been disappointed in any stay. But I would recommend going during a more popular season/holiday because there is a lot more to do!

A couple other things:
-This is a military resort so don't expect room service or quality television! Hah. But it's never been a problem for us. Plenty to do and see in the local area.
-The only on-site restaurant we have enjoyed has been Pullman's Place, but unfortunately it was not open during this visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We are in the process of converting our restaurants so we can better serve our guests. Our Market Station restaurant will be an a la carte dinner restaurant. Once that is converted, the restaurants will be open more regularly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Edelweiss for four nights. It is in a perfect location to visit the southern Bavaria sights, Italy and Austria. We have stayed at other Armed Forces Recreation Centers and this is by far the best. The hotel is decorated as a huge wilderness lodge. We you walk into the l0obby it is open and has huge fire place in the center with lots of seating. The rooms are large and have a good amount of storage. They even have an area to hang your ski wear. The parking area in underground which nice for the snow season. Downstairs they have an indoor pool and outdoor Jacuzzi. There is also a bar that serves food named Zuggy’s, coffee shop, swim suit shop, arcade and small slot machine room. The family and I ate at Zuggy’s and the food was good and reasonably price. They also food service that was awful was the breakfast combo at the coffee shop. The serve freezing cold egg sandwiches on an English muffin that tastes and looks like it came out of a MRE. All in all in was a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarthRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

this was our fourth time staying at Edelweiss, and as always we had a blast! all the staff is friendly, spacious rooms, reasonably priced dining options and supreme wellness facilities.
Since it was off season and with the recent shutdown there were less customers than other years we had stayed there for Halloween. Due to that the Marketplace buffett restaurant was closed and on weeknights only Zuggy's was open for dinner, which serves more bar-and fastfood type dinners. On the weekend night Pullmans place opened and this restaurant serves excellent food that is cooked on the spot in a showroom kitchen. Make sure to reserve a table, some peoople were sent away since it was so crowded. Compared to the german steakhouses you get a much better value at Pullmans, for a cheaper price and friendlier service.
The only criticism i have is that we would have appreciated an email alerting us beforehand to the limited services. For families travelling with children it can be hassle to have to,leave the hotel for dinner, and go downtown.
We stayed at a junior suite for the first time and it provides a little more space. Also it has 1,5 bathrooms, which we thought was neat

Room Tip: ask for mountain view, and far away from the hot tub!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thanks for your repeat visits, we are so happy you continue to choose us for your vacation destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Edelweiss Lodge & Resort is an amazing hotel. They offer a variety of tours throughout the week, some offered numerous times through the week and most are tours to touristy locations, ie Neuschwanstein Castle which are not exactly easily accessible by public transportation. The staff is extremely helpful and can offer advice on a number of activities including great restaurants in the town. We were able to walk from the hotel to the train that took us directly to the top of the Zugspitze. The hotel has amazing views of the mountains as well. The hotel is extremely family friendly which includes restaurants, gift store, currency exchange, pool, hot tub, casino and arcade. I would definitely recommend Edelweiss to anyone looking to stay in Garmisch. It's located near the end of town, but restaurants and shops are in walking distance (which most Germans opt to do), but there is a bus stop very close to the back entrance of the hotel as well. I love the town and I love this hotel!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room in this hotel, they're all going to be wonderful, quiet and have nice views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4theluvofwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write this glowing review. We hope you come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews